Lt. Commander
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 114
# 1581
01-28-2013, 12:01 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by praotectrekkie View Post
As someone already posted, a working solution is to use mobile tethering and your phone's 3G connection if you can. Once you get past the launcher you can enter the game, then switch back to your previous connection and play. Worked for me .

If you think I'm going to run right out and buy an iphone so I can long into this game you are out of your $#@$! mind.
Career Officer
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 62
# 1582
01-28-2013, 12:01 PM
Still no joy
UK Player
Ensign
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 1
# 1583
01-28-2013, 12:01 PM
Since my computer is connect with wire only lan I can't use my phone for a internet connection so all the advise to do so does not work for me. I need a suggestion that does not require my cell phone.
Captain
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 860
# 1584
01-28-2013, 12:02 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by mrbaconsah View Post
Because the patching mechanism is NOT steam based.
but it is not where the problem is at he said , it is a sto problem and he said it was a isp issue
Ensign
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 7
# 1585
01-28-2013, 12:02 PM
Didnt see a Tracert from Ireland yet so here ya go.

Location: Dublin, Ireland
ISP: UPC - http://www.upc.ie/

Tracing route to launcher.startrekonline.com [208.95.185.44]
over a maximum of 30 hops:

1 21 ms 19 ms 12 ms 79.97.246.1
2 10 ms 9 ms 9 ms 109.255.255.254
3 7 ms 8 ms 8 ms 84.116.238.42
4 8 ms 9 ms 9 ms 213.46.165.94
5 94 ms 94 ms 95 ms xe-1-2-0.bos11.ip4.tinet.net [89.149.183.13]
6 96 ms 97 ms 96 ms internap-gw.ip4.tinet.net [77.67.77.54]
7 280 ms 95 ms 95 ms border11.te8-1-bbnet2.bsn.pnap.net [63.251.128.1
04]
8 103 ms 106 ms 93 ms perfectworldent-4.border11.bsn.pnap.net [216.52.
61.78]
9 * * * Request timed out.
10 * * * Request timed out.
11 * * * Request timed out.
12 * * * Request timed out.
13 * * * Request timed out.
14 * * * Request timed out.
15 * * * Request timed out.
16 * * * Request timed out.
17 * * * Request timed out.
18 * * * Request timed out.
19 * * * Request timed out.
20 * * * Request timed out.
21 * * * Request timed out.
22 * * * Request timed out.
23 * * * Request timed out.
24 * * * Request timed out.
25 * * * Request timed out.
26 * * * Request timed out.
27 * * * Request timed out.
28 * * * Request timed out.
29 * * * Request timed out.
30 * * * Request timed out.

Trace complete.
Career Officer
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 17
# 1586
01-28-2013, 12:02 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by puttenham View Post
correction, this has everything to do with cryptic, they pay cogent to route the game through certain areas.. cryptic constantly tells us cogent is at the route of most of the problems with connection issues, they have been saying it for years.. so it is their problem that they have not fixed the problem (either by making a new arrangement with cogent, or going with another provider)..
It takes a little more effort to switch providers at a business end than at your home. You can't just shop online for those available in your neighborhood and switch with a phone call. Cogent may give them the most cost effective solution they can work with that this time. We are not privy to their financial information so could never venture a guess. Bandwidth is far more expensive then people realize.

Since things are working just fine on Cryptics end and other users can connect, the issue is obviously cogent. Of course Cryptic is the party responsible for communicating and assisting with cogent to restore access to their servers for those who currently are unable to, but that doesn't mean it's their fault for things still being offline.

In any case, I've had bad dealings with cogent and can sympathize with your point that they should switch (if they hit a point where they are capable of doing so). The website I work on switched to Amazon's web services and haven't looked back. Maybe it's something they are currently looking into (or should).
Ensign
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 7
# 1587
01-28-2013, 12:03 PM
"You broke your little ships..."
Lieutenant
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 42
# 1588
01-28-2013, 12:04 PM
We should get a free temporal science vessel for this
Ensign
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 4
# 1589
01-28-2013, 12:04 PM
is there a way to disable the patching process?
Lieutenant
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 34
# 1590
01-28-2013, 12:04 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by usscapital View Post
but it is not where the problem is at he said , it is a sto problem and he said it was a isp issue
Yeah, each game gets patched from it's supplier, NOT from steam... So it's NOT steam based. Hence you can patch away for anything else that DOESN'T use the same network (i.e. PWE's network).
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:17 PM.