Ensign
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 3
# 151 Is this how it is?
08-19-2012, 11:53 AM
Sorry to say I also can not even start the launcher. I am a new player and this is the first tec fumble I have seen.
I am trying the game to see if it is truly worth spending some $$ on but unresolved tec issues make me loose faith.
And with no response or comment on the issue.
Logg in is step #1 guys. You must do better than this.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 243
# 152
08-19-2012, 12:03 PM
Okies...for starters...boys and girls, absolutely, positively NEVER troubleshoot PC problems whilst drunk!!!

Prior to finally succumbing to uninstalling and then reinstalling the game, I had tooled around with gods knows what (I seriously can't recall) and two of my desktop icons vanished. One of them was Explorer and I think the other one was MS Office-related. After a brief moment of panic, I performed a system restore, back to a point prior to my flub. Then that got me thinking...how's about going back to a restore point prior to the last time I was successfully able to log into STO? So, I rolled my system back to 8/7/2012.

Made absolutely no difference whatsoever.

Eventually went back to a more recent restore point (night before last), then made sure everything was up to date. Then uninstalled and reinstalled.

Still nothing.

I'm contemplating uninstalling and reinstalling STO once more. Yet, this time, I'm intent on changing the default locations of the game files. Not sure what difference that would make, given that the default/suggested location was exactly the location I had before all this mess started ( C:\Users\Public\Games\Cryptic Studios ).

Has anyone tried this already? Any thoughts on whether or not that might work?
"Don't try to be a great man. Just be a man and let history make its own judgments." -Zefram Cochrane
Vice-Admiral Methos Corinthian
methos71
Career Officer
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 239
# 153
08-19-2012, 12:10 PM
Methos my friend, you are making alot of work for yourself. I dont think a reinstall will matter, I know you dont want to give up but for now I would forget STO and play something else until we hear something concrete. If it wasnt for Mass Effect 2 and 3 and all the replays you can do to affect the game turnout I would be lost. As it is, I have that, and some great Steam summer sale games lined up and GW 2 when it launches cuz I dont think Trek is going to be a viable alternative in the future, I hope I am proven wrong. One thing though, if you have the disc version of the game try instaling from that because it opens the old launcher which then will update with the new one, if it stays open you might possibly be able to log into the game when its done then just leave the game running until the patcher issue is resolved.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 243
# 154
08-19-2012, 12:19 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by bannon3 View Post
Methos my friend, you are making alot of work for yourself. I dont think a reinstall will matter, I know you dont want to give up but for now I would forget STO and play something else until we hear something concrete. If it wasnt for Mass Effect 2 and 3 and all the replays you can do to affect the game turnout I would be lost. As it is, I have that, and some great Steam summer sale games lined up and GW 2 when it launches cuz I dont think Trek is going to be a viable alternative in the future, I hope I am proven wrong. One thing though, if you have the disc version of the game try instaling from that because it opens the old launcher which then will update with the new one, if it stays open you might possibly be able to log into the game when its done then just leave the game running until the patcher issue is resolved.
And THIS is exactly why I sooooo miss hard media, as opposed to virtual media!! Unfortunately, I don't have a disc version of the game, as I jumped aboard with the free to play launch, in late January.

As for "making alot of work" for myself? Yeah, you're absolutely right man. Absolutely everything on my PC has been running perfectly, with the exception of this STO login/launcher issue. If anything, I very nearly created more system woes, than resolved any, in trying to sort this mess out.

Really, at this point, barring any concrete response from PWEBranflakes and crew or PWE Tech Support, I think I've utterly reached the point where there's nothing more I can do to get back in-game.
"Don't try to be a great man. Just be a man and let history make its own judgments." -Zefram Cochrane
Vice-Admiral Methos Corinthian
methos71
Career Officer
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 239
# 155
08-19-2012, 01:29 PM
I dont know, I suppose for fun I can try to do the disc install myself and see if my assumption is correct, you can get the collectors edition from Amazon now for 19.99 or something, and it gives you the DS9 and TNG uniforms plus the Red Matter Capacitor which doesnt really matter any more with all the other boosts and upgrades.

UPDATE: Interestingly the disc installs the game to C:\ProgramFiles\Cryptic

Last edited by bannon3; 08-19-2012 at 01:33 PM.
Survivor of Romulus
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 70
# 156
08-19-2012, 02:06 PM
This is getting beyond an annoyance to a full blown nightmare. Its annoying when most people can get online and we cant.

Wouldn't mind if it was a full blown server hell death but this selective issue is doing my head and making me think whether its worth staying, but I like many have invested way too much real money in to this game and don't really want to leave.

I was going to invest in the Regent but not feeling the vibe now, might get it on the next sale but if I'd been online on patch day I'd have bought it.

Oh well rant over.


Original Join Date May 2009 - Real 1000 Day Veteran
Career Officer
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 239
# 157
08-19-2012, 02:15 PM
The reinstall from disc failed too...its stuck on trying to update launcher please be patient........................................... .................................................. .................................................. .................................................. .................................................. .................................................. .................................................. .................................................L ast time I did this from disc the launcher popped right up but then i was having other connectivity issues too so maybe that was just luck. Throwing in towel I do not know what else to try.
Survivor of Romulus
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 70
# 158
08-19-2012, 02:25 PM
i put up a post on my ISP tech support forums and hoping then can try help. I'm just annoyed as I enjoyed STO despite its falws its a nice game worst part is I cant even mail anyone ingame to say I'm trying log in they probably think I just cant be bothered.


Original Join Date May 2009 - Real 1000 Day Veteran
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 243
# 159
08-19-2012, 02:46 PM
Alright guys, here's some more info that'll make ya wanna bang your head into a wall!!

I just got off the phone with a buddy of mine, who's been able to log into STO, with no problems at all. He had actually logged in a few hours before our discussion.

Main reason I called him was to compare system setups, specifically with regard to 'Internet Options' in Control Panel. We went into 'Internet Properties', then 'Advanced' and compared our checklists. We discovered that I had two items that had been unchecked: "Use HTTP 1.1 through proxy connections" and I can't recall the other item. Yet, I matched my settings to his. Then tried STO again, with no luck. Restarted my system and tried again, to no avail.

We also tested my theory regarding the location of game files and his Cryptic files are located in 'C:\Users\Public\Games\Cryptic Studios', just like mine.

I've also suspected that the latest Windows Updates might have caused a compatibility problem. Yet, he and I both have the exact same Windows Updates installed (save for our MS Office updates, as he's got Office 2010, while I have Office 2007). Only difference being that his updates were installed on 8/16, whereas mine were installed on 8/14.

So, he's able to connect to STO properly and I'm not. Yet, our systems settings seem to be identical.

I did notice something at PWE's Tech Forum. Some fellow there posted the following: "Ok, I am now trying to access the launcher on my laptop, and it is doing the same thing. UserId doesn't display when opening the launcher and when typing the userID and password and clicking login launcher crashes.
This is complete different hardward from the machine I listed above. So the only common thing is Windows 7 Ultimate.
This laptop is a Dual Core, with 4Gb of ram, and nvidia graphic card."

Can't help noticing that that fellow's statement alludes to one difference between my buddy's system and mine. My buddy, who's been able to connect without problems, has Windows 7 Home Edition, 64-bit. Whereas I have Windows 7 Ultimate, 64-bit, like the fellow I just quoted from the PWE Tech Forum.

Wonder if this might have to do with Windows 7 Ultimate????

Also, since I have a direct line to a pal who's able to connect to STO properly, can you guys think of any other settings and such that he and I should also compare?
"Don't try to be a great man. Just be a man and let history make its own judgments." -Zefram Cochrane
Vice-Admiral Methos Corinthian
methos71

Last edited by methos71; 08-19-2012 at 02:54 PM.
Career Officer
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 239
# 160
08-19-2012, 03:40 PM
I have 7 Professional, so I do not think its Win7 besides I have played since 2010 on my Win7 machine with no issues up until this May. But it would be interesting nonetheless to see what OS the afflicted are using.
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:46 PM.