Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 1 Launcher Problems
09-10-2011, 06:57 PM
Hi Guys ,
Im looking for a bit of advice, i run windows 7 64-Bit and the latest I.E. Etc. now when i lauch STO most of the time the launcher sticks to Loading Please Wait, or i get a 404 error or just a blank screen, Occasionally i also get the BSOD can anyone give me a couple of pointers please?
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 2
09-10-2011, 07:09 PM
I use win7 and IE 9 and have no problems withthe launcher.
now sometime if the security setting are set to high in IE it can prevent the launcher from connecting or displaying .(also having do not display images in IE can cuase problem withthe launcher looking)
also if the IE browser gets set to work offline which sometime happens on some windows security updates wil prevent connection.

programs like teamviewer and xfire will affect the game.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 3
09-10-2011, 07:24 PM
cheers pegasus, changed IE security and set ie to default, now it loads up everytime but hangs at loading launcher
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 4
09-10-2011, 10:47 PM
okay i spoke too soon, now its worse lol
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 5
09-11-2011, 11:20 AM
same problem.

got second account for my daughter to play and team with me.

windows 7 64

launcher runs, patches fully, then when we hit engage, it crashes...and then when we start the launcher again...it hangs on 'patching'. (( cryptic error reporting app hangs as well when it tries to send info ))


reinstalled game...exact same scenario...patches fully again, then when we hit engage...crash. ... tjhen it jsut sticks on the patch when we try and start it agan.

((( it did get to the 'CRYPTIC' logo screen twice in this venture ... but inevatably crashed immediately after as well )))

checked firewall...all ok

can run either account on 'my' computer that runs XP... no go on the win7 machine.

fiddled wit hthe 'options' on the launcher..no change.

also went to game exe properties, and set the win7 machine compatability to windows XP sp2 ... no change.


so in summary...we cant run the game past the launcher in Win 7


very frustrated...any other ideas appreciated.

(((( oh, and for what it's worth, Champions Online works fine on the Win7 machine ))))
.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 6
09-11-2011, 11:38 AM
Here is the error popup that it gives when it crashes:



Fatal Error: Error decompressing data. Verifying files in the launcher may fix this issue.

Texture_Library/Fonts/Futurastd-condensed.Wtex:




.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 7
09-11-2011, 02:26 PM
well I fixed my issue with the STO launcher .

I deleted every file that had to do with STO.

then I redownloaded the installer and reinstalled everything form the very beginning.


worked.

I guess files must get corrupted on the download occasionally.

not sure which file was the culprit...but I dont care...it works now.

.(( sorry to have hijacked your thread ))
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 8
09-11-2011, 03:58 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by kanchelsis2
well I fixed my issue with the STO launcher .

I deleted every file that had to do with STO.

then I redownloaded the installer and reinstalled everything form the very beginning.


worked.

I guess files must get corrupted on the download occasionally.

not sure which file was the culprit...but I dont care...it works now.

.(( sorry to have hijacked your thread ))
Thats okay bud! glad you got your prob sorted
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:44 PM.