Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
I run 2 AMD HD 6970 2GB cards. On the new tribble build I get *very* low resolution textures when running at ultra high screen resolution (5760*1200), looking generally like a game from 1998. Running a more normal resolution all of the textures are fine and sharp (1920*1200)

It seems that with the code merge, some kind of new memory management scheme was added, which automatically scales down textures if there is not enough memory, but it seems that with increasing screen resolution the memory management scheme is over aggressive in calculating the amount of memory being used up.

Cross referenced on the tribble forums: http://forums.startrekonline.com/sho...d.php?t=219580
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 2
06-14-2011, 11:59 PM
And it seems my hypothesis may be correct. Lowering Anti-aliasing, which is very memory dependent, also helps tremendously.

Going from 8x to 4x turns the textures from a blurry mess to looking not quite as bad. (actually, with 4xAA the rest of the textures look fine, it's just the one I'm facing is apparently lower res already)

Blurry: http://i229.photobucket.com/albums/e...4-23-59-22.jpg

Less Blurry: http://i229.photobucket.com/albums/e...4-23-59-39.jpg
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 3
06-22-2011, 03:28 AM
hmm odd, never had that issue except for when i had 1/2 resolution checked in the video options, once i turned that off everything was crisp and clear.

so my advice would be to check that first, also i have the sapphire amd hd6870 1gb toxic and am not experiencing anything like what is shown in your screenshot when running the game completely maxxed out.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 4
06-29-2011, 01:48 PM
sounds to me like its running at half resolution
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 5
07-06-2011, 04:29 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by Summit View Post
sounds to me like its running at half resolution
Lol, no. You can clearly see:

a. That textures are blurry, there is no noticeable difference in aliasing that lower resolution would create.

and

b. My settings are open in the screenshot, and half resolution is clearly ticked off.

Again, the issue seems to be memory management. The most logical assumption is that the game thinks that higher resolutions and AA make the game take up more memory than it should, resulting in the game loading low resolution textures in order to save memory.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 6
07-07-2011, 01:32 PM
Good news for anyone with this problem: I figured out how to essentially disable the memory-manager function as far as textures are concerned.

Under Troubleshooting in the Video category, there is an option marked "Video Memory Limit." When I set this to "1024+ MB," the texture-res issue goes away immediately. So that looks to be the fix.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 7
07-07-2011, 05:33 PM
Didn't work for me at eyefinity resolutions. Still had to lower quality.
Empire Veteran
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 64
# 8
05-13-2013, 07:23 PM
Sorry to necro this thread, but i'm having this issue and i'm wondering if anyone else is or anyone has any idea on how to correct it.

I have a very high spec custom build gaming rig, running a Sapphire 7970 6gb GPU, with an i7 CPU and 16gb of RAM.

I have the game set to max and i'm running it across my three 24" monitors.
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:34 AM.