Career Officer
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 2,916
# 961
01-28-2013, 09:32 AM
I did a quick Wireshark sniff of my launcher trying to start.

What I see is: Normal connection establishment, SYN, SYN/ACK, ACK, all fine. But then I see only TCP Retransmission from my client, not reply from the server for quite some time - until my client finally sends a RST to end the connection and try again, to which it receives a reply immediately. I can send you the pcap file in an email if you want.


Is it possible that you or your service provider implemented (or updated!) a packet filtering device in the network path (a firewall or maybe simply ACL's on a router along the way) with the latest maintenance?
Captain
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 844
# 962
01-28-2013, 09:32 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by bayonettawiccan View Post
This is what I keep seeing...

I dont get that i get

ssvagent.exe is requesting to make changes to your machine

and it keeps wanting to download oracle to my laptop which as ive mentioned already has oracle.
Lieutenant
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 47
# 963
01-28-2013, 09:32 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by frojoe2000 View Post
It would be nice if the community manager would at least update us here as too what they think it is, what they are doing about it, and an estimate about how long this is going to take.... The silence from Cryptic is really frustrating.

I do not have time for this, especially with the lack of communication from the STO team.
I am sure he will. Just as soon as he knows something. I mean its that or should be post every 5 minutes nothing new yet?
Lieutenant
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 38
# 964
01-28-2013, 09:33 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by floppidy View Post
I don't mean to be rude.. But I find it funny that whenever I look at any MMO tech support forum.. It's always the same thing. Different problems, same reaction.. people seething with rage at how tech support is doing nothing and how they can't believe that there would ever be an error and how dare there be any kind of problem keeping them from playing (either the mmo's fault or not).. Shtuff happens Ladies and Gents.. Look at almost any other MMO forum.. You get about the same amount of response from tech support. They are working hard on our problems. Give them any info they ask.. and remember it is a game.. yes you may pay a monthly subscription to play this game.. but it's a game.. Go do something else for a few hrs and check back.. Or if you have to go to work soon.. just go do something else before work instead of staring at the forums and going to work grumpy.. Again.. hope I'm not offending anyone.. Just an observation. Don't worry y'all be happy lol
I'm fine with there being technical problems. What is pissing me off so much is someone is employed as the community manager and that person is NOT communicating with us. We have not been told what they think it is, weather or not they have a clue yet, or what they are doing, or when they expect to have a solution.... in fact, there has been 0 communication.

Communication isn't a whole lot to ask and it would do wonders at cooling the "seething rage" that happens when problems arise.
Starfleet Veteran
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 45
# 965
01-28-2013, 09:33 AM
When will Cryptic invest capital in decent servers that can hold the amount of returning players after patching?

When will you invest into decent servers at all : tired of getting random disconnections every now and then.
Career Officer
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 29
# 966
01-28-2013, 09:34 AM
Tracing route to launcher.startrekonline.com [208.95.185.44]
over a maximum of 30 hops:

1 2 ms <1 ms <1 ms BTHomeHub.home [192.168.1.254]
2 4 ms 8 ms 11 ms 217.32.143.35
3 6 ms 5 ms 5 ms 217.32.143.62
4 6 ms 6 ms 6 ms 213.120.163.74
5 7 ms 6 ms 6 ms 31.55.165.241
6 7 ms 6 ms 6 ms 31.55.165.109
7 6 ms 6 ms 5 ms acc1-10GigE-1-3-0.mr.21cn-ipp.bt.net [109.159.25
0.214]
8 14 ms 15 ms 22 ms core1-te0-13-0-13.ilford.ukcore.bt.net [109.159.
250.172]
9 13 ms 13 ms 12 ms core1-pos9-1.telehouse.ukcore.bt.net [194.74.65.
114]
10 14 ms 13 ms 15 ms t2as1-tge4-4.uk-lon1.eu.bt.net [166.49.211.145]

11 13 ms 13 ms 13 ms t2a1-ge4-0-0.uk-lon1.eu.bt.net [166.49.135.17]
12 15 ms 16 ms 15 ms te0-7-0-3.ccr21.lon01.atlas.cogentco.com [130.11
7.14.49]
13 15 ms 14 ms 15 ms te0-1-0-4.ccr21.lon13.atlas.cogentco.com [154.54
.57.106]
14 87 ms 89 ms 89 ms te0-7-0-33.ccr21.bos01.atlas.cogentco.com [154.5
4.5.161]
15 141 ms 219 ms 250 ms te4-4.ccr01.bos06.atlas.cogentco.com [66.28.4.42
]
16 96 ms 95 ms 91 ms 38.111.40.114
17 * * * Request timed out.
18 88 ms * * playstartrek.fr [208.95.185.44]
19 * * 89 ms playstartrek.fr [208.95.185.44]

Trace complete.
Commanding Officer the 10th Fleet
the user formally known as kiss.my.rear.admiral
Career Officer
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 86
# 967
01-28-2013, 09:34 AM
I'm in Dallas TX, and when I attempt to open my launcher, I either get:
1) A small box saying "trying to update the launcher", which times out after 3 attempts, or
2) It opens the launcher but stalls at a white box saying "Loading. Please wait."

Tracing route to patchserver.crypticstudios.com [208.95.185.41]
over a maximum of 30 hops:

1 <1 ms <1 ms <1 ms Wireless_Broadband_Router.home [192.168.1.1]
2 5 ms 4 ms 4 ms L100.DLLSTX-VFTTP-24.verizon-gni.net [71.123.203.1]
3 6 ms 7 ms 7 ms G0-3-0-4.DLLSTX-LCR-22.verizon-gni.net [130.81.59.174]
4 8 ms 7 ms 7 ms so-5-0-0-0.DFW9-BB-RTR2.verizon-gni.net [130.81.199.36]
5 42 ms 19 ms 7 ms 0.xe-0-0-0.XT4.DFW9.ALTER.NET [152.63.96.197]
6 63 ms 64 ms 64 ms 0.so-7-1-0.XL4.BOS4.ALTER.NET [152.63.0.221]
7 61 ms 62 ms 62 ms POS7-0.GW5.BOS4.ALTER.NET [152.63.25.57]
8 60 ms 59 ms 59 ms internap-gw.customer.alter.net [65.207.236.58]
9 60 ms 74 ms 79 ms border11.te8-1-bbnet2.bsn.pnap.net [63.251.128.104]
10 58 ms 67 ms 72 ms perfectworldent-4.border11.bsn.pnap.net [216.52.61.78]
11 * * * Request timed out.
12 * 58 ms * 208.95.185.41
13 * * * Request timed out.
14 * * * Request timed out.
15 * 58 ms * 208.95.185.41
16 * * * Request timed out.
17 60 ms * * 208.95.185.41
18 * * 60 ms 208.95.185.41

Trace complete.

It appears that the problem is that your server at 208.95.185.41 is failing to respond.
Ensign
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 16
# 968
01-28-2013, 09:34 AM
Switched from timed out error, to big blank white screen for the launcher saying 'Loading please wait"
Former PWE Community Team Lead
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 9,047
# 969
01-28-2013, 09:34 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by nandospc View Post
Any update Brandon?
The team is continuing to investigate. There are tons of players in-game, and tons more loading in, so it's not affecting everyone.

Cheers,

Brandon =/\=
Brandon "BranFlakes" Felczer | Former Community Team Lead for Perfect World Entertainment
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 155
# 970
01-28-2013, 09:34 AM
All I get is the white "Loading...please wait" screen...IF I get a handshake from the server at all.

Last edited by sharyssa; 01-28-2013 at 09:39 AM.
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:46 AM.