Lt. Commander
I am 37 I always build my own pc's. I work as a pc field tech. I am somewhat embarrassed to admit when it comes to motherboards and processors I always have to reach out for help on buying a new one. Could someone please suggest to me what I should get that will keep me good for the next 5 years give or take. I built my current system in 2006. I enjoy games like Star Trek Online of course, Dragon Age, WOW, The Witcher and The Witcher 2 which I just installed and is causing my processor serious problems to say the least. I am thinking budget wise maximum of 400 for board and processor.
Lt. Commander
# 2
07-05-2011, 09:13 PM
hmm next 5 years is a bit of a ghost in the shell, tech might not move much in 5 years but then again tech might get a breakthrough and go through the roof compared to now, best thing you can do is go on youtube and type in custom gaming pc reviews and see whats suits your pocket and usage style.
Lt. Commander
# 3
07-05-2011, 09:20 PM
Depends on what manufacturer you like. With my New PC I just built I went with a AMD Phenom X6 1090T Processor, ASUS M4N98TD EVO Motherboard, 2 ASUS NVidia 550 GTX ti, 16 GB of Ram, and a Intel 120 GB SSD. It also has around 4 TB of storage.

It can play games like Dragon Age, Dragon Age II, STO, Mass Effect 2, BulletStorm, and Crysis 1 and two without much of a problem.
Lt. Commander
# 4
07-05-2011, 09:39 PM
I went with the ASUS P8Z68-V PRO, with an Intel Core i7-2600K Sandy Bridge 3.4GHz (3.8GHz Turbo Boost), and G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 8GB (2 x 4GB) 240-Pin DDR3 myself.

What you're looking for really depends on how much you're willing to spend. If you're looking for bang for the buck, go AMD. If you want the power and are willing to spend, go Intel.

Within a 400 budget, you're probably looking AMD, or possibly a Core i5? Message me and I can dig around newegg a bit for you if you like. You also will need a more modern video card worked into that budget as well.
Lt. Commander
# 5