Lt. Commander
# 1 New and a little Lost
08-19-2011, 02:24 AM
Hi everyone,

I started playing last week, and have been having great fun, until last night, when I suddenly found myself feeling very lost.

I have a load of quests (missions) which I was happily plodding through, until I hit one where I just got overwhelmed by enemies and blew up in a few seconds. It was a level 5 quest, and I am level 7.

So, I tried another one, a level 4, and the same thing happened.

I did another of the "explore 5 system" quests, then realised I had no goal or reason, apart from getting XP. If there was a story going on, I managed to miss it. If there was a point to me going further, or a place I was attempting to level to reach, I seem to have skipped it.

Is there a point? As fun as it is to fly about, eventually I need a reason to continue - such as "Once you hit commander you get to experience an awesome new storyline!" or "once you are an admiral you get your own planet and space station and the game really takes off!!"

Can those who are experienced guide me as to what I'm doing wrong?

Thank you!
Lt. Commander
# 2
08-19-2011, 02:44 AM
Hi Palleon,

Which levels did you get overwhelmed in? I certainly remember a few times when things got tough but nothing specific. First thing I would say is that I've always found it easy to recruit people to help me out - the STO community are generally always quick to respond to a distress call! Just ask in the chat window. Or you could join a fleet, it will make finding help even easier.

But to address your questions: