Lt. Commander
# 1 Demo download query
05-12-2011, 01:25 PM
Hi,

As the title indicates, I'm new to the game. I am trying to download the Demo (for the 3rd time) but it is going sooooooo slow.

I have a new PC with v.good specs, so it can't be that & my Broadband connection is more reliable than Field Marshall Reliable of Reliabletown.

I just wondered if this is to be expected, if this is common, or if this is a slow process that will be repeated whenever there is a patch, upgrade or 'Live game' download.

Just to clarify, I really want to give the game a go & if I like the Demo will definitely do so, I just want to know what I am getting myself into.

Cheers.
Lt. Commander
# 2
05-12-2011, 02:01 PM
Not sure if this reply is going to help you at all since I never played the demo and just installed the game through Steam.

I have a pretty good internet connection (not the best because I'm not paying through the nose for it) but good enough that I don't lag out on online games and don't have to wait for days to watch a youtube video. The direction I was going is that my internet connection is pretty good and I rarely have problems playing STO. 9 times out of 10 if I get a disconnect (maybe something like once a month) it's because my router is acting up, not because STO is doing anything weird.

The only thing I'd have to say is to double check your internet, and double check the source of the demo download - it could be that wherever is hosting the demo download has limited bandwidth?

Basically don't be put off from the game because the dl is taking a while - like I said I almost never have connection issues with it so hopefully it's just a poor host site.

Maybe this helps...even a little?
Lt. Commander
# 3
05-12-2011, 02:09 PM
Thanks for the reply