Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 21
08-14-2011, 12:49 AM
We'll run two tests. The first is a called tracert and measures how quickly various connections between Cryptic and you respond. The second is called nettest and gauges how much data can be passed at once on various ports.

Test 1: tracert
For Windows 7, hit the start button
Where it says Search All Files and Programs, type CMD and press ENTER
The first result should be cmd.exe
Right-click on cmd.exe and select Run as Administrator
A black, command-prompt window should appear
From here type the following command:
tracert patchserver.crypticstudios.com
Good Results:
Values lower than 180 are ideal for playing MMOs (and anything under 100 is outstanding). Higher values usually cause lag and rubber-banding in-game. Report any values above 180ms. Right-click in the Command Prompt Window and select all. Save as a text file (txt).
.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 22
08-14-2011, 12:58 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by StrykerV
We'll run two tests. The first is a called tracert and measures how quickly various connections between Cryptic and you respond. The second is called nettest and gauges how much data can be passed at once on various ports.

Test 1: tracert
For Windows 7, hit the start button
Where it says Search All Files and Programs, type CMD and press ENTER
The first result should be cmd.exe
Right-click on cmd.exe and select Run as Administrator
A black, command-prompt window should appear
From here type the following command:
tracert patchserver.crypticstudios.com
Good Results:
Values lower than 180 are ideal for playing MMOs (and anything under 100 is outstanding). Higher values usually cause lag and rubber-banding in-game. Report any values above 180ms. Right-click in the Command Prompt Window and select all. Save as a text file (txt).
.
Done nothing above 180

tried the nettest 3 times and it timed out each time...can't be good.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 23
08-14-2011, 01:08 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by GeneralJumper1
Done nothing above 180

tried the nettest 3 times and it timed out each time...can't be good.
I'm not an expert but compared to my numbers yours are pretty high. There even appears to be delay right from your laptop to modem almost. I'd ask your isp to check the modem and then anything inbetween. If your timing out on the netest then that can be part of the problem too. Your laptop is fine just the information is not reaching you like you need it to be.

Edit---- give cryptic a ticket and explain the tracer t tests and ask what to do when the nettest fails.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 24
08-14-2011, 01:49 AM
Ticket submitted. Hopefully they can figure something out.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 25
08-14-2011, 04:05 AM
besure when you run the nettest it is
1. set to run as admin on win7 and vista systems
2. is allowed by your firewall and antivirus

there should be no timeouts on the nettest and values less than 250 in columns 1 and 3 and less than 14 in column 2 likely of increase lag and disconnects.

Star Trek Online Minimum System Requirements
-OS: Windows® XP SP2 / Windows Vista® / Windows® 7 (32 or 64 bit)
-CPU: Intel® Core™2 Duo 1.8 GHz, AMD Athlon™ X2 3800+
-Memory: 1 GB Ram
-Video: NVIDIA GeForce 7950/ ATI Radeon X1800/ Intel HD Graphics
-Sound: DirectX® 9.0c Compatible Soundcard
-DirectX® 9.0c or Higher
-Hard Drive: 10 GB Free Disk Space
-Disc Drive: 6X DVD-ROM
-Network: Broadband Internet Connection is Required
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 26
08-14-2011, 11:57 AM
I left my IP address out for security, those numbers are normal for me because I'm on DSL.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 27
08-14-2011, 02:19 PM
those are low even for a dsl. I'm on a dsl and all my numbers are above 400 on columns 1 and 3 and above 18 on column 2.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 28
08-14-2011, 04:29 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by PegasusMD
those are low even for a dsl. I'm on a dsl and all my numbers are above 400 on columns 1 and 3 and above 18 on column 2.
Unfortunately this is the best I can get where I live at the moment. My speeds have always been this slow since day one and I just got new equipment.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 29
10-02-2011, 12:05 PM
I just got a new super computer, my previous problems were my computer, not my internet and such, all better now.
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:27 PM.