Ensign
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 1
# 521
09-03-2012, 05:39 PM
so there no fix to it?

120903 08:16:18 1 [1]: Unrecognized command ""C:\Users\Public\Games\Cryptic Studios\dbghelp.dll"" (did you mean "-"C:\Users\Public\Games\Cryptic Studios\dbghelp.dll""?)
120903 08:23:33 1 [1]: Launcher PCL Error The connection was idle for too long
120903 19:00:00 1 [1]: Launcher PCL Error The connection was idle for too long
120904 00:10:40 1 [1]: Launcher PCL Error The connection was idle for too long
120904 00:15:11 1 [1]: Launcher PCL Error The connection was idle for too long
Survivor of Romulus
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 70
# 522
09-04-2012, 03:44 AM
After 2 replacement Virgin Media Super Hubs I'm finally back in the new one reassigned me a new IP address so I'm finally back online. Patching Very slowly though.


Original Join Date May 2009 - Real 1000 Day Veteran
Commander
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 289
# 523
09-04-2012, 12:22 PM
I always get this message when i am trying to log in:"The patchclient got a message while it was in a state with no response function". it is trying to update 2 times then nothing.
Should i download the game again from here:http://sto.perfectworld.com/download and install it fresh and new or what would be the best way to go?

Last edited by willamsheridan; 09-04-2012 at 12:24 PM.
Career Officer
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 15
# 524 Working Solution for me.
09-04-2012, 02:40 PM
After about a month of not being able to connect to the game, I decided to call up my ISP to request a new IP#. Went through a hoop or two, but was able to get that done, and now able to get to the game.

This leads me to believe that Cryptic's Server Farm has some sort of erroneous IP block (or the router they are connected to get to the outside world at large does).

For ones who are not able to wait a long time to have their router to time out on an Address, Or there ISP has a particular DHCP set-up:

Go into your Router, look for an a setting that will let you 'clone' or 'change' the "MAC Address" of the router (This may vary from brand and model, older ones may not allow it.) Hold that page for a moment.

Now go to Start, Run..., type " cmd ", enter, a black window will appear, type ' ipconfig /all ', enter.
A bunch of text will appear, you may have to scroll back to the top of the window. In the second 'batch' of text you SHOULD find a "Physical Address". it will be a hexadecimal address in the form of: ##-##-##-##-##-##

Type that address into the area for the 'clone MAC' address of your router.

This SHOULD give you a new IP# to work with, if your not able to get a new address by waiting around.

This will help with the issue where all websites (including perfectworld.com) work, except explicitly: StarTrekOnline.com, champions-online.com, crypticstudios.com and that the patcher can not connect to the patchserver.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 101
# 525
09-05-2012, 03:38 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by macfelly View Post
Ok there are two conflicting issues in this thread I'd like to clarify

The original posters and 4 or 5 of us were getting a no connect error

Right after the last patch a bunch of people jumped in with a different error specifically this one "Patchclient in a state with no response function" this is fixed by using an updated sto exe file. This is not the original issue of this thread ours has to do with some routing issue or STO blanket banning certain IPs

You can see while you believe you are helping us we (the original posters) have a completely different error and replacing this file will not help us, in fact STO has pretty much told us to go away.
I recently had the game crash on me, and when I tried running it again the launcher came up but the screen is stuck on patching...

If this is the same problem you have I was able to solve it by loading my backup of the launcher and deleting the .patch folder in the /Star Trek Online/live directory.

You can download my current launcher that has been updated to Aug 30 from here.

Hope this helps.
Commander
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 256
# 526
09-05-2012, 08:28 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by averydd View Post
After 2 replacement Virgin Media Super Hubs I'm finally back in the new one reassigned me a new IP address so I'm finally back online. Patching Very slowly though.
Averydd, make sure to add me in-game @methos71. Same goes for any other compatriots in misery who've been able to make in back into STO!
"Don't try to be a great man. Just be a man and let history make its own judgments." -Zefram Cochrane
Vice-Admiral Methos Corinthian
methos71
Career Officer
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 1,730
# 527
09-05-2012, 10:15 AM
I just had the same problem this morning. Enabling patch via proxy seemed to fix it for me. I never had used that option before.

It could just be server issues. The chat server is down right now too.


Click here and here if you are interested in learning more about PvP.
Commander
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 343
# 528
09-05-2012, 04:27 PM
From cryptis's launcher: shard mantanance on 9/6 7 to 9 am PDT. maybe it is the fix (at last). Keep those fingers crossed!!
Commander
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 343
# 529
09-05-2012, 05:40 PM
cryptic/perfectworld deny responcibility. MAN UP PEOPLE!!
Career Officer
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 87
# 530
09-06-2012, 12:05 AM
I had the not connecting problem on my laptop, which I took on holiday with me, at the hotel I was on it worked just fine for the first 3-4 days then stopped working.. I tried every configuration and every launcher and it has absolutely No impact on the problem. and reverted to original launchers and settings.

coming back from holiday my laptop connected just fine...

conclusion its not a launcher problem. If the launcher fixes this issue for you one of two things has happened..

1) You have a different problem

2) Some infrastructure component between your PC and cryptic has changed... without your knowledge...
Richard Silk, EU Liaison Officer, TOS Veterans Fleet
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:56 AM.