Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 1 Bug: Dimensions are Messed Up
03-28-2011, 05:55 PM
As if it wasn't hard enough to line things up or put things on top of other things, now the preview dimensions don't match the actual length, width, or height of the objects.

If something is 100x100x50, then I should be able to stack one object on top of another by increasing the y by 50. It no longer works, making building stuff complete guesswork. It's really, really frustrating.

Now a 40 x 40 x 2 block is only 12 wide, and the only way to know that is to go back and forth between the editor and playtest over and over again.

Please fix.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 2
03-28-2011, 06:37 PM
This is not a bug, this is a feature since marc 18!
Also it is not guesswork:
1 feet = 0.3048 m => 3,281 f/m
100 feet => 100 feet / 3.281 f/m = 30.47851 m
So if you want to put 1 100x100 tile and a 40x40 tile next to each other:
Put the 100x100 tile to 200x100 position.
The other tile has to go to 200+(100/3.281/2)+(40/3.281/2) = 221.33496x100 coordinates.

Easy as cake, isn't it? It will be after the 10th calculation. And in the meantime Cryptic teaches the next generation of Americans, Liberians and Burmans how silly the imperial system is. The rest of the world know that already .
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 3
03-28-2011, 07:06 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pendra37 View Post
This is not a bug, this is a feature since marc 18!
Also it is not guesswork:
1 feet = 0.3048 m => 3,281 f/m
100 feet => 100 feet / 3.281 f/m = 30.47851 m
So if you want to put 1 100x100 tile and a 40x40 tile next to each other:
Put the 100x100 tile to 200x100 position.
The other tile has to go to 200+(100/3.281/2)+(40/3.281/2) = 221.33496x100 coordinates.

Easy as cake, isn't it? It will be after the 10th calculation. And in the meantime Cryptic teaches the next generation of Americans, Liberians and Burmans how silly the imperial system is. The rest of the world know that already .
This is a stupid headache! I shouldn't need a calculator when lining up a wall.

*facepalm

Who thought this was a good idea?
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 4
03-29-2011, 05:40 AM
Very frustrating.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 5
03-29-2011, 10:21 AM
Kirkfat -- this is something we're already aware of and working on.

It's because the measurements previously used in the editor weren't indicative of the measurements used while in-game. The fix for that unfortunately caused the issue you're seeing now. (Which is why sometimes bug fixes are scary.)
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 6
03-29-2011, 12:04 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by ZeroniusRex
Kirkfat -- this is something we're already aware of and working on.

It's because the measurements previously used in the editor weren't indicative of the measurements used while in-game. The fix for that unfortunately caused the issue you're seeing now. (Which is why sometimes bug fixes are scary.)
Ok, I'm very glad that you're aware of this. I just spent an hour and a half trying to build something and I had to trash it because the alignments were too imprecise, creating too many texture overlaps and gaps. And it made it even worse that the editor rounds the decimal up.

I have to give up on trying to building anything with platforms and building blocks until this issue is fixed.

Thanks.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 7
03-29-2011, 12:36 PM
All NPCs I place on ground maps are way too tiny. They are almost one head shorter than my test charakter & the security guards.
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:17 AM.