Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 11
01-21-2012, 08:47 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by Armsman View Post
The spontaneous power down could be indicative of an overheating issue. STO actually makes more full use of your video card hardware than most other MMOs, so you may want to see what your CPU and GPU temos are when running it.
I did notice it getting hot and there was no improper shutdown warning when I restarted. Thanks.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 12
01-21-2012, 04:06 PM
Is there a way to adjust that down to prevent the overheat issue? The graphic are nice and all but notthing to set a computer on fire over...
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 13
01-21-2012, 07:26 PM
Been getting disconnected and when I do, so does everyone on my network router. It started yesterday and has only happened when I've been playing this game. My computer isn't the hub computer for my router and I have no clue why this game is doing this. Everything is up to day and it only happens on this game. Can anyone assist me?
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 14
01-21-2012, 09:13 PM
I have this issue on a roughly weekly basis - the game is unplayable for a day or two, and later seems fine. Today is one of those days...Here is the information from the ticket I submitted (Ticket #1260075).

Here are the results of the Cryptic nettest:

Ping: 62.6 msec
Port: 80: 952 KB/sec 0 KB/sec 0 KB/sec 500
Port: 80: 966 KB/sec 0 KB/sec 0 KB/sec 500
Port: 443: 956 KB/sec 0 KB/sec 0 KB/sec 500
Port: 443: 999 KB/sec 0 KB/sec 0 KB/sec 500
Port: 7255: 968 KB/sec 0 KB/sec 0 KB/sec 500
Port: 7255: 976 KB/sec 0 KB/sec 0 KB/sec 500
Port: 7003: 993 KB/sec 0 KB/sec 0 KB/sec 500
Port: 7003: 950 KB/sec 0 KB/sec 0 KB/sec 500
Port: 7202: 1005 KB/sec 0 KB/sec 0 KB/sec 500
Port: 7202: 1010 KB/sec 0 KB/sec 0 KB/sec 500
Port: 7499: 981 KB/sec 0 KB/sec 0 KB/sec 500
Port: 7499: 952 KB/sec 0 KB/sec 0 KB/sec 500
Port: 80: 931 KB/sec 0 KB/sec 0 KB/sec 500
Idle NIC bandwidth Send: 0 KB/sec Recv: 0 KB/sec
hit return to exit


Here are the results of a tracert:

C:\Windows\system32>tracert patchserver.crypticstudios.com

Tracing route to patchserver.crypticstudios.com [208.95.185.41]
over a maximum of 30 hops:

1 2 ms 1 ms 1 ms homeportal [192.168.100.254]
2 * * * Request timed out.
3 39 ms 41 ms 40 ms 10ge0-3-2-0.cipc2-wpg.bb.allstream.net [199.212.165.117]
4 42 ms 39 ms 41 ms 10ge0-2-0.gw1-chi.bb.allstream.net [199.212.160.90]
5 38 ms 38 ms 37 ms 10ge0-2-1.gw2-chi.bb.allstream.net [199.212.160.142]
6 39 ms 38 ms 43 ms 12.89.67.241
7 41 ms 41 ms 39 ms cr83.cgcil.ip.att.net [12.123.7.14]
8 42 ms 41 ms 45 ms cr1.cgcil.ip.att.net [12.123.7.110]
9 70 ms 78 ms 47 ms cgcil03jt.ip.att.net [12.122.84.53]
10 40 ms 39 ms 40 ms 192.205.37.174
11 40 ms 41 ms 41 ms te0-0-0-1.ccr22.ord01.atlas.cogentco.com [154.54.1.97]
12 63 ms 64 ms 64 ms te0-5-0-6.ccr22.bos01.atlas.cogentco.com [154.54.45.242]
13 206 ms 201 ms 205 ms te3-2.ccr01.bos06.atlas.cogentco.com [154.54.46.130]
14 64 ms 72 ms 70 ms 38.111.40.114
15 63 ms 63 ms 63 ms 208.95.185.41

Trace complete.

I also attached a DxDiag, which indicated no problems.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 15
01-21-2012, 11:16 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by ajstoner
I am having this problem as well and it seems to be getting worse the more I play.

I have noticed that when this happens, my entire internet connection turns off and comes back on when I select my internet browser again. I have no other internet issues--this only happens with ST.
Got the same problem. And none of the 'solutions' above fixed it.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 16
01-24-2012, 09:35 AM
I have been having this problem for a few days.


tracert results:

Tracing route to patchserver.crypticstudios.com [208.95.185.41]
over a maximum of 30 hops:

1 155 ms 99 ms 101 ms BThomehub.home [192.168.1.254]
2 34 ms 34 ms 41 ms 217.32.143.129
3 251 ms 34 ms 35 ms 217.32.143.174
4 36 ms 34 ms 36 ms 213.120.181.10
5 36 ms 35 ms 34 ms 213.120.179.10
6 34 ms 34 ms 34 ms 213.120.179.178
7 36 ms 33 ms 33 ms acc1-10GigE-1-3-0.sf.21cn-ipp.bt.net [109.159.251.86]
8 47 ms 47 ms 47 ms core1-te0-0-0-6.ealing.ukcore.bt.net [109.159.251.29]
9 38 ms 39 ms 38 ms core1-pos5-0-0.telehouse.ukcore.bt.net [194.74.65.122]
10 39 ms 40 ms 39 ms t2as1-tge1-4.uk-lon1.eu.bt.net [166.49.211.141]
11 40 ms 38 ms 38 ms 166-49-211-38.eu.bt.net [166.49.211.38]
12 132 ms 132 ms 131 ms xe-1-2-0.bos11.ip4.tinet.net [89.149.183.13]
13 124 ms 141 ms 124 ms internap-gw.ip4.tinet.net [77.67.77.54]
14 124 ms 123 ms 123 ms border11.te7-1-bbnet1.bsn.pnap.net [63.251.128.41]
15 129 ms 124 ms 125 ms cryptic-3.border11.bsn.pnap.net [216.52.61.78]
16 123 ms 124 ms 122 ms 208.95.185.41

Trace complete.


nettest results:

contacting nettest server..
Local IP: 86.162.172.96
Ping: 111.1 msec
Port: 80: 141 KB/sec 7 KB/sec 151 KB/sec 500
Port: 80: 277 KB/sec 13 KB/sec 295 KB/sec 500
Port: 443: 277 KB/sec 13 KB/sec 295 KB/sec 500
Port: 443: 276 KB/sec 13 KB/sec 294 KB/sec 500
Port: 7255: 170 KB/sec 7 KB/sec 180 KB/sec 500
Port: 7255: 85 KB/sec 6 KB/sec 91 KB/sec 500
Port: 7003: 281 KB/sec 14 KB/sec 298 KB/sec 500
Port: 7003: 285 KB/sec 14 KB/sec 303 KB/sec 500
Port: 7202: 211 KB/sec 9 KB/sec 224 KB/sec 500
Port: 7202: 105 KB/sec 7 KB/sec 112 KB/sec 500
Port: 7499: 276 KB/sec 13 KB/sec 293 KB/sec 500
Port: 7499: 271 KB/sec 13 KB/sec 288 KB/sec 500
Port: 80: 286 KB/sec 14 KB/sec 304 KB/sec 500
Idle NIC bandwidth Send: 0 KB/sec Recv: 0 KB/sec
hit return to exit


Any advice would be really appreciated.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 17
01-26-2012, 11:05 PM
This problem is actually getting worse and worse. Is anything going to be done to address this or is it happening to a small enough number of us that we're being written-off? I really like this game but I NEVER buy MMO's unless they have a f2p where I can see if it actually works for this very reason. I, for one, won't even consider becoming a subscriber if the game isn't going to let me play it for more then 5 minutes 80% of the time.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 18
01-27-2012, 01:39 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by ajstoner
Is there a way to adjust that down to prevent the overheat issue? The graphic are nice and all but notthing to set a computer on fire over...
Turn down the graphics settings? Does your video card meed our minimum requirements? You've clearly got some hardware issues--maybe one of the other players has fixed such problems on their computers.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 19
01-27-2012, 04:59 AM
@Topic:

i noticed if i use the EU proxy that STO runs horribad, lots of lag and disconnects, and i AM in the EU!
if i switch proxy off it works just fine though.


Quote:
Originally Posted by ajstoner
Is there a way to adjust that down to prevent the overheat issue? The graphic are nice and all but notthing to set a computer on fire over...
#1 make sure there is sufficient airflow in your PC, clean out any dirt from you CPU + GPU fans.
#2 make sure you have Vsync active. With Vsync ON you will get the exact framerate your Monitor is able to display ( usually 60), with OFF your system will put out as many frames as possible (which means that it works more than it needs too -> less work -> less heat).

#3 if it still gets too hot, STO has options under the advanced section under troubleshooting to limit CPU/GPU usage and to only display 30 or 60 frames.

#4 play in FULLSCREEN mode, if you alt tab out of the game it only looks like it goes back to fullscreen but it stays in window mode -> window mode does not use vsync and has a bit worse performance too.


***

the most silly thing i noticed in STO is that my heat goes up the most if i stand still and read long text heavy foundry mission dialogs.


also if i do a lot of Alt + Tabbing my CPU load goes up to 100% every time i alt tab back into it, which makes my CPU temp skyrocket and the FAN go to fullspeed, just for a few seconds though.



if your system has heat propblems you can easily find out by using any stress test like Prime95 (google it)
ATI has something similar for GPU's i don't recall the name right now though...
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 20
01-28-2012, 06:30 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by ZeroniusRex
Turn down the graphics settings? Does your video card meed our minimum requirements? You've clearly got some hardware issues--maybe one of the other players has fixed such problems on their computers.
1) Have
2) It does
3) This is less obvious to me since I never have any trouble of any kind except with this game. I think a part of the trouble is the fact that Cryptic is trying to run this massive game off a single server when games with about a tenth the player population generally run half a dozen and do so for a reason...
4) I'm still looking into this and am starting to notice a certain pattern in the responses people with disconnection problems are getting
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:10 PM.