Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 71
03-08-2012, 01:09 PM
The only thing I could do to make the game playable was to revert back to the catalyst 12.1 drivers and disable AA.

******
i7 940 @ 4.4 GHz
12 GB DDR3-2000
(2) ATI 5870 video cards in crossfire and running eyefinity triple screens (5760x1080)
(6) 120 GB SSD2 drives in RAID0 array (on dedicated Areca RAID controller card)
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 72
03-08-2012, 04:25 PM
I went back to the 11.2 drives for AMD and all my graphic issues have gone away.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 73
03-10-2012, 04:41 AM
I had this issue when I updated the AMD drivers this morning.

After a bit of fiddling around, I discovered if you DISABLE AA in the STO options, all of the graphical glitches will go away.

Looked fairly terrible (so I forced AA on the Catalyst control panel) but back to being playable again.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 74
03-12-2012, 08:16 AM
I'm having a problem with far background effects (nebula mostly) flickering and closer objects being translucent/fading in as I get closer.

I'm using a Radeon 5700 1g card with 4g of system RAM. All drivers are up to date as of March 11 2012.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 75
03-18-2012, 04:14 PM
I've noticed this flickering too - glad to see I'm not alone. It's very pronounced on some random cluster maps where there's a nebula cloud in the distance and against the stark black background.

And as for the "planets filling up": first time I saw that, before I got closer and just saw the silhouette crescent of the planet I thought it looked really cool! So disappointing when I got closer and it filled in.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 76
03-19-2012, 02:56 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by echodelta26 View Post
I had this issue when I updated the AMD drivers this morning.

After a bit of fiddling around, I discovered if you DISABLE AA in the STO options, all of the graphical glitches will go away.

Looked fairly terrible (so I forced AA on the Catalyst control panel) but back to being playable again.
Could you be a bit more specific in this, what is AA in the Catalyst Control Panel >_> or where can you find it in STO options.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 77
03-20-2012, 08:32 AM
I am experiencing the same problems as everyone else. When I updated my graphics software, the textures went bad. This is the only game it has affected. I will have to stay tuned to figure out if this issue will be resolved or whether I'll have to revert back to an old update.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 78
03-20-2012, 08:57 AM
I've been having the same issue for a number of weeks or months, I'm not sure.
I'm running:

- ATI Radeon 4870 x2 in Crossfire configuration

I haven't done any GPU driver updates, and this problem seemed to spontaneously arise, as I haven't had it before.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 79
03-20-2012, 11:34 AM
once again
http://downloads.guru3d.com/AMD-Cata...load-2867.html

this driver fixed or minimized the current issues with the game, its not a driver issue per-say because I have seen it on amd and nvidia cards, something in an update was bugged, the above driver is beta, but its worked for everybody whos tried it (nobody I know has complained and nobody here whos tried it has complained)
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 80
03-21-2012, 03:24 AM
Has anyone tried the new GeForce drivers?
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:50 AM.