Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 1 Serious Lag Issue
04-25-2011, 05:31 PM
First of all let me say that the devs have done an excellent job with STO. I have been playing this game since open beta and I LOVE PLAYING STO. But for almost 2 months I have had a serious problem with LAG. I can log in just fine and fly around in sector space just fine but when I get into any mission the game starts lagging. It is so bad the game is becomes unplayable. Now when I say unplayable I mean how can you play a game that when you enter a mission it runs fine for about 2min's then lags for 45sec's to a minute then clears up for 2-3min's then lags again,keeping this process up till I get mad and log or I fight through it till the end then log. The worst days are Sunday through thursday,which is most of the week.At first I just thought it was my router but today I had my router moved to right next to my desktop and plugged directly to it.
I STILL HAVE LAG making me believe now it isnt on my end.

I am running Windows 7 with a NVIDEA Geforce GT 120 all drivers updated.

------------------
System Information
------------------
Time of this report: 4/25/2011, 20:27:53
Machine name: OWNER-PC
Operating System: Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit (6.1, Build 7600) (7600.win7_gdr.101026-1503)
Language: English (Regional Setting: English)
System Manufacturer: Gateway
System Model: LX6810-01
BIOS: Default System BIOS
Processor: Intel(R) Core(TM)2 Quad CPU Q8200 @ 2.33GHz (4 CPUs), ~2.3GHz
Memory: 8192MB RAM
Available OS Memory: 8192MB RAM
Page File: 2476MB used, 13904MB available
Windows Dir: C:\Windows
DirectX Version: DirectX 11
DX Setup Parameters: Not found
User DPI Setting: Using System DPI
System DPI Setting: 96 DPI (100 percent)
DWM DPI Scaling: Disabled
DxDiag Version: 6.01.7600.16385 32bit Unicode

------------
DxDiag Notes
------------
Display Tab 1: No problems found.
Sound Tab 1: No problems found.
Sound Tab 2: No problems found.
Input Tab: No problems found.

--------------------
DirectX Debug Levels
--------------------
Direct3D: 0/4 (retail)
DirectDraw: 0/4 (retail)
DirectInput: 0/5 (retail)
DirectMusic: 0/5 (retail)
DirectPlay: 0/9 (retail)
DirectSound: 0/5 (retail)
DirectShow: 0/6 (retail)

Also I am located in DE.
Please guys help me solve my lag issue.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 2
04-25-2011, 08:36 PM
Hello,

Please see this thread. Specifically, please follow the instructions in this post: http://forums.startrekonline.com/sho...0&postcount=22. This will give us more to go off of. Thank you.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 3
04-26-2011, 02:56 PM
Hello and Thank You for the responce. I saw that thread but I dont get disconnected that much so I didnt think it really pertained to me. Going to do this in two resonces because Im having trouble linking these tests for some reason.
Again Thanks for the responce.

Microsoft Windows [Version 6.1.7601]
Copyright (c) 2009 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.

C:\Users\Owner>tracert patchserver.crypticstudios.com

Tracing route to patchserver.crypticstudios.com [208.95.185.41]
over a maximum of 30 hops:

1 1 ms <1 ms <1 ms Wireless_Broadband_Router.home [192.168.1.1]
2 8 ms 6 ms 10 ms L100.PHLAPA-VFTTP-113.verizon-gni.net [71.123.39
.1]
3 11 ms 9 ms 9 ms G3-0-1-1613.PHLAPA-LCR-06.verizon-gni.net [130.8
1.104.144]
4 11 ms 12 ms 9 ms so-5-2-0-0.PHIL-BB-RTR2.verizon-gni.net [130.81.
28.156]
5 16 ms 19 ms 16 ms 0.xe-3-0-2.XL4.IAD8.ALTER.NET [152.63.3.57]
6 27 ms 27 ms 26 ms 0.so-7-1-0.XL4.BOS4.ALTER.NET [152.63.0.221]
7 26 ms 26 ms 27 ms POS7-0.GW5.BOS4.ALTER.NET [152.63.25.57]
8 31 ms 32 ms 31 ms internap-gw.customer.alter.net [65.207.236.58]
9 29 ms 29 ms 27 ms border11.te8-1-bbnet2.bsn.pnap.net [63.251.128.1
04]
10 31 ms 35 ms 36 ms cryptic-3.border11.bsn.pnap.net [216.52.61.78]
11 30 ms 32 ms 26 ms 208.95.185.41

Trace complete.

C:\Users\Owner>
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 4
04-26-2011, 03:18 PM
Going to have to type this out.

Local IP: 71.185.192.254
Ping: 27.4 msec
Port: 80: 1874 KB/sec 54 KB/sec 1992 KB/sec 500
Port: 80: 1919 KB/sec 56 KB/sec 2039 KB/sec 500
Port: 443: 1738 KB/sec 49 KB/sec 1846 KB/sec 500
Port: 443: 1898 KB/sec 58 KB/sec 2021 KB/sec 500
Port: 7255: 1827 KB/sec 52 KB/sec 1943 KB/sec 500
Port: 7255: 1810 KB/sec 54 KB/sec 1933 KB/sec 500
Port: 7003: 1386 KB/sec 39 KB/sec 1471 KB/sec 500
Port: 7003: 1772 KB/sec 50 KB/sec 1883 KB/sec 500
Port: 7202: 1635 KB/sec 45 KB/sec 1735 KB/sec 500
Port: 7202: 1566 KB/sec 44 KB/sec 1665 KB/sec 500
Port: 7499: 1616 KB/sec 49 KB/sec 1716 KB/sec 500
Port: 7499: 1649 KB/sec 48 KB/sec 1751 KB/sec 500
Port: 80: 1540 KB/sec 44 KB/sec 1634 KB/sec 500
Idle NIC Bandwidth Send: 0 KB/sec Recv 0 KB/sec
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 5
04-26-2011, 03:33 PM
Go to this website:

www.speakeasy.net/speedtest

I had a severe lag issue last night. I went to the site, and found I was only getting 1/10th the speed I was supposed to get out of my ISP. I rebooted my cable modem and router, and said "Oh, that's much better" (It was at full speed again ). Who knows? You may have a lingering internet issue that requires a modem/router reboot to clear the errors in your signal.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 6
04-26-2011, 03:35 PM
It might just be your fps dropping real bad not exactly sure but u can download msi afterburner to check fps and gpu usage also you can type in /showfps 1 in game and see fps oh and just in case you dont know if your see fps in the 20s or lower that probably is your problem 30 and up you should be fine
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 7
04-26-2011, 03:35 PM
ok offhand looking at your tracert and nettests I would thing yur internet connection loos good, but are are using a wireless and it still could be the router . some models have problems withthe burts of small packets the game use and the number of connections

and the game is pick on wireless connections

what model is your router.

it also could be an intermitt connection drop as both vista and win7 will do network scan every 60 seconds that can cause lag and disonnect on some routers

if this is the case these option might help

http://www.martin-majowski.de/wlanoptimizer/
http://www.hardforum.com/showthread.php?t=1380507

also how current is your network adapter driver.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 8
04-26-2011, 04:38 PM
Thanks for the reply everybody,let me first say that on Monday my router was moved next to my desktop and is now my desktop is hooked directly to the router,no antenna anymore. In the past when I would get a little lag I would reset my router and it would clear it up but that doesnt help anymore which is why I had Verizon move it and hook it directly.
Zanchi thanks for the advice but knew that already lol.
Flato: Didnt know that so I will keep an eye on it and try to check it while playing.
PegasusMD: With it hooked directly now am I still concidered wireless? I never had this huge a problem before with the game lagging so much I dont think my running system is causing it or I would have had trouble right at launch.
Now keep in mind Im not that computer savvy so these are only my opinions so if im wrong plz tell me.
Oh and service from Verizon Fios
Router model# MI424-WR
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 9
04-26-2011, 04:42 PM
Did the speedtest results: 43.15Mbps download speed and 25.91 Mbps upload speed
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 10
04-26-2011, 05:02 PM
Okay so I did what Flato suggested and entered /showfps in game. WOW!!! when playing it says anywhere from 9-13 and when lagging its 1.5. Is this me?? How could it be me?? I have probably the best internet provider in Verizon Fios directly hooked to the computer. If it is me plz help me resolove this issue.
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:23 PM.