Lt. Commander
# 1 Still can't run SLI
07-29-2011, 11:20 PM
I've been playing with a single 9800 GT for about 8 months or so. A few weeks back I got a second card to run SLI. As soon as I logged in it crashed out. Without SLI I could run, but lower graphics then other games.

It turned out my older 9800 died within hours of that.

So now the cards back, and SLI works fine. I can play FE in high settings with 40-55fps in SLI, in high pop zones.

But STO still drops to a flickering half screen in SLI as soon as you get the update and log in.

Drop SLI, I'm in.

Does this mean the only way to actually SEE the graphics capability of this game is to buy a $300 card? Is there a way to make SLI work in STO?

One guy said something about changing some code before the card failed. Anyone know about that??
Lt. Commander
# 2
07-30-2011, 08:29 AM
Bump? Still no STO rep?

I put a lot of money in this game BECAUSE I was told the graphics are FAB. I do not disagree, but running on low settings AINT so FAB!

While running at higher setting makes me crash out from overheating the single card.

THIS is not an issue in other games, BECAUSE I can run SLI.

Why can"t I in STO??
Lt. Commander
# 3
07-30-2011, 10:28 AM
I run in SLI with Nvidia cards every single day without issue so Im not sure if its the game or your rig thats the problem.
Lt. Commander
# 4
07-30-2011, 10:43 AM
this game has been confirmed to play HAVOK on the shadders in nvidia.

When you sli u effectively split your shadder process on the two cards.

Its the shadders that are causing hell in the game, because crytpic doesnt know how to program a game well so it uses scaled video cards properly.

And i have a simular problem.
I am running 3 x 580GTX in SLI.
Its funny when you see crysis 2 on stereoscopic 3d enabled running better then this game.

But i cant seem to maintain a frame rate higher then 72 fps in GAME on 3 580GTX.