Ensign
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 24
# 2471
01-28-2013, 08:22 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by agentgreasy View Post
Its not being fixed, you're just repetitively trying to connect and occasionally getting past the network problem.

You are misunderstanding the false positive of being able to connect. You aren't actually encountering any resolution at all - your network connection is merely taking a working route temporarily and then reverting back to the bad route.

PWE hasn't fixed or broken anything, I would even go so far as to say its not even patch related and its an unfortunately disastrous coincidental hardware failure.

NO...

In a word NO.

Look if it was a coincidental hardware failure it would be one site somewhere and 1 group of people would be unable to connect or ALL of them

Not groups of people dotted all over the world

Its the patch

Im an easy going guy and i can accept coincidence but this intermitant problem experienced by multiple people dotted all over the world

on the day of a major content patch and its a coincidence

Yeah right, you might have just gotten off the last banana boat but i dident.

Ever since perfect world took over this game its been a Joke in terms of service

I mean totaly pathetic
Ensign
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 4
# 2472
01-28-2013, 08:22 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by agentgreasy View Post
Its not weird at all actually.

Networks are organic, and they are able to repair themselves rather well. It just takes time. Unfortunately though, some of the automatic solutions only auto correct for a bit and then go back to bad. This is usually because of bad redundancy setups.

(In response to other posts that are blaming PWE)

I'm going to have to reiterate though... everyone who is blaming PWE may see the cliche behind pointing fingers, but you would be surprised at how little power even the largest companies have when they're in a datacenter and they don't own the space.

I'm not that network pro...
But I would never blame people for technical difficulties I don't know anything about.
I think you are right.

Best regards
Lieutenant
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 93
# 2473
01-28-2013, 08:23 PM
ahhhhhhhHhhhhH!H!H!H!HH!
Ensign
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 9
# 2474
01-28-2013, 08:23 PM
Tracing route to launcher.startrekonline.com [208.95.185.44]
over a maximum of 30 hops:

1 1 ms <1 ms <1 ms Wireless_Broadband_Router.home [192.168.1.1]
2 3 ms 3 ms 3 ms L100.HRBGPA-VFTTP-12.verizon-gni.net [98.117.0.1]
3 6 ms 6 ms 6 ms G10-0-8-112.HRBGPA-LCR-01.verizon-gni.net [130.81.184.148]
4 18 ms 18 ms 19 ms P12-0-0.HRBGPA-LCR-02.verizon-gni.net [130.81.27.185]
5 18 ms 18 ms 17 ms so-12-1-0-0.RES-BB-RTR1.verizon-gni.net [130.81.28.254]
6 72 ms 18 ms 18 ms xe-1-0-0-0.NWRK-BB-RTR2.verizon-gni.net [130.81.23.158]
7 21 ms 20 ms 20 ms 0.xe-8-0-0.XL4.NYC1.ALTER.NET [152.63.5.217]
8 32 ms 30 ms 30 ms 0.ge-3-1-0.XL4.BOS4.ALTER.NET [152.63.20.218]
9 29 ms 27 ms 29 ms POS7-0.GW5.BOS4.ALTER.NET [152.63.25.57]
10 30 ms 29 ms 30 ms internap-gw.customer.alter.net [65.207.236.58]
11 28 ms 29 ms 29 ms border11.te7-1-bbnet1.bsn.pnap.net [63.251.128.41]
12 30 ms 35 ms 35 ms perfectworldent-4.border11.bsn.pnap.net [216.52.61.78]
13 31 ms * * de.playstartrekonline.eu [208.95.185.44]
14 * * * Request timed out.
15 * * * Request timed out.

Then I did a control+C because it would just give a request timed out for the rest of the hops...
Ensign
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 9
# 2475
01-28-2013, 08:24 PM
Ok well the auto update of the launcher goes just fine without a hitch now.......

then it goes to loading please wait on launcher.....

then it gives me that Internet explorer can not display the webpage.

Seems to me that the problem with autopatcher of the launcher has been fixed and now they are just working the kinks of the launcher itself
Survivor of Romulus
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 18
# 2476
01-28-2013, 08:24 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by agentgreasy View Post
Its not being fixed, you're just repetitively trying to connect and occasionally getting past the network problem.

You are misunderstanding the false positive of being able to connect. You aren't actually encountering any resolution at all - your network connection is merely taking a working route temporarily and then reverting back to the bad route.

PWE hasn't fixed or broken anything, I would even go so far as to say its not even patch related and its an unfortunately disastrous coincidental hardware failure.
I thought they brought it down for maintenance early when I lost my connection 30 minutes before the scheduled downtime. Now I'm starting to think it was this network issue (same symptoms) and the timing was just unfortunate.

Assuming it was caused by the patching has probably delayed the resolution significantly.
Starfleet Veteran
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 37
# 2477
01-28-2013, 08:24 PM
Tracing route to patchserver.crypticstudios.com [208.95.185.41]
over a maximum of 30 hops:

1 * * * Request timed out.
2 9 ms 9 ms 9 ms unalloc-024-031-202-137.sc.rr.com [24.31.202.137
]
3 11 ms 13 ms 11 ms ge-3-0-0.chrlncpop-rtr1.southeast.rr.com [24.93.
64.62]
4 16 ms 23 ms 15 ms 107.14.19.46
5 49 ms 39 ms 38 ms ae-0-0.cr1.atl20.tbone.rr.com [66.109.6.35]
6 39 ms 38 ms 39 ms ae-4-0.cr0.dca10.tbone.rr.com [66.109.6.33]
7 34 ms 33 ms 33 ms ae-2-0.pr0.dca10.tbone.rr.com [66.109.6.169]
8 34 ms 33 ms 33 ms 107.14.16.34
9 35 ms 40 ms 36 ms cr2-tengig0-8-5-0.washington.savvis.net [204.70.
206.241]
10 42 ms 40 ms 45 ms cr2-te-0-3-1-0.nyr.savvis.net [204.70.192.2]
11 40 ms 43 ms 40 ms er1-te-2-1.newyorknyd.savvis.net [204.70.196.70]

12 46 ms 46 ms 47 ms msr1-te-0-3-0-0.bos.savvis.net [206.28.97.205]
13 47 ms 47 ms 46 ms 206.28.97.137
14 46 ms 47 ms 46 ms internap.Boston.savvis.net [208.172.51.230]
15 99 ms 238 ms 245 ms border11.te8-1-bbnet2.bsn.pnap.net [63.251.128.1
04]
16 52 ms 53 ms 53 ms perfectworldent-4.border11.bsn.pnap.net [216.52.
61.78]
17 * * * Request timed out.
18 * * * Request timed out.
19 * * * Request timed out.
20 * * * Request timed out.
21 * 46 ms * 208.95.185.41
22 * * 48 ms 208.95.185.41

Trace complete.

NETTEST
Ping: 50.0 msec
Port: 80: 275 KB/sec 14 KB/sec 320 KB/sec 500
Port: 80: 316 KB/sec 17 KB/sec 379 KB/sec 500
Port: 443: 468 KB/sec 19 KB/sec 521 KB/sec 500
Port: 443: 405 KB/sec 20 KB/sec 437 KB/sec 500
Port: 7255: 463 KB/sec 21 KB/sec 533 KB/sec 500
Port: 7255: 1028 KB/sec 34 KB/sec 1089 KB/sec 500
Port: 7003: 501 KB/sec 19 KB/sec 535 KB/sec 500
Port: 7003: 496 KB/sec 18 KB/sec 527 KB/sec 500
Port: 7202: 479 KB/sec 18 KB/sec 518 KB/sec 500
Port: 7202: 460 KB/sec 14 KB/sec 497 KB/sec 500
Port: 7499: 448 KB/sec 18 KB/sec 496 KB/sec 500
Port: 7499: 415 KB/sec 16 KB/sec 450 KB/sec 500
Port: 80: 301 KB/sec 15 KB/sec 345 KB/sec 500
Idle NIC bandwidth Send: 2 KB/sec Recv: 24 KB/sec
hit return to exit
Lieutenant
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 56
# 2478
01-28-2013, 08:25 PM
I've got this trace route:

Traza a la direcci?n launcher.startrekonline.com [208.95.185.44]
sobre un m?ximo de 30 saltos:

1 2 ms 1 ms 1 ms mygateway1.ar7 [192.168.1.1]
2 43 ms 41 ms 42 ms 142.Red-80-58-67.staticIP.rima-tde.net []
3 54 ms 56 ms 53 ms 45.Red-80-58-87.staticIP.rima-tde.net []
4 52 ms 54 ms 51 ms 93.Red-80-58-87.staticIP.rima-tde.net []
5 53 ms 53 ms 53 ms 94.142.103.197
6 85 ms 85 ms 118 ms 176.52.250.226
7 152 ms 85 ms 86 ms 195.50.118.201
8 86 ms 88 ms 87 ms ae-2-52.edge4.London1.Level3.net [4.69.139.106]

9 86 ms 86 ms 86 ms IntelQ-Tinet-level3-2x10G.London.Level3.net [4.6
8.110.114]
10 235 ms 166 ms 166 ms xe-3-0-0.bos11.ip4.tinet.net [141.136.109.138]
11 165 ms 164 ms 164 ms internap-gw.ip4.tinet.net [77.67.77.54]
12 451 ms 445 ms 331 ms border11.te7-1-bbnet1.bsn.pnap.net [63.251.128.4
1]
13 559 ms 445 ms 332 ms perfectworldent-4.border11.bsn.pnap.net [216.52.
61.78]
14 * * * Tiempo de espera agotado para esta solicitud.
15 * * * Tiempo de espera agotado para esta solicitud.
16 * * 169 ms launcher.startrekonline.com [208.95.185.44]

Traza completa.

But it still doesn't work for me... the launcher says the same as my router wasn't on.


And another one (this one's "funny") :

Traza a la direcci?n launcher.startrekonline.com [208.95.185.44]
sobre un m?ximo de 30 saltos:

1 1 ms 1 ms 1 ms mygateway1.ar7 [192.168.1.1]
2 42 ms 42 ms 42 ms 142.Red-80-58-67.staticIP.rima-tde.net []
3 52 ms 54 ms 55 ms 45.Red-80-58-87.staticIP.rima-tde.net []
4 54 ms 54 ms 51 ms 93.Red-80-58-87.staticIP.rima-tde.net []
5 53 ms 56 ms 59 ms et7-0-0-1-GRTBCNES1.red.telefonica-wholesale.net
[94.142.103.197]
6 175 ms 98 ms 96 ms 176.52.250.226
7 86 ms 83 ms 86 ms 195.50.90.165
8 * * 86 ms ae-2-52.edge4.London1.Level3.net [4.69.139.106]

9 86 ms 95 ms 86 ms IntelQ-Tinet-level3-2x10G.London.Level3.net [4.6
8.110.114]
10 165 ms 207 ms 165 ms xe-3-0-0.bos11.ip4.tinet.net [141.136.109.138]
11 164 ms 163 ms 164 ms internap-gw.ip4.tinet.net [77.67.77.54]
12 168 ms 168 ms 168 ms border11.te7-1-bbnet1.bsn.pnap.net [63.251.128.4
1]
13 172 ms 160 ms 161 ms perfectworldent-4.border11.bsn.pnap.net [216.52.
61.78]
14 525 ms * * launcher.startrekonline.com [208.95.185.44]
15 * * * Tiempo de espera agotado para esta solicitud.
16 * 167 ms * launcher.startrekonline.com [208.95.185.44]
17 * * * Tiempo de espera agotado para esta solicitud.
18 * * * Tiempo de espera agotado para esta solicitud.
19 170 ms * * launcher.startrekonline.com [208.95.185.44]
20 * * * Tiempo de espera agotado para esta solicitud.
21 * * * Tiempo de espera agotado para esta solicitud.
22 * 171 ms * launcher.startrekonline.com [208.95.185.44]
23 * * * Tiempo de espera agotado para esta solicitud.
24 173 ms * * launcher.startrekonline.com [208.95.185.44]
25 * 163 ms * launcher.startrekonline.com [208.95.185.44]
26 * * * Tiempo de espera agotado para esta solicitud.
27 * * * Tiempo de espera agotado para esta solicitud.
28 * * * Tiempo de espera agotado para esta solicitud.
29 * * * Tiempo de espera agotado para esta solicitud.
30 * * * Tiempo de espera agotado para esta solicitud.

Traza completa.
http://sto-forum.perfectworld.com/image.php?type=sigpic&userid=91857922000&dateline=  1342169682
Join date 20 Sept 2008

Last edited by burchenall; 01-28-2013 at 08:32 PM. Reason: Additional info.
Ensign
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 6
# 2479
01-28-2013, 08:25 PM
Got in earlier but got stuck trying to visit a kdf fleet starbase (Patching process hung and lost contact with server.)

And now the launcher is being cranky again :/
Ensign
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 17
Well I waited all day to play and it worked for about 2 hours and stopped working again. Its doing the same thing it was all day long. I hope you guys get it fixed. I left WoW to play STO. Does this happen all the time? I just started playing a couple days ago. Just wondering.
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:13 AM.