Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 1 Dual-Core Atom w/ GOOD GPU
10-24-2011, 08:38 AM
Hey guys,

I'm going to jump on when STO goes F2P but before that I want to make sure of something.

I'm using a Generic Black Box system built with an Atom processor and a Nvidia 6200 Graphics card. I know that the GPU is crap, so I was wondering if upgrading to a Nvidia Geforce GT 430 would be enough to handle the game alongside my slow Atom proc.

The atom is a Dual Core 1.8 Ghz (so it barely reaches the sys-requirements) and it has a 1x PCIe slot that currently has the 6200 on it.

Yeah, I know this isn't a great system but I literally just bought it and I can't really justify buying a new system just o play this game... Will an Nvidia Geforce GT 430 make this playable?

Thanks!
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 2
10-24-2011, 09:15 AM
I would say yes it will run just dont expect much above low to med settings. also how much mem does this thing have ?
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 3 atom rig
10-24-2011, 11:37 AM
2GB RAM running windows 7 pro 64
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 4
10-25-2011, 04:59 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by KazeNoKizu
2GB RAM running windows 7 pro 64
Unless you are going to put more RAM in the system (4GB+), I would stick with 32 bit. Windows 7 tends to take a little more memory for resources with the 64 bit version when compared to the 32 bit/

I have a laptop with an Intel Core 2 Duo U9600 @1.60 GHz , 2 GB RAM , and Intel Mobile 4 Series Express Graphics (64 MB) running Windows 7 Professional 32 bit. It runs STO but not well enough to really game on it.

Matt
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 5 New GPU
11-07-2011, 08:53 AM
I got the new GPU but it screwed up my Windows 7 System...

I'm installing XP just so I can wring the last bit of performance out of this machine. So here are the current specs:

1.8 Ghz Atom Processor Dual Core
Nvidia GT 430 w/ 512 RAM
2GB DDR2 RAM
160GB HDD

Let me know what you think!

Gerald

Also, anyone have a trial/buddy code they would be willing to give me until the F2P goes live? LOL

Thanks!
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 6
11-07-2011, 11:41 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by KazeNoKizu
I got the new GPU but it screwed up my Windows 7 System...

I'm installing XP just so I can wring the last bit of performance out of this machine. So here are the current specs:

1.8 Ghz Atom Processor Dual Core
Nvidia GT 430 w/ 512 RAM
2GB DDR2 RAM
160GB HDD

Let me know what you think!

Gerald

Also, anyone have a trial/buddy code they would be willing to give me until the F2P goes live? LOL

Thanks!
I have 2 machines which i run sto on my Laptop runs ato pretty well on recommended settings
AMD Phenom ii dual core 3.0Ghz
8GB DDR3 RAM
300GB HDD
ATI Radeon Mobility HD4250

My desk top is self built not a great spec to be honest but it runs STO fine on max settings

AMD Athlon ii dual core 2.5ghz
4 GB DDR2 RAM
500GB HHD
Nvidia GT430 1gig ram

i also have a buddy code you can have send me your email addy via the PM system and i'll send you one tonight.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 7 Psu
11-16-2011, 03:19 AM
Do you have the needed PSU for this kind of GPU ? I had one HTPC with atom 2 cores 1,6 GHz with HT ( 4 logical cores ) and Nvidia ION GPU , overclocked CPU to 1,8GHz , 2 GB of memory , but I never could play STO ( crawling FPS ~4 ) !!!


So good luck , hope you will have fun !!!

Sebastian.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 8 Psu
11-16-2011, 03:19 AM
Do you have the needed PSU for this kind of GPU ? I had one HTPC with atom 2 cores 1,6 GHz with HT ( 4 logical cores ) and Nvidia ION GPU , overclocked CPU to 1,8GHz , 2 GB of memory , but I never could play STO ( crawling FPS ~4 ) !!!


So good luck , hope you will have fun !!!

Sebastian.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 9 Fyi
02-21-2012, 09:19 AM
Hey Guys -

I just wanted to let you know that this was a total CF - the Atom 330 paired with an Nvidia 430 was a complete failure. I couldn't get anything to work unless it was on the worst settings.

Oddly enough I went into my "pile o crap" parts and built something that works OK.

Its a Prescott Pentium 4 2.8 w/ Hyperthreading paired with a Radeon HD 5450 1GB.

The GPU is only a PCI-E x1 but its actually pretty smooth once you get into the system (it takes a good long time to load initially). It also looks pretty damn good too (set to Medium settings)

Also, its running Windows XP w/ 3GB DDR2 RAM

I was thoroughly suprised at how well this thing works (again, after the 5+ minutes it takes for me to finally get to the Character Select screen).

I'd imagine if I played more than like ~4 hours a week I'd be annoyed at the performance, but its fine for my casual use.

Thanks everyone for their input.

GP
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:20 PM.