Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 1 Can't load Sol?
07-16-2011, 10:27 AM
I seem to be having an issue where I can't load Sol. It happened twice at different times yesterday. Loading slowed down at 75%, from there it seems to take a few hours to load (I fell asleep) tho presumably by the time it did load I was disconnected for inactivity. It's happening today too. I haven't been able to get Sol to successfully load since I resubscribed yesterday.

Is anyone else having this problem? I figured I'd see tons of posts if it was common but I'm not sure what it could be. Everything else loads okay, and my internet connection (cable modem) is reasonably fine.


Edit: As soon as I posted this, it loaded. It really did take hours yesterday. I watched at least two episodes of TNG while waiting. This time, I almost was disconnected for being idle. Anyway, disregard.

Edit2: It seems to be happening intermittently, sometimes it will load right away and sometimes it stalls out. It happens with Sol and the Sirius Sector Block. In the span of a short mission it can go from loading fine to stalling out.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 2
07-18-2011, 02:48 PM
I'm still having this problem intermittently, the affected maps load to 75% and then stall out, going up by 0.01% every few seconds but never reaching 100%. By the time I do get through I am disconnected for inactivity. It happens in Sol and Sirius Sector block, but not all the time. Sometimes it works perfectly fine and just loads up immediately. I have tried adjusting my graphics settings since someone mentioned that may be one issue with Sol, however things were already set pretty low to begin with and the problem is intermittent.

I am located in the US. All other STO options are set to default, as far as I know. I reinstalled from the STO downloader from this site a few days ago when I resubscribed.

E:\Games\STO>ping patchserver.crypticstudios.com

Pinging patchserver.crypticstudios.com [208.95.185.41] with 32 bytes of data:

Reply from 208.95.185.41: bytes=32 time=30ms TTL=44
Reply from 208.95.185.41: bytes=32 time=29ms TTL=44
Reply from 208.95.185.41: bytes=32 time=53ms TTL=44
Reply from 208.95.185.41: bytes=32 time=29ms TTL=44

Ping statistics for 208.95.185.41:
Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
Minimum = 29ms, Maximum = 53ms, Average = 35ms

E:\Games\STO>tracert patchserver.crypticstudios.com

Tracing route to patchserver.crypticstudios.com [208.95.185.41]
over a maximum of 30 hops:

1 <1 ms 2 ms 2 ms 192.168.1.1
2 8 ms 11 ms 16 ms 10.5.48.1
3 31 ms 10 ms 20 ms 68.10.10.21
4 8 ms 14 ms 59 ms 172.22.48.37
5 10 ms 11 ms 20 ms 172.22.48.1
6 9 ms 16 ms 13 ms nrfksysr02-atm151200.hr.hr.cox.net [68.10.8.149]
7 35 ms 19 ms 22 ms 68.1.4.139
8 18 ms 17 ms 21 ms te0-3-0-1.ccr22.dca01.atlas.cogentco.com [154.54.30.125]
9 40 ms 28 ms 50 ms te0-3-0-3.ccr22.jfk02.atlas.cogentco.com [154.54.6.14]
10 49 ms 29 ms 30 ms te0-3-0-5.ccr22.bos01.atlas.cogentco.com [154.54.44.62]
11 31 ms 31 ms 32 ms te3-2.ccr01.bos06.atlas.cogentco.com [154.54.46.130]
12 39 ms 35 ms 35 ms 38.111.40.114
13 29 ms 32 ms 29 ms 208.95.185.41

Trace complete.

contacting nettest server..
Local IP: 98.183.208.12
Ping: 33.0 msec
Port: 80: 246 KB/sec 9 KB/sec 260 KB/sec 500
Port: 80: 245 KB/sec 7 KB/sec 258 KB/sec 500
Port: 443: 449 KB/sec 12 KB/sec 472 KB/sec 500
Port: 443: 245 KB/sec 8 KB/sec 259 KB/sec 500
Port: 7255: 410 KB/sec 11 KB/sec 434 KB/sec 500
Port: 7255: 244 KB/sec 6 KB/sec 261 KB/sec 500
Port: 7003: 247 KB/sec 8 KB/sec 260 KB/sec 500
Port: 7003: 428 KB/sec 12 KB/sec 451 KB/sec 500
Port: 7202: 235 KB/sec 7 KB/sec 247 KB/sec 500
Port: 7202: 247 KB/sec 5 KB/sec 260 KB/sec 500
Port: 7499: 251 KB/sec 5 KB/sec 264 KB/sec 500
Port: 7499: 235 KB/sec 7 KB/sec 248 KB/sec 500
Port: 80: 241 KB/sec 10 KB/sec 255 KB/sec 500
Idle NIC bandwidth Send: 0 KB/sec Recv: 0 KB/sec
hit return to exit

I was running netflix in the background while doing the nettest and didn't realize it, so the values may be lower than normal.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 3
07-19-2011, 02:22 AM
I am having a similar issue as where before the maint the other day, I was unable to load Alpha Centauri Sector Block. It always would hang on loading screen a long time, and when it did load it would have me completely lag locked. After the Maint that problem ceased, but the problem moved to Sirius Sector Block #1 (And also a few minor zones like Shmar and Kelvani Belt) Sirus Sector block #2 works fine.

I was able to find a workaround by enabling the US Proxy. But, still there is a problem somewhere that needs to be addressed to fix this.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 4
07-19-2011, 12:23 PM
I just tried switching it to the US proxy and it's still stalling out while trying to load Sol. Unfortunately all my characters are there now so I can't really log in, at least not without making a new character that ends up in Sol after a few minutes anyway, oops.

It starts stalling out around 70-75%. I have problems loading Sol and Sirius Sector Block. I don't see a way to choose a specific instance from the login screen.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 5
07-19-2011, 04:38 PM
Does anyone have any other suggestions? I just resubscribed, and these problems pretty much prevent me from playing.

I've tried lowering my graphics settings, selecting the US proxy, disabling patch on demand, verifying the file integrity, and probably other things that I forgot about by now.

It's gone from intermittent to continual. I haven't been able to play for the last few days.



Edit: I created a ticket for this matter, #1160115
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 6
07-19-2011, 05:44 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by Beeskee View Post
contacting nettest server..
Local IP: 98.183.208.12
Ping: 33.0 msec
Port: 80: 246 KB/sec 9 KB/sec 260 KB/sec 500
Port: 80: 245 KB/sec 7 KB/sec 258 KB/sec 500
Port: 443: 449 KB/sec 12 KB/sec 472 KB/sec 500
Port: 443: 245 KB/sec 8 KB/sec 259 KB/sec 500
Port: 7255: 410 KB/sec 11 KB/sec 434 KB/sec 500
Port: 7255: 244 KB/sec 6 KB/sec 261 KB/sec 500
Port: 7003: 247 KB/sec 8 KB/sec 260 KB/sec 500
Port: 7003: 428 KB/sec 12 KB/sec 451 KB/sec 500
Port: 7202: 235 KB/sec 7 KB/sec 247 KB/sec 500
Port: 7202: 247 KB/sec 5 KB/sec 260 KB/sec 500
Port: 7499: 251 KB/sec 5 KB/sec 264 KB/sec 500
Port: 7499: 235 KB/sec 7 KB/sec 248 KB/sec 500
Port: 80: 241 KB/sec 10 KB/sec 255 KB/sec 500
Idle NIC bandwidth Send: 0 KB/sec Recv: 0 KB/sec
hit return to exit
Your upload bandwidth is too low, the values in column 2 should be around 20KB/sec for optimal game play. Your tracert and ping times look good, so check the settings on your router and/or contact your ISP to see if they are performing any sort of traffic filtering for the ports used by the game.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 7
07-19-2011, 08:40 PM
I re-ran the tests without Netflix interfering

contacting nettest server..
Local IP: 98.183.208.12
Ping: 42.3 msec
Port: 80: 207 KB/sec 8 KB/sec 221 KB/sec 500
Port: 80: 922 KB/sec 27 KB/sec 971 KB/sec 500
Port: 443: 1032 KB/sec 31 KB/sec 1088 KB/sec 500
Port: 443: 875 KB/sec 22 KB/sec 920 KB/sec 500
Port: 7255: 184 KB/sec 7 KB/sec 196 KB/sec 500
Port: 7255: 973 KB/sec 27 KB/sec 1023 KB/sec 500
Port: 7003: 982 KB/sec 28 KB/sec 1032 KB/sec 500
Port: 7003: 197 KB/sec 7 KB/sec 210 KB/sec 500
Port: 7202: 1076 KB/sec 31 KB/sec 1131 KB/sec 500
Port: 7202: 792 KB/sec 23 KB/sec 834 KB/sec 500
Port: 7499: 192 KB/sec 7 KB/sec 204 KB/sec 500
Port: 7499: 194 KB/sec 7 KB/sec 206 KB/sec 500
Port: 80: 176 KB/sec 6 KB/sec 188 KB/sec 500
Idle NIC bandwidth Send: 0 KB/sec Recv: 0 KB/sec
hit return to exit


Speaking of which, I haven't had any bandwidth-related problems with Netflix, or with Shores of Hazeron. (another online game - don't ask me about my planetary vermin infestation problems in Hazeron though heh)

Speedtest.net seems to think my internet connection is operating okay, too.


However, I do see a lot of connection-related posts showing up now regarding STO. I'm willing to continue trying things but I think there may be more going on here.



Edit: I was able to get logged in. At 5:30 am. I've done various spyware and virus checks, all clear, made sure nobody unauthorized was on my connection, etc.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 8
07-20-2011, 11:47 AM
I think a lot of it has to do with the number of people in Sol, as its the only place you can do certain things.

I've got a 20Mbps cable connection and can run the game itself while my wife streams Netflix through Xbox Live with no problems... and I'm using a 4 year old laptop.

However when I go so Sol things do tend to lag a bit. I believe there is just too much going on there.

Perhaps we could also get promotions and ship requisitions and Bridge Officer Training at DS9? Give people another place to go for all that. The fewer people in one sector the better it runs.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 9
07-20-2011, 04:54 PM
The ability to go directly from the sector map to the station, and vice-versa, would help too. I'm not saying remove Sol entirely, just give users both options.
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:25 AM.