Commander
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 256
# 231
08-21-2012, 09:53 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by bannon3 View Post
Install complete, I fell asleep earlier, its late. So I will wipe Pando out, and shut down, Tomorrow morning I will see what happens. Night all

P.S. What does that youtube clip have to do with STO or our problems, I am not seein it, maybe its the tiredness.
Oh no, check out that Youtube clip again man! Has everything to do with what we've been dealing with really.
"Don't try to be a great man. Just be a man and let history make its own judgments." -Zefram Cochrane
Vice-Admiral Methos Corinthian
methos71

Last edited by methos71; 08-21-2012 at 09:57 PM.
Lieutenant
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 94
# 232
08-22-2012, 01:05 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by methos71 View Post

Please see if this helps you at all, ans thank you for your patience while this issue is looked into.

1: Enable active javascript in IE.

And more detailed steps if you don't want to take the shorter method above:
(Provided by our infrastructure guys.)

Here are more detailed instructions on adding our launcher pages to your Trusted Sites. This is a good option for more advanced, security-conscious people because they can keep scripting blocked for all of the internet (except our lovely launchers and any other sites they trust.)

Open IE (7/8/9).
Tools -> Internet Options
Click “Security??? tab.
Click “Trusted Sites???. (The Green Checkmark icon)
Click “Sites??? button.
Temporarily uncheck the “Require server verification??? box.
Type http://launcher.startrekonline.com into the “Add this website to the zone??? field and click “Add???.
Type http://launcher.champions-online.com into the “Add this website to the zone??? field and click “Add???.
(If you desire, you can recheck the “server verification??? box now!)
Click the “Close??? button to close the Trusted Sites window.
Click “OK??? to close the IE Options Window.
Close all instances of IE.
Close all launcher instances and then restart any of our launchers.

Tried it didn't work, at least the guy read your ticket and picked up on the Congentco thing.
Haters hate what they can't do - which is everything outside of hatin' - Kevin Smith
Ensign
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 10
# 233
08-22-2012, 02:25 AM
Finally got a hold of someone who could cancel my sub. Until this issue gets resolved, there's really no sense in me keeping my monthly sub running. I feel like this whole issue is just getting glossed over by Tech Support.

I mean hey it's only a small percentage of their playerbase that is having this problem. It must be completely our fault! <-----This is the feeling I am walking away with after chains and chains of emails with Tech Support and Customer Support.

I will wait and see if they get their heads out of the sand. Maybe the day will come where I can get back in the game, and then I'll re-sub. For now, I am very disappointed in the quality of Tech and Customer Support from PWE...and that is the most I can say without violating the TOS...because there are way harsher things that I want to say...
Ensign
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 7
# 234
08-22-2012, 04:44 AM
after this is happening for metoo it worked since the patch last week...today morning i played also...and now i wanna play and it doesnt work again...

cmon cryptic what is the problem here...


Edit:

i tried now with using my iphone as hotspot...and tada it worked...this is very stranged because when i turn on my ethernet connection the launches crashed...

Last edited by patsanders; 08-22-2012 at 04:59 AM.
Career Officer
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 256
# 235
08-22-2012, 05:42 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by methos71 View Post
Hate to say it, but I'm guessing that's not gonna help ya at all. And why? Because I tried that nonsense last night.
And......You are right sir! Congratulations!!!!!! lol Nothing, AT&T wants another 30 bucks a month or somethin for the 5GB Data Plan so I can enable a Hotspot, not gonna bother cause the connectivity wouldnt be good enough to actively play STO for any length of time. But it is interesting that those who enable Hotspots can get the launcher open. Seems like Tech Support is starting to get an idea, but are they all talking to each other and putting the info all together in one place? I doubt it.

Tried your Internet Explorer option, I cant even get the sto forums to open on IE the page is empty, but I turned all my internet security options to unlimited since I never use that crappy browser anyway. No launcher.

Last edited by bannon3; 08-22-2012 at 05:48 AM.
Career Officer
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 256
# 236
08-22-2012, 06:34 AM
Just curious, what if I completely removed IE, would the STO launcher require me to install it? I am beginning to wonder if IE might be a sticking point.
Ensign
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 7
# 237
08-22-2012, 07:32 AM
so crazy...when i use my iphone as wifi stick the launcher doesnt load...do i use it with my mobile data the launcher runs perfect...

that realy weird...
Commander
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 256
# 238
08-22-2012, 08:28 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by bannon3 View Post
And......You are right sir! Congratulations!!!!!! lol Nothing, AT&T wants another 30 bucks a month or somethin for the 5GB Data Plan so I can enable a Hotspot, not gonna bother cause the connectivity wouldnt be good enough to actively play STO for any length of time. But it is interesting that those who enable Hotspots can get the launcher open. Seems like Tech Support is starting to get an idea, but are they all talking to each other and putting the info all together in one place? I doubt it.

Tried your Internet Explorer option, I cant even get the sto forums to open on IE the page is empty, but I turned all my internet security options to unlimited since I never use that crappy browser anyway. No launcher.
Bannon3, believe me mate, I sooo didn't want to be right! It's bad enough that there have been a bunch of us enduring this problem and you and some other in this thread have been enduring this for a whole lot longer than I have (my STO was perfectly fine since January, until last week).

I don't know anything about this 'hotspot' business, as my desktop is directly connected to a cable modem and I don't have a router. I have a wi-fi capable laptop, but I sincerely doubt it would be able to run STO and, again, I have no router.

I was really, really, really inebriated when I got that reply from PWE Tech Support. Yet, I'm pretty sure I eventually followed their IE suggestions properly. I even recall applying their instructions to both IE 64-bit and IE 32-bit (hadn't realized both were on my system until last night!). I'll comb through their instructions again in a wee bit, just in case. Yet, from what others here have already indicated, I doubt it'll help.

Quote:
Originally Posted by bannon3 View Post
Just curious, what if I completely removed IE, would the STO launcher require me to install it? I am beginning to wonder if IE might be a sticking point.
I wouldn't remove IE, if I were you. I suspect it would do more harm than good. Besides, my pal who has been able to connect to STO without problems, he not only still has IE but actually uses it as his default browser (despite my imploring him that Google Chrome is way better).

I'm hoping to get a hold of my aforementioned buddy and compare system and browser settings with him again, covering areas we hadn't covered before (Network settings, Browser settings and such).

Please, if any of you have any suggestions on things I should be comparing with him, then please let me know!
"Don't try to be a great man. Just be a man and let history make its own judgments." -Zefram Cochrane
Vice-Admiral Methos Corinthian
methos71
Empire Veteran
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 140
# 239
08-22-2012, 08:53 AM
removing IE in any windows system is a bad idea.. IE is integrated throughout the OS.. you will have many problems

IE is not the issue I would bet anyhow
Ensign
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 7
# 240
08-22-2012, 09:39 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by emt27 View Post
removing IE in any windows system is a bad idea.. IE is integrated throughout the OS.. you will have many problems

IE is not the issue I would bet anyhow
i am sry for u but i have to tell u that i have the problems on 2 systems...i tried it even on my mac with the wineskin thing...tadaaa...same problem...

it has to do something with the internet connection...as i tell on a other post...when i connect with my iphone and used my 3G connection and it worked...when i tried with my wifi tethering on my iphone the problem was back...
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:23 PM.