Starfleet Veteran
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 27
# 1471
01-28-2013, 11:33 AM
this pretty much says it all;

clicky

the route has pretty much fallen off the face of the earth
Lieutenant
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 34
# 1472
01-28-2013, 11:33 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by ursusmorologus View Post
I'm on Verizon DSL in Maryland. Network dumps show multiple requests to establish a TCP connection, and then the update listener ignores the application level session requests. The intermittent server responses rule out large-scale problems with global routing--some of the packets are clearly making it to the server and some of them are coming back, so routing is working. The packets are dying at the cryptic network. Looks like the firewall is falling down, or the network bandwidth

First connection shows 3 connection requests before the patch server acknowledges, then 2 more retransmissions before the client gives up.

[code]05 0.065904 mypc patchserver.crypticstudios.com TCP 66 49333 > 7255 [SYN] Seq=0 Win=8192 Len=0 MSS=1460 WS=256 SACK_PERM=1
16 3.065385 mypc patchserver.crypticstudios.com TCP 66 49333 > 7255 [SYN] Seq=0 Win=8192 Len=0 MSS=1460 WS=256 SACK_PERM=1
17 9.065600 mypc patchserver.crypticstudios.com TCP 62 49333 > 7255 [SYN] Seq=0 Win=8192 Len=0 MSS=1460 SACK_PERM=1
18 9.126028 patchserver.crypticstudios.com mypc TCP 62 7255 > 49333 [SYN, ACK] Seq=0 Ack=1 Win=8192 Len=0 MSS=1460 SACK_PERM=1
19 9.126072 mypc patchserver.crypticstudios.com TCP 54 49333 > 7255 [ACK] Seq=1 Ack=1 Win=64240 Len=0
20 9.126597 mypc patchserver.crypticstudios.com TCP 74 49333 > 7255 [PSH, ACK] Seq=1 Ack=1 Win=64240 Len=20
27 12.125704 mypc patchserver.crypticstudios.com TCP 74 [TCP Retransmission] 49333 > 7255 [PSH, ACK] Seq=1 Ack=1 Win=64240 Len=20
31 18.125916 mypc patchserver.crypticstudios.com TCP 74 [TCP Retransmission] 49333 > 7255 [PSH, ACK] Seq=1 Ack=1 Win=64240 Len=20
40 30.066359 mypc patchserver.crypticstudios.com TCP 54 49333 > 7255 [RST, ACK] Seq=21 Ack=1 Win=0 Len=0[/code]

Second attempt shows 4 connection requests before an acknowledgement. But the ACK is for something else, and the client rejects it with a reset. Then tries again a couple more times before giving up.

41 30.066936 mypc patchserver.crypticstudios.com TCP 66 49334 > 7255 [SYN] Seq=0 Win=8192 Len=0 MSS=1460 WS=256 SACK_PERM=1
43 33.066443 mypc patchserver.crypticstudios.com TCP 66 49334 > 7255 [SYN] Seq=0 Win=8192 Len=0 MSS=1460 WS=256 SACK_PERM=1
56 39.061656 mypc patchserver.crypticstudios.com TCP 62 49334 > 7255 [SYN] Seq=0 Win=8192 Len=0 MSS=1460 SACK_PERM=1
68 51.063197 mypc patchserver.crypticstudios.com TCP 66 49334 > 7255 [SYN] Seq=0 Win=8192 Len=0 MSS=1460 WS=256 SACK_PERM=1
69 51.133271 patchserver.crypticstudios.com mypc TCP 62 7255 > 49334 [SYN, ACK] Seq=0 Ack=4280718421 Win=8192 Len=0 MSS=1460 SACK_PERM=1
70 51.133308 mypc patchserver.crypticstudios.com TCP 54 49334 > 7255 [RST] Seq=4280718421 Win=0 Len=0
71 54.063181 mypc patchserver.crypticstudios.com TCP 66 49334 > 7255 [SYN] Seq=0 Win=8192 Len=0 MSS=1460 WS=256 SACK_PERM=1
81 60.064391 mypc patchserver.crypticstudios.com TCP 62 49334 > 7255 [SYN] Seq=0 Win=8192 Len=0 MSS=1460 SACK_PERM=1
[/code]

Could be a firewall problem, maybe the update server is falling over, dunno
It's not the update server, or everyone - even those that use mobile networks would have the same issue. My conjecture is: it's an upstream load balancer.
Ensign
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 2
# 1473
01-28-2013, 11:34 AM
Tracing route to launcher.startrekonline.com [208.95.185.44]
over a maximum of 30 hops:

1 * * * Request timed out.
2 8 ms 9 ms 8 ms 67.59.234.237
3 12 ms 12 ms 11 ms 67.83.233.13
4 15 ms 12 ms 12 ms 65.19.121.37
5 12 ms 12 ms 15 ms 64.15.1.46
6 * * * Request timed out.
7 15 ms 15 ms 15 ms te0-6-0-5.ccr21.jfk02.atlas.cogentco.com [154.54
.47.21]
8 20 ms 19 ms 21 ms te0-0-0-6.ccr22.bos01.atlas.cogentco.com [154.54
.6.9]
9 19 ms 18 ms 18 ms te4-4.ccr01.bos06.atlas.cogentco.com [66.28.4.42
]
10 * * * Request timed out.
11 * * * Request timed out.
12 * * * Request timed out.
13 * * * Request timed out.
14 * * * Request timed out.
15 * * * Request timed out.
16 * * * Request timed out.
17 * * * Request timed out.
18 * * * Request timed out.
19 * * * Request timed out.
20 * * * Request timed out.
21 * * * Request timed out.
22 * * * Request timed out.
23 * * * Request timed out.
24 * * * Request timed out.
25 * * * Request timed out.
Starfleet Veteran
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 602
# 1474
01-28-2013, 11:34 AM
Tracing route to launcher.startrekonline.com
over a maximum of 30 hops:


2 71 ms 7 ms 8 ms dtr01dntntx-tge-0-0-1-2.dntn.tx.charter.com [96.34.113.92]
3 75 ms 9 ms 14 ms dtr01kllrtx-tge-0-0-1-0.kllr.tx.charter.com [96.34.112.78]
4 64 ms 9 ms 7 ms crr01nrictx-tge-0-1-1-3.nric.tx.charter.com [96.34.113.206]
5 63 ms 11 ms 12 ms crr01ftwotx-tge-0-3-0-5.ftwo.tx.charter.com [96.34.113.140]
6 62 ms 16 ms 15 ms bbr01dllstx-bue-2.dlls.tx.charter.com [96.34.2.32]
7 13 ms 11 ms 12 ms dls-bb1-link.telia.net [213.248.78.237]
8 13 ms 19 ms 14 ms bundle-ether100.ccr21.dfw03.atlas.cogentco.com [154.54.10.153]
9 13 ms 11 ms 13 ms te0-0-0-4.ccr21.dfw01.atlas.cogentco.com [154.54.6.57]
10 22 ms 24 ms 23 ms te0-2-0-6.ccr21.mci01.atlas.cogentco.com [154.54.46.185]
11 48 ms 47 ms 47 ms te0-4-0-3.ccr21.ord01.atlas.cogentco.com [154.54.6.157]
12 61 ms 63 ms 60 ms te0-3-0-6.ccr22.bos01.atlas.cogentco.com [154.54
.43.198] 13 60 ms 61 ms 59 ms te3-2.ccr01.bos06.atlas.cogentco.com [154.54.46.130]
14 73 ms * 81 ms 38.111.40.114
15 * * * Request timed out.
16 * * * Request timed out.
17 * * * Request timed out.
18 * * * Request timed out.
19 * * * Request timed out.
20 * * * Request timed out.
21 * * * Request timed out.
22 * * * Request timed out.
23 * * * Request timed out.
24 * * * Request timed out.
25 * * * Request timed out.
26 * * * Request timed out.
27 * * * Request timed out.
28 * * * Request timed out.
29 * * * Request timed out.
30 * * * Request timed out.

Trace complete.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 137
# 1475
01-28-2013, 11:34 AM
whats the quote........if it aint broke dont fix it......
Lieutenant
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 86
# 1476
01-28-2013, 11:34 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by steven74205 View Post
I am curious as to what compensation will be offered by PWE/Cryptic for this downtime. As has been noted by many people, this is not a rare, one-off issue for STO. So, I would like the Developers to tell me what I can expect for this error.
Its been a few hours and you want compensation? Get off your ****in high horse the game is pretty much Free to Play unless you pay for the subscriptions, i'm pretty sure if you read the eula it will most likely say somewhere in there something about not being able to ensure 100% up-time due to technical difficulties, they do not owe you, or anyone who plays this game, ANYTHING. And if they do offer compensation, which i would assume they will as this hasn't happened in a long time It will most likely be some form of Q activity offering some kinda in-game costume item or xp boost, etc.
Lieutenant
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 43
# 1477
01-28-2013, 11:34 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by mattjohnsonva View Post
UK, Virgin Media - unable to connect to patch server, request timed out. Was fine before the patch today, never had this before.
Same. Can't even load the launcher.

I'm a bit cheesed off. I'm a subscriber. I expect that my subscription entitles me to access for the entire period I pay for. I can handle one or two problems, but this is probably something like the 50th time over the course of my nearly 3 year subscription that I have lost out on not an insignificant amount of game time...which is especially anmoying when you don't have loads of hours to play.
Republic Veteran
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 16
# 1478
01-28-2013, 11:34 AM
My info as i also can't play and i'm from the netherlands.
Tracert :

C:\>tracert patchserver.crypticstudios.com

Tracing route to patchserver.crypticstudios.com [208.95.185.41]
over a maximum of 30 hops:

1 <1 ms <1 ms <1 ms 192.168.0.1
2 8 ms 7 ms 7 ms 10.15.181.1
3 8 ms 7 ms 7 ms p55141.net.upc.nl [212.142.55.141]
4 12 ms 10 ms 10 ms 84.116.244.17
5 11 ms 10 ms 9 ms nl-ams04a-ri2-xe-0-0-0.aorta.net [84.116.132.218]
6 23 ms 10 ms 10 ms 213.46.182.18
7 154 ms 103 ms 102 ms xe-3-0-0.bos11.ip4.tinet.net [141.136.109.138]
8 97 ms 107 ms 97 ms internap-gw.ip4.tinet.net [77.67.77.54]
9 98 ms 97 ms 109 ms border11.te8-1-bbnet2.bsn.pnap.net [63.251.128.104]
10 105 ms 107 ms 107 ms perfectworldent-4.border11.bsn.pnap.net [216.52.61.78]
11 * * * Request timed out.
12 * * * Request timed out.
13 * * * Request timed out.
14 * * * Request timed out.
15 * * * Request timed out.
16 * * * Request timed out.
17 * * * Request timed out.
18 * * * Request timed out.
19 * * * Request timed out.
20 * * * Request timed out.
21 * * * Request timed out.
22 * * * Request timed out.
23 * * * Request timed out.
24 * * * Request timed out.
25 * * * Request timed out.
26 * * * Request timed out.
27 * * * Request timed out.
28 * * * Request timed out.
29 * * * Request timed out.
30 * * * Request timed out.

Trace complete.

C:\>

Nettest :

contacting nettest server..
Local IP: 77.250.236.249
Ping: 96.8 msec
Port: 80: 470 KB/sec 18 KB/sec 501 KB/sec 500
Port: 80: 614 KB/sec 18 KB/sec 649 KB/sec 500
Port: 443: 667 KB/sec 14 KB/sec 702 KB/sec 500
Port: 443: 611 KB/sec 14 KB/sec 644 KB/sec 500
Port: 7255: 613 KB/sec 15 KB/sec 648 KB/sec 500
Port: 7255: 651 KB/sec 15 KB/sec 685 KB/sec 500
Port: 7003: 661 KB/sec 14 KB/sec 696 KB/sec 500
Port: 7003: 713 KB/sec 16 KB/sec 751 KB/sec 500
Port: 7202: 607 KB/sec 14 KB/sec 640 KB/sec 500
Port: 7202: 577 KB/sec 13 KB/sec 608 KB/sec 500
Port: 7499: 396 KB/sec 11 KB/sec 416 KB/sec 500
Port: 7499: 477 KB/sec 12 KB/sec 502 KB/sec 500
Port: 80: 664 KB/sec 12 KB/sec 699 KB/sec 500
Idle NIC bandwidth Send: 2 KB/sec Recv: 1 KB/sec
hit return to exit


It could be a bigger problem as i have the same problem with the Champion online launcher.

Last edited by animusarcus; 01-28-2013 at 11:40 AM. Reason: extra info
Lieutenant
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 36
# 1479
01-28-2013, 11:34 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by punktribble View Post
whats the quote........if it aint broke dont fix it......
But it's broken?
Ensign
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 2
# 1480
01-28-2013, 11:34 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by frojoe2000 View Post
Bull ****.
Every time there is a thread like this someone spouts off on how they used to pay for it, and they were considering playing the game now that it is free, but because they happen to stumble onto a tech support thread for some reason, even though they are not even playing the game, they are just going to pass it up.

Bull **** sir, bull ****.
Seriously, believe what you want. (I just knew someone was going to say that.) I did have an account, in fact I was in the open beta. But I stopped the account not because of the game but because I wanted to play another game and didn't want to pay for two subs. So I dropped STO figuring if Star Wars TOR wasn't any good I could always resub). I recently entered my retirement phase from the military and since I'm on "terminal leave" I have a lot of free time at the moment. Decided to try STO again. Doesn't seem worth the sub, at the moment.

Now if my telling you that is unpleasant to you for some reason, well, so be it. But you have no cause for calling me a liar, just because you don't like what I have to say.
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:59 AM.