Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 1 Where's the Bridge?
12-30-2011, 09:17 AM
Hello everyone.

I am a new player and have just begun my first MMORPG ever. Normally, I stick with single-player games because I don't want to run into BIG EGO's that I hear populate online multiplayer arenas.

So I have logged about six hours in STO and completed my first two missions.

It is pretty fun and glad I chose this game as my first.

I am still learning controls and have gotten lost in the starbase a few times. But I do have some questions that I cannot find in the manual and was hoping for some help.

1. Where/how can I get to the Bridge of my ship? I would like to see the interior and navigate from this screen, kinda like Bridge Commander. Is this even an option? I figure if I can walk around a starbase, that I should be able to walk around my ship.

2. Not only have I gotten lost in a starbase, but also looking for that freighter that was missing. The Chief gave the coordinates and I beamed up to my ship. I pressed M to bring up the chart and I could not see where I was to go or how to get there. Is there something on the screen that Iam missing which tells me whete to go? In the list of places in the chart, is the one where I am supposed to go different in some way, like a different color?

Thats about all I have for now. I really do like this game. I hope the more I play the less I have to read through the manual.

Thanks for any help that you can offer.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 2
12-30-2011, 09:36 AM
The Bridge, If you run down to the River and look around there should be...Ah That one,

The Drop Arrow in the Lower Right Corner of the Mini Map. Only Accessible when in Sector? Space, I think.

Note Added: You can not navigate from there.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 3
12-30-2011, 09:59 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by cbrown119 View Post
2. Not only have I gotten lost in a starbase, but also looking for that freighter that was missing. The Chief gave the coordinates and I beamed up to my ship. I pressed M to bring up the chart and I could not see where I was to go or how to get there. Is there something on the screen that Iam missing which tells me whete to go? In the list of places in the chart, is the one where I am supposed to go different in some way, like a different color?
The SS Azura is in sector space. So, from starbase, beam up to your ship. You will now be in 'Sol' system. From here, click the galaxy symbol at the upper left of your minimap. This will warp you to Sector space - Sirius Sector specifically. Head south, and you should find the SS Azura.

Oh, and welcome to STO.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 4
12-30-2011, 11:21 AM
Thanks!

I take it that there aren't bridges standard in the game. I was looking around the C-store and found, well besides my free TOS Enterprise, BRIDGES! No, not the ones crossing rivers.

How would these work?
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 5
12-30-2011, 11:38 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by cbrown119 View Post
Thanks!

I take it that there aren't bridges standard in the game. I was looking around the C-store and found, well besides my free TOS Enterprise, BRIDGES! No, not the ones crossing rivers.

How would these work?
Bridges and the rest of you ship interior are a private instance you can zone into. In the MMORPG venacular they are player housing. You can customize your Ready Room and Crew Lounge areas. Just move to the customize areas and there will be a button on the lower right of the game to Customize Area.

You can also invite other player onto your ship. It doesn't matter where they are (or which faction they belong to.)

You can go to your ship interior aka Visit the Bridge from any location except from a mission map. To Visit your bridge click on the down pointing arrow at the lower right corner of your mini-map. From the drop down menu select "Visit the Bridge". You will be prompt if you want to tevel to your bridge. Click on yes, and you will be zone into your bridge populated with your Bridge Officers.

You can select a different Bridge and Ship Interior layout by using a Customize Bridge vendors in a Ship Yard. When you enter the ship customizer screen there will be a button to Change your bridge. That will open up a window which has all of the possible bridges that you select from (and/or buy if you wish). There is another tab on that window which allows you select the interior layout of your ships (Small, Medium or Large). Changing your Bridge or Inteior layout will cost 1000 Energy Credits each.

And Welcome to the Game.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 6
12-30-2011, 11:39 AM
There are a few bridge options besides those in the C$tore. When you refit/costume your ship there are a few free options too.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 7
12-30-2011, 11:40 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by cbrown119 View Post
Thanks!

I take it that there aren't bridges standard in the game. I was looking around the C-store and found, well besides my free TOS Enterprise, BRIDGES! No, not the ones crossing rivers.

How would these work?
There are several bridges you can customize your ship with, though earlier ships have more limited choices. To get to your bridge, click the button that looks like a triangle on the bottom right corner of your minimap, and choose the option to visit your bridge.

You can walk around your bridge, and indeed visit the other areas of your ship like main engineering, the transporter room, sickbay, the mess hall, and so on.

STO isn't Bridge Commander though, you can't pilot your ship like that. While it's certainly a fun way to do it, Bridge Commander is a different game and not a direction STO went in with ship interiors, and would take an enormous amount of work to implement from a programming perspective, so I wouldn't ever expect that to happen.

There are many choices for free bridges that you don't have to buy in the C-Store, though again, some of them you won't have access to depending on the ship you are flying. (ie: Some are cruisers only, for example, and some are for the later ships you will get.)
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 8
12-30-2011, 11:46 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by ainu
[sni]...
There are many choices for free bridges that you don't have to buy in the C-Store, though again, some of them you won't have access to depending on the ship you are flying. (ie: Some are cruisers only, for example, and some are for the later ships you will get.)
But you aren't limit as to which bridge you can select for your ship. If you want to put a Star Cruiser bridge on your Defiant, you can to do. Of you can put The Original Series bridge (and interior) on a Galaxy Class cruiser. You can choice whatever bridge and ship layout you want.

(Well there are/will be certain limit. Like you there is only one interior choice for the TOS bridge)
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 9
12-30-2011, 11:52 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by fuzun View Post
But you aren't limit as to which bridge you can select for your ship. If you want to put a Star Cruiser bridge on your Defiant, you can to do. Of you can put The Original Series bridge (and interior) on a Galaxy Class cruiser. You can choice whatever bridge and ship layout you want.

(Well there are/will be certain limit. Like you there is only one interior choice for the TOS bridge)
No, some bridge choices simply don't show up for certain ships. In fact, I don't think the free Defiant type bridges show up at all if you're in a Star Cruiser. Nor do I ever remember being able to chose one of the Galaxy looking type bridges for my escorts. I'm not sure your example of a Star Cruiser bridge on my Defiant is even possible.

Go ahead, try picking the 'Classic' bridge on your Escort (the free one that's similar to the Enterprise-D bridge). Or try picking the free 'Defiant' bridge for a cruiser. Or try picking either bridge on a Miranda. This isn't new thing either, it's always been like this.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 10
12-30-2011, 02:05 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by ainu
No, some bridge choices simply don't show up for certain ships. In fact, I don't think the free Defiant type bridges show up at all if you're in a Star Cruiser. Nor do I ever remember being able to chose one of the Galaxy looking type bridges for my escorts. I'm not sure your example of a Star Cruiser bridge on my Defiant is even possible.

Go ahead, try picking the 'Classic' bridge on your Escort (the free one that's similar to the Enterprise-D bridge). Or try picking the free 'Defiant' bridge for a cruiser. Or try picking either bridge on a Miranda. This isn't new thing either, it's always been like this.
If they limitation exist then they are bugs. I haven't run any into any of those situations myself.
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:37 AM.