Lt. Commander
I'm really confused on which BOFFs to take and train. I have BOFF Paralysis since I don't want to spend points until I know who i'm keeping. I'm a Tac officer and Captain level right now.

So I guess the question is, are there certain races that are preferable for each class? For example, I have a Klingon Tac, since I figured they would be decent fighters in ground and space. I also took a Saurian as a Tac. A Bolian Eng and Trill Science. But I don't want to invest points until I know that i have the best races in the right slots.

I chose my starting class poorly when starting, since I will most likely end up in a Cruiser, so I should probably also have at least 3 Eng Boffs.
Lt. Commander
# 2
07-05-2011, 03:57 PM
I believe stowiki or academy or one of those websites lists all the BOFF racial traits. But for example, at the moment only Humans of any rarity with leadership and uncommon green Saurians with efficient are the only species that have traits that work in space.

Devs have stated that the code blocking the other rarities of Saurians from having a chance at the efficient trait will be corrected, but it's not retroactive afaik and I don't recall the ETA.

For ground, there are many that can overlap or stack, and may come down to a question of playstyle. One example would be a Very Rare Bajoran with Superior Soldier and Superior Creative, would make an excellent ground Tac officer due to buffs to damage. A Betazoid with Emphatic, Superior Pacifist, and Superior Creative makes an excellent Medic with all the buffs to heals.

If you wanna make a melee boff for example; than Klingons, Saurians, Caitians have traits geared towards that (Honorable, Agression, Reptialian Strength, Pounce for example).

Different combinations are possible, use tribble to experiment and find a playstyle that suits you.
Lt. Commander
# 3
07-05-2011, 04:01 PM