Commander
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 256
# 341
08-25-2012, 04:16 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by bannon3 View Post
We made it to page 30!! I guess my hopes were misplaced. no support over the weekend as I havent heard anything either.

Spoke before I looked lol, got this:

Thank you for providing this information, I have forwarded this information to the investigation team. Please keep an eye on the patch notes for more information in regards to this issue. Additionally, please update this ticket if something changes in regards to this matter.

Kind regards,
Bannon3, at first I thought the message they sent you might've been the same as the last message I got from them yesterday. Yet, the wording of your message is slightly different, whilst the intent is much the same. And you received that message from PWE Tech at some point today then?
"Don't try to be a great man. Just be a man and let history make its own judgments." -Zefram Cochrane
Vice-Admiral Methos Corinthian
methos71
Career Officer
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 256
# 342
08-25-2012, 04:52 PM
Yes sometime this afternoon, so it looks like they are going to keep the ticket open until its resolved or I find something else to complain about. Sounds like they are doing something, oh God I hope this isnt just lip service but they have no reason to string us along really. They wouldnt want the blowback when we realized we were being misled.
Commander
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 256
# 343
08-25-2012, 06:23 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by bannon3 View Post
Yes sometime this afternoon, so it looks like they are going to keep the ticket open until its resolved or I find something else to complain about. Sounds like they are doing something, oh God I hope this isnt just lip service but they have no reason to string us along really. They wouldnt want the blowback when we realized we were being misled.
Intriguing that they've contacted you today Bannon3! And encouraging as well, that news. Might mean that someone or a group of someones are still working on our problem, throughout this weekend.

I did notice something, taking a peek at the Tribble Boards. They released a patch for the Tribble servers yesterday and, from what I've discerned, they only usually do that kind of thing shortly before posting an actual patch to Holodeck. Now those Tribble patch notes didn't mention anything about our problem, but hopefully this all means an early patch might come that might get us out of this mess and back into the game.
"Don't try to be a great man. Just be a man and let history make its own judgments." -Zefram Cochrane
Vice-Admiral Methos Corinthian
methos71
Career Officer
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 256
# 344
08-25-2012, 07:42 PM
It would be too good to be true Methos, but Saturday tribble patches are few and far between, maybe there is some embedded code fixes in there who knows? I would assume though if they found something they would inform us or just push it right to holodeck then ask us to try and log in. I will certainly be keeping my eyes on things anyway.
Career Officer
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 256
# 345
08-26-2012, 12:05 PM
Anything happening today? This thread is vewy vewy quiet.....lets not give up the fight guys! Keep the posts comin!
Commander
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 256
# 346
08-26-2012, 12:25 PM
Well, sometime this evening will officially mark two weeks since I've been able to login and play STO.

I'm wondering if you guys might be able to clear up something that's been nagging at me for the past two days. In the last email that PWE sent me, they requested my IP address. It's also been suggested that going to CMD.exe and hitting 'ipconfig/release', 'ipconfig/renew' and then 'ipconfig/flushdns' has resolved this problem for a few people.

Here's the nagging bit...isn't that last procedure (release, renew, flushdns) supposed to result in you having a new IP address? If that's the case, then I can confirm that I still have the exact same IP address that I've had since last Monday. And I've tried the release, renew, flushdns bit quite a few times since then (including just now, before typing here).

Another thing I've noticed, via reading my 'ipconfig/all' report: The report states that my IP address has a 24 hour lease. That lease supposedly expired about an hour and a half ago (1:45PM). I intentionally didn't turn on my PC today until 2:30PM, hoping that the lease expiration would set me to a new IP address. Promptly after turning on the PC, I ran 'ipconfig/all' and, lo' and behold, it reported the same IP address. I have also noted, in the 'ipconfig/all' report, that it indicates '(Preferred)' after listing my IP address.

What makes this all the more puzzling is that my ISP (Time Warner/Brighthouse Roadrunner) supposedly provides users with dynamic IP addresses, rather than static IP addresses. Yet, it's pretty clear that my IP address has remained static since, at least, last Monday.

Can anyone clear that up for me? And can anyone also tell me if I can somehow get another IP address and, if so, then how?

One other thing I wanted to try. I read somewhere that some fella supposedly resolved this login/launcher problem by uninstalling his anti-virus software and then restarting his system. He claimed that the launcher worked fine after that.

I'm using 'AVG Anti-Virus Free Edition 2012'. Do ya guys think it would cause my system any harm if I uninstalled AVG, ran CCleaner to make sure AVG's wiped, and then tried the STO launcher?

Update:Well, I uninstalled 'AVG Anti-Virus Free Edition 2012', though I didn't run 'CCleaner' (quite frankly that program makes me nervous!). Doing so had absolutely no effect whatsoever. Still getting the same godsforesaken 'Trying to update the launcher...Unable to establish connection to Patch Server.' bit.

I would still appreciate some input on the 'ipconfig' issues I described above though!
"Don't try to be a great man. Just be a man and let history make its own judgments." -Zefram Cochrane
Vice-Admiral Methos Corinthian
methos71

Last edited by methos71; 08-26-2012 at 02:19 PM.
Career Officer
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 256
# 347
08-26-2012, 02:43 PM
Methos, dont start falling back into that trap of tinkering with every little thing on your machine. We've identified this thing as a problem with Cryptic/PWE wait a bit and see what comes of it before you go uninstalling programs etc. I have Norton Internet Security 2012 which expires in 20 days or so, so usually when you renew Norton upgrades you to the new version so I will be wiping it with their uninstall tool probably. I can boot back up and see if I am able to log in but my money is on no.
Survivor of Romulus
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 70
# 348
08-26-2012, 02:48 PM
Methos your ISP seems like mine with the dynamic ip address. Potentially if you turn off your router you could get a new address assigned if someone does it at the same time and they take your address but I always end up with the same ip. As for the ipconfig it clears the ip on the pc not the main ip on the router. So as long as you gave them the main ip address your fine.

I tried for the last week to get a new ip by turning off the router for hours at a time but always end up with the same one .

I can't wait until we're all back in game I'll be in the bar and adding all my forum crusaders as friends as we been through enough now. I miss my mk XII omega suit and my fleet saber/jem'hader attack ships need get backto bashing Borg, killing tholians and building my fleets base


Original Join Date May 2009 - Real 1000 Day Veteran
Commander
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 256
# 349
08-26-2012, 03:11 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by averydd View Post
Methos your ISP seems like mine with the dynamic ip address. Potentially if you turn off your router you could get a new address assigned if someone does it at the same time and they take your address but I always end up with the same ip. As for the ipconfig it clears the ip on the pc not the main ip on the router. So as long as you gave them the main ip address your fine.

I tried for the last week to get a new ip by turning off the router for hours at a time but always end up with the same one.

I can't wait until we're all back in game I'll be in the bar and adding all my forum crusaders as friends as we been through enough now. I miss my mk XII omega suit and my fleet saber/jem'hader attack ships need get backto bashing Borg, killing tholians and building my fleets base
Ya know, the longest I had left my cable modem (don't have a router) completely unplugged was about 15 minutes. Think that perhaps leaving it completely unplugged over night might help, in getting a new IP address?

And amen to friending all the disgruntled stalwarts here and gathering for some rounds at either Club 47 or Quarks, when and if we all ever get back Averydd!

When I was last logged in (two weeks ago as of tonight), I had just commissioned and named a Mirror Universe Assault Cruiser (that I was lucky enough to win at an SSR party), but had held off on customizing it until next time. Some nice fella, after I was inadvertently trapped on his Fleet Starbase, gave me thirty boxes of Tholian equipment, so I would have the full Tholian ground set. I only opened 1 box, leaving the rest for next time. Friday morning after I was logged on (when I first encountered this godsforesaken problem), I had discovered that the Type 6 material had been restored for my beloved Armitage Class Escort Carrier. And I've likely got a ton of returned (and hopefully some sold) exchange items to sort out...all when and if we ever get back in-game.

'Next time' has been taking too frakkin' long in coming already!

Oh, and by the way, Averydd, a dear friend of mine would absolutely love your screen-name, as her son is named Avery and she's a rabid Duran Duran fan!
"Don't try to be a great man. Just be a man and let history make its own judgments." -Zefram Cochrane
Vice-Admiral Methos Corinthian
methos71
Career Officer
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 256
# 350
08-26-2012, 03:18 PM
Cant wait to meet you all also!I got a Mirror Ship too the day before in a Tholian Lock Box it was one of the Star Cruisers but it had an extra Tac slot in exchange for a missing Sci slot, better configuration I say. I dont really use the Sci consoles too much. I was doing all the new Fleet stuff too to help out my respective fleets build the base or help expand it. Just when it was getting fun again with something to do, again theres the new Sovereign and uniforms, ahhhh I am waiting on the TNG bridge pack and if I am not in game to have it when it comes I will cry. lol
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:54 PM.