Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 1 Taking one for the team
11-04-2011, 06:01 AM
I'm not sure if this has been posted yet, but it doesn't seem like it, I just had an idea.

Do you think the creators could find a way to make a system where: If multiple players are in a fight and one ship (friendly 1) passes in the path of another ship (friendly 2) while it's being fired on by an enemy ship (enemy 1), the first ship (friendly 1) would take the damage the other ship (friendly 2) should have taken from the enemy ship (enemy 1), just a phaser blast or 2 and maybe a torpedo.

I hope I explained that well enough, if not then I got this idea from watching "Star Trek: First contact" where the Enterprise-E flew between the Borg cube and the Defiant to protect it. If that helps describe it at all.

What does everyone think? I know it sounds like it'd be hard to make, but further down the line, it'd be pretty cool to see.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 2
11-04-2011, 07:30 AM
It would be pretty cool. But pretty hard to do in this game's engine I'd imagine.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 3
11-04-2011, 07:51 AM
Not even asteroids block enemy fire!
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 4
11-04-2011, 09:16 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by Naevius
Not even asteroids block enemy fire!
Well I have no idea how they made this game work the way it does. But one way it might be done is if a ship passes in between two others, the enemy ship could target the one passing through for .50 seconds and then go back to the one it was targeting before.

I'm sure there's something wrong with that, but I can still hope it'll work. lol
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 5
11-04-2011, 10:07 AM
Well thinking about this some more, I suppose it is possible to an extent.
The game would have to check what is right between the player and the target during every damage tick, and temporarily switch targets if there is.
(Kinda like an escort looking straight forward and spamming Spacebar and Left Mouse in front of it.)
Although projectiles already fired would still just fly right through you.

Also getting Cryptic to do that is a whole other matter, considering they cant even let you fly straight up. *facepalm*
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 6
11-04-2011, 10:35 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by oberlerchner123 View Post
Well thinking about this some more, I suppose it is possible to an extent.
The game would have to check what is right between the player and the target during every damage tick, and temporarily switch targets if there is.
(Kinda like an escort looking straight forward and spamming Spacebar and Left Mouse in front of it.)
Although projectiles already fired would still just fly right through you.

Also getting Cryptic to do that is a whole other matter, considering they cant even let you fly straight up. *facepalm*
lol I feel your pain on that. when the game first came out I couldn't beleave I couldn't do a vertical circle.... in space...

And I'm sure I'm leaving something out, but it feels like it should be simple since it is already done in ground combat. When in FPS mode if an enemy target (enemy 1) comes between you and another enemy target (enemy 2) then you start shooting the target between yourself and the first enemy you were shooting (enemy 2). But again, I do not have any programming skills.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 7
11-04-2011, 11:01 AM
If you time it right and have a good approach you can already block torpedoes.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 8
11-04-2011, 11:33 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by RamblinWreck View Post
If you time it right and have a good approach you can already block torpedoes.
I've never heard of that, is it like a glitch? or is it a legitimate part of playing the game? I've never heard of that before.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 9
11-04-2011, 12:05 PM
The game doesn't see solid objects as solid. I can't count the number of times I've been hit even though there was a "solid" object between me and an enemy.

Fix that first, then work on other things.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 10
11-05-2011, 04:34 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by dvsaris View Post
The game doesn't see solid objects as solid. I can't count the number of times I've been hit even though there was a "solid" object between me and an enemy.

Fix that first, then work on other things.
The game calculates the damage when you first fire. If you move behind an object after you were fired upon given the amount of time the game determines for you to receive that damage you will take the damage. Regardless of what was between you and the attacker.
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:57 PM.