Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 11
01-20-2012, 08:46 AM
Tactical Team autorotates the shields where you're taking damage which is damn handy when you're manuevering a lot too. You want Polarize Hull as suggested above to break you out of tractors. Science team will get rid of Viral Matrix.

At that level I basically had Polarize Hull I / Engineering Team I / Tatical Team I / Tactical Team II. Cycling the two Teams to keep thei shields rotating and using batteries worked for me - the only time I had any difficulty was in Borg incursions (where I was too low level to be terribly effective but I enjoy them too much to pass up) and with the larger ships, where I'd usually have to set up successive attack passes.

Keep in mind most ships on normal difficulty won't heal up unless you "die", so attack runs are entirely viable. Their shields will regenerate of course, though, so don't take too long.

Getting the Oberth for the Enhanced Plasma Manifold is a good idea if you have the money, it is helpful with the shield disables, which are the one weakness of that particular setup.

Disclaimer: I basically have all the C-Store stuff of that level on my ship at this point as well as the RMC, so your milage may vary with a stock ship.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 12
01-20-2012, 10:13 AM
I got fed up with trying to play as tactical officer in escorts. Escorts sucks to be honest, they are good but they are also very squeeshy almost like light armor wearers casters in MMO lol. I switched to Drednaught, retrained to focus on engineering and now shield tanking anything that can fly and haven't had a problem even on Advanced level. Flying escort can be really frustrating so I know what OP is saying. You can lecture him all you want guys, but its simply obvious like a sun in the sky that flying tank with phasers is much safer and you can take much easier on much stronger opponents.

Escort with cannons was awesome, very long time ago. After they've added power everything changed and everyone is now flying a cruiser. Well majority do... Don't argue I am right .
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 13
01-20-2012, 10:19 AM
My Multi-Vector Ship Escort is having about the same kinda issue i am not sure what it is Every thing will Freeze up only way i can unfreeze it is too take one of the consoles off then back on i am not sure what the cause is but i think it needs too be checked out And when i mean every thing Freezes i mean every thing during STFS mostly when it happens it only seems too happen during that time.I am not talking about the Borg Shield drain or the Skill timer thing i am talking about the Ship it self i think there might be a Task Bar bug going around and when i mean all my stuff freezes it will freeze up weapons as well

my weapons will shoot multi torpedo's there will be like 50 torpedo's shooting at the borg sphere but no damage is being done.even with beams and cannons are all so acting up.Lately.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 14
01-20-2012, 10:43 AM
What you describe is usually a result of lost packets in the connection, or as I've noticed, more the upstream packets getting dropped. So you're sending the packet that says "I fire at the ship" and it gets received, but you're not receiving the packet saying "you did X damage".

All in all Cryptic really needs to re-examine their network infrastructure and coding.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 15
01-20-2012, 11:04 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by CaitiVoltaire View Post
... All in all Cryptic really needs to re-examine their network infrastructure and coding.
Though in reality, once the packet passes the local server farm gateway, the network infrastructure is outside the control and responsibity of Cryptic and the responsible party belongs somewhere else ... (This is what's called THE INTERNET, does Cryptic own or maintains THE INTERNET???)

The only thing that can really be done is during the periods you're suffering from the issue, run the network connection diagnostics to try to pinpoint where the bottleneck is...

http://forums.startrekonline.com/sho...d.php?t=225155
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 16
01-20-2012, 11:06 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by Grouchy.Otaku
Though in reality, once the packet passes the local server farm gateway, the network infrastructure is outside the control and responsibity of Cryptic and the responsible party belongs somewhere else ... (This is what's called THE INTERNET, does Cryptic own or maintains THE INTERNET???)]
They control who their ISP is. And their ISP is a poor one.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 17
01-20-2012, 11:08 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by CaitiVoltaire View Post
They control who their ISP is. And their ISP is a poor one.
And your evidence for this is???

(And its unlikly to be their gateway, since I do not suffer any such lag or delay problems with my Comcast High Speed Cable connection...)
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 18
01-20-2012, 11:14 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by Grouchy.Otaku
And your evidence for this is???

(And its unlikly to be their gateway, since I do not suffer any such lag or delay problems with my Comcast High Speed Cable connection...)
The entirety of the Champions Online tech support forums, basically, seeing as they have seem to have crappy routing to the entirety of Europe. That's **** I'd expect from a 1980's mud, not a MMORPG in 2012. And damn it, now I feel old.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 19
01-20-2012, 11:35 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by CaitiVoltaire View Post
The entirety of the Champions Online tech support forums, basically, seeing as they have seem to have crappy routing to the entirety of Europe. That's **** I'd expect from a 1980's mud, not a MMORPG in 2012. And damn it, now I feel old.
Ah, so you're now saying its NOT the ISP that Cryptic uses, as they are not responsible for the trans-oceanic cable links....
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 20
01-20-2012, 11:49 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by Grouchy.Otaku
Ah, so you're now saying its NOT the ISP that Cryptic uses, as they are not responsible for the trans-oceanic cable links....
No, just how they route the packets and which links they choose to use.
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:06 PM.