Lt. Commander
It is a bit embarassing to write something like this since the majority of players consider ground combat to be a piece of cake since S4. I play on holodeck and I just started playing a month ago so all I know is S4 gameplay. The reason why I joined STO was the idea of playing a Sci-Fi game with space combat and ground/boarding scenarios. Oh and - of course - because it's Trek

I'm a Commander rank 6 or 7 right now (I think I just leveled up before logging off the last time XD) and I'm playing PvE exclusively, mostly alone. Not that I don't enjoy interaction with other players, I love having a chat with another captain onboard on his or hers ship and RP a bit, but for the most time being solo and explore the galaxy is what this game is about to me. Oh, and I really don't like the mess the game produces canon-wise, mixing all that stuff together. While I'm in favor of refitted vessels (it is war after all) I really don't like being on a mission together with a TOS-era crew and vessel. But that's not the point, I'm drifting... XD

Sooo... GROUND COMBAT:

At first I have to say it is not that I can't take it at all. I'm progressing quite fast through the game, at least I think so. The main issue I have on ground (combat) missions is that its simply not that fun.