Go Back   Star Trek Online > Support > Graphical and Sound Issues
Login

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 11
07-20-2011, 07:04 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by Andrew_Harnaman
Im sure the poster was just trying to help. A fleet mate of mine who does nothing but build custom rigs and gets heavy sponsorship from all the major companies and specialises in water cooling came back to the game yesterday. Firsth thing he said to me is "what the hell has happened to the framerate - sto is eating more frames than crysis"

Hes running 3 nvidia 580s in tri sli. Im wondering if its an nvidia issue and ati users arnt seeing the issue. The silence from the devs is frustrating because THERE IS AN ISSUE here at least with nvidia cards and the lack of silence is ignorant. It would be appreciated if a dev coul;d at least say "yes we know theres an issue with nvidia cards right now and were working on it". This build on holodeck ISNT THE TRIBBLE build that had the potential for improved all round engine performance. I hope the devs can sort this issue because surely this must be affecting neverwinter as well. I think its a shaders issue and the shaders have been poorly coded for nvidia but optimised with ATI.
I'm running a single nVidia GTS 450 and I'm not seeing this problem so I'm not sure it is an nVidia specific problem, or if it is then it seems it's related to specific cards. My frame rate is also higher on ESD than it was before Season 4 was released and the graphics in general are just better looking all round. Only issue I'm still having is stuttering with shadows enabled but I got used to turning them off a long time ago.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 12
07-20-2011, 08:20 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by Militis View Post
I'm running a single nVidia GTS 450 and I'm not seeing this problem so I'm not sure it is an nVidia specific problem, or if it is then it seems it's related to specific cards. My frame rate is also higher on ESD than it was before Season 4 was released and the graphics in general are just better looking all round. Only issue I'm still having is stuttering with shadows enabled but I got used to turning them off a long time ago.
What would help is if you could post driver details, rig details. Typical example if you to to kronos first city and stand by the battle aren and turn /showfps 1 on and give some examples of what frames your seeing. It may be you havnt noticed the problem but I would be suprised if your not affected unless it is certain cards. With the amount of people reporting engine performance issues i still believe there is an underlying issue at hand here. If you could post that helpful info id appreciate it - thanks !!!
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 13
07-20-2011, 02:53 PM
Hi All,

We're working on the settings change crash.

For people experiencing the texture quality loss: Does resetting your settings, like sabredruid did, fix the problem?

Dave
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 14
07-20-2011, 03:24 PM
Also, I have a bug open on frame rate stuttering on GTX4XX and 5XX series cards - at least that's what was reported. The last serious frame stuttering problem he had on NVIDIA cards (around 190.62 I think) was a driver problem. Not necessarily the problem here, though.

I'm not sure this command will be accessible, but try /fpsgraph 1. That shows a frame time history instead of sliding window average that /showfps 1 does. You can post a screenshot of

I'm running a GTX 480 at the moment, and it's not showing a lot of stuttering or unusual behavior, but I have a bit of a different usage pattern than some of you. Finally, we did make some extensive lighting system changes, so perhaps those are causing one-time shader loading stalls.

Dave
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 15
07-20-2011, 03:45 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by SuperCrypticDave
Also, I have a bug open on frame rate stuttering on GTX4XX and 5XX series cards - at least that's what was reported. The last serious frame stuttering problem he had on NVIDIA cards (around 190.62 I think) was a driver problem. Not necessarily the problem here, though.

I'm not sure this command will be accessible, but try /fpsgraph 1. That shows a frame time history instead of sliding window average that /showfps 1 does. You can post a screenshot of

I'm running a GTX 480 at the moment, and it's not showing a lot of stuttering or unusual behavior, but I have a bit of a different usage pattern than some of you. Finally, we did make some extensive lighting system changes, so perhaps those are causing one-time shader loading stalls.

Dave
We do have access to the /fpsgraph 1 and now I have some questions about what to do from here.

1 How do we take a screen shot that includes the UI? I hit print screen but the UI and fps graph didn't show up.

2 What do all the different colored lines mean? I saw mostly blue with some purple and an occasional green line.

BTW I have a single GTX 470 with the 275.33 drivers installed and at times I do get some stuttering but Im not entirely sure what the cause is.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 16
07-20-2011, 04:42 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by SuperCrypticDave
Hi All,

We're working on the settings change crash.

For people experiencing the texture quality loss: Does resetting your settings, like sabredruid did, fix the problem?

Dave
No, it doesn't. I've tried in the past, closing a dialogue window, altering character texture and texture distance. After reinitializing dialogue, no change.

Also, regarding my own puppet there's no change being done real time. I typically need to restart the game to get acceptable-looking textures for the slider settings I have... and those usually don't last long.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 17
07-20-2011, 05:10 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by SuperCrypticDave
Also, I have a bug open on frame rate stuttering on GTX4XX and 5XX series cards - at least that's what was reported. The last serious frame stuttering problem he had on NVIDIA cards (around 190.62 I think) was a driver problem. Not necessarily the problem here, though.

I'm not sure this command will be accessible, but try /fpsgraph 1. That shows a frame time history instead of sliding window average that /showfps 1 does. You can post a screenshot of

I'm running a GTX 480 at the moment, and it's not showing a lot of stuttering or unusual behavior, but I have a bit of a different usage pattern than some of you. Finally, we did make some extensive lighting system changes, so perhaps those are causing one-time shader loading stalls.

Dave
Hi Dave

Finally its nice to see a team member take note of our struggle. Running dual GTX 470 in SLI here so yup its affecting me big time sadly :-( any idea whats going on and what we can do to help the process ? any information you need or anything i can do to help here id be more than happy to help. I want to get rid of this fps problem once and for all. Is there a particular nvidia driver where the issue is less noticeable ?
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 18
07-20-2011, 07:51 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by SuperCrypticDave
Also, I have a bug open on frame rate stuttering on GTX4XX and 5XX series cards - at least that's what was reported. The last serious frame stuttering problem he had on NVIDIA cards (around 190.62 I think) was a driver problem. Not necessarily the problem here, though.

I'm not sure this command will be accessible, but try /fpsgraph 1. That shows a frame time history instead of sliding window average that /showfps 1 does. You can post a screenshot of

I'm running a GTX 480 at the moment, and it's not showing a lot of stuttering or unusual behavior, but I have a bit of a different usage pattern than some of you. Finally, we did make some extensive lighting system changes, so perhaps those are causing one-time shader loading stalls.

Dave
Damn, you have a 480? wow. I'm jealous. I only have a 470.

I haven't been noticing a stuttering issue... hrm. *checks fpsgraph*
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 19
07-20-2011, 08:08 PM
The fpsgraph lowered my FPS by about 10 so Im not sure how much help its really gonna be, I don't know if that will happen for everyone else.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 20
07-20-2011, 10:19 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by Body_Surfer
We do have access to the /fpsgraph 1 and now I have some questions about what to do from here.

1 How do we take a screen shot that includes the UI? I hit print screen but the UI and fps graph didn't show up.
/screenshot_ui_jpg
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:30 AM.