Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 31
04-16-2011, 07:30 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by carnagefiend View Post
I recently uploaded my own Foundry mission where you go to Qo'noS to meet with a Gorn contact, then head to the Kahless Nebula.

Would this be qualified as unnecessary?

I wonder this because at the end of the mission I have the player do a transwarp out of the planet in the Kahless system straight to Qo'noS.

I'm not sure how I feel about it myself =\ thankfully the Nebula is nearby.
Does anything really require being on Qo'noS? Did you do something special with the map? Are there other characters that are spoken to? If not IMO then if the contact could have been over subspace, no extra trip required. In the mission I mentioned, I forget the name, and since all my UGC missions show as blank in the log.... anyway in that mission the author had me get some info, then I was sent to another officer who I met in the bar who I had to get to schmooze the admiral to let me do something.

It made for good story building and wasn't just Go all the way to ESD so someone can say, "Go here and do this." then press accept.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 32
04-16-2011, 07:44 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by CapnBludd View Post
Does anything really require being on Qo'noS? Did you do something special with the map? Are there other characters that are spoken to? If not IMO then if the contact could have been over subspace, no extra trip required. In the mission I mentioned, I forget the name, and since all my UGC missions show as blank in the log.... anyway in that mission the author had me get some info, then I was sent to another officer who I met in the bar who I had to get to schmooze the admiral to let me do something.

It made for good story building and wasn't just Go all the way to ESD so someone can say, "Go here and do this." then press accept.
I think part of the reason I did it as I did was because of the precedent set up by the actual STO missions. It also seemed more of a natural thing to do.

Hrm, might need to do some editing.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 33
04-16-2011, 08:22 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by carnagefiend View Post
I think part of the reason I did it as I did was because of the precedent set up by the actual STO missions. It also seemed more of a natural thing to do.

Hrm, might need to do some editing.
Something to consider is, how many times did Kirk or Picard have to go back to Earth to get their assignments?
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 34
04-16-2011, 08:26 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by The.Grand.Nagus View Post
Something to consider is, how many times did Kirk or Picard have to go back to Earth to get their assignments?
Indeed. When the universe very blatantly has long-range communications, they should be used proper.

I went back and edited my project. Took a while to transfer the dialogue, but it cut out a rather unnecessary face-to-face conversation that could have easily taken place at any place in the galaxy on screen.

Thanks for the help guys
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 35
04-16-2011, 08:29 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by carnagefiend View Post
Indeed. When the universe very blatantly has long-range communications, they should be used proper.

I went back and edited my project. Took a while to transfer the dialogue, but it cut out a rather unnecessary face-to-face conversation that could have easily taken place at any place in the galaxy on screen.

Thanks for the help guys
What is the name of your mission?
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 36
04-16-2011, 08:33 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by The.Grand.Nagus View Post
What is the name of your mission?
'The Hunt' by carnagefiend, ID ST-HIFPXRHF5 =)
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 37
04-16-2011, 09:40 PM
As a general thing, I suspect that people do use the transition out of Earth Space Dock because it's 'convenient'. A number of missions originate from here, and you can usually make a good bet that people can either
A) Get there quickly (nearby or have transwarp off cooldown)
B) Just start from there, since they were already doing foundry missions, of which many start out of ESD

The number of people who don't fall into those categories are likely more uncommon than those who do. But the other issue is the way the foundry doorways are set up.

In Tribble, I have a foundry mission that used a system door because it was convenient to do so and the story was adaptable enough that I could have them go to where there was already a door. But recently, I put up a mission Foundry where the system in question isn't related to any of the star systems where there are mission doors. In this kind of scenario, it doesn't really make sense to fly to, say, Vulcan, or where ever, and then map transition somewhere else. It'd be just as jarring.

I think this is the kind of thing where it feels 'off', but the other option isn't always much better, depending on what's being written.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 38
04-16-2011, 10:53 PM
I've never had any negative reviews regarding the need to travel to the mission location. So far my story has been taking place in the Badlands, which is nowhere near ESD.

I think missions for lower level players probably shouldn't require them to travel into an area where they have to worry about high level DSEs (for example making a Lt. Commander player fly all the way Zeta Andromadae), but beyond that I see no reason to start a mission at ESD just to do an insta-jump.

I recently played a mission that had the player going from system to system and honestly I would have enjoyed it more if the Foundry would have let the author put me back to sector space. It is rather jarring to instantly jump from system to system and from a story perspective there are times when you want to move to a different system.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 39
04-16-2011, 10:57 PM
In my newest mission, you start at Cardassia Prime. There is no system door, so I had a Cardassian vessel meet me in a nearby system and "escort me into Cardassian space." You know, for security reasons. I felt clever. I mean, you can't just plow your way to Cardassia Prime unescorted.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 40
04-17-2011, 05:44 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by SeijiTataki View Post
In Tribble, I have a foundry mission that used a system door because it was convenient to do so and the story was adaptable enough that I could have them go to where there was already a door. But recently, I put up a mission Foundry where the system in question isn't related to any of the star systems where there are mission doors. In this kind of scenario, it doesn't really make sense to fly to, say, Vulcan, or where ever, and then map transition somewhere else. It'd be just as jarring.

I think this is the kind of thing where it feels 'off', but the other option isn't always much better, depending on what's being written.
Using an existing system as the door works fine, remember the existing systems are like big cities on a map and there are thousands of small towns you don't see until you zoom in. If you tell someone to go to Rye, NY they might not know where that is, But if you tell them Rye is a few miles north of the Bronx in NYC they have a reference point.

So if you tell me Beta 357 is near Vulcan and use Vulcan as your door that works.
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:20 AM.