Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 41
02-20-2012, 12:35 AM
Burn in Test Pro -- basic test. 15 minutes testing CPU, memory, etc.

No errors. Ignore the "test failed" message; the optical drive was the only 'failure' & pretty irrelevant (no disc in the drive)... Other than that no *immediately apparent* problems.

Will run other specific tests as time permits. Okay, did 15 min memory & video tests. No overt errors.

~MG
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 42
02-20-2012, 06:54 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by MGmirkin
I'm going to cut you off there, in a good way and offer an apology. I can admit when I'm in the wrong...

-10 to me for that one. Sorry... *"Reading for comprehension" irony duly noted...* D'oh! *facepalm*

My bad, as they say... Didn't mean to level any vituperations at you, Rising. & sorry for not noticing the confusion earlier. *sigh* Will be more diligent in the future...

Anywho, hopefully we can all get along long enough to figure out what the issue is.
No problem

So I did this, completed a fresh install of the OS again, reinstalled STO this time via DISK, made sure AV was turned off, verified all hardware was good and no infections, and was working great, at least untill I got on that Ferengi Station and the second I zoned in, poof. Then I thought, hmm could it have anything to do that I have it running in the highest quality. So I rebooted, turned off AV, verified files, and turned the visuals ALL the way to performance, minimal quality. And the second I beamed aboard the station poof down again. Obviously something isnt right. I have done my due dilligence and checked everything, sent the Devs the documentation that they requested and we have yet to hear from them. I am guessing since they didnt immediately go, oh your computer is messed up here, that there is something wrong, and they are working on a patch. Thats just a guess. But frustrated that I cant play now.

Come on Devs! PLEASE FIX THIS!!!! Or help us some way
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 43
02-20-2012, 07:30 PM
Now out of previous 'bad' experiences with computer systems, I have had the misfortune of having a hard-disk fail within the first month of purchase... (rare, but it happens, so don't assume that since your system is new, it can't be the hardware.... I made that mistake once...) And the initial errors were intermittent and unreproducible (at first...)

I've also had the misfortune of the same kind of symptoms occurring on another system... The eventual cause was found to be a drive cable that had worked itself loose (probably from the constant thermal expansion/contraction from system cycling)... And another system had the same symptoms caused by PCI card that wasn't properly seated in its socket... (as you can tell, I've gotten into the bad habit of building my own system, and you can only learn these things through experience...)

So tell me, have you really really checked everything??? (And the fact that STO is played by thousands of people every day without issue seems to imply something...)
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 44
02-20-2012, 08:24 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by Grouchy.Otaku

So tell me, have you really really checked everything??? (And the fact that STO is played by thousands of people every day without issue seems to imply something...)
If you look at my before mentioned posts you will see that I have checked for hard drive issues and confirmed that none exist. Done both a smartCTL scan, Chkdsk -f, and reviewed event logs. No disk or NTFS errors, no surface or disk failure detected, SMART report indicated healthy drive. Do not take this as being rude or anything, just repeating it for you. I have mentioned I have done this check in an earlier post though. I understand the reason for the question as I too have gotten faulty drives out of the box. But I did check for that. I cant seem to find a cause that could be my system that is causing this. I did have a bad RAM DIMM but I removed the offending DIMM and tried again after doing a follow up MEMTEST (took for ever on 12GB RAM) and I still got the same error.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 45
02-20-2012, 08:27 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by Risingmyst
I do, the problem is not the Hard Disk Drive as I confirmed with both SmartCTL and did a ChkDsk and reviewed all event logs in the past 5 months. The hard drive is fine. I have done everything to attempt to resolve this issue with the Decompression error (by the way means the file failed to unpack and load). I have even did a clean install of Window7 Ultimate x64. Oddly this error didnt occur until the last patch. I also uninstalled and reinstalled STO 4 times with no resolution. I also checked all my drivers and confirmed system is infection free ( I work as a virus removal specialist).

This error seems to be random in nature as it doesnt matter where I am or what I am doing, the error can happen either in loading the game, or in the middle. The first times it happened occured when I was customizing either a characters uniform, or customizing my new ship. Before you keep spouting it must be your hard drive look to what I said, SmartCTL and Chkdsk as well as Windows Event Logs all discredit that opinion as no issues are found with the disk drive, no corruption, no disk errors, no bad sectors, no disk surface issues.

Now since hardware has been ruled out and virus issue is not the cause, and the fact that the game worked perfectly before the most recent update on the 16th of Febuary, can we please find a way to resolve this?

Current hardware specs: ALL NEW COMPONENTS: Asus 990FX Crosshair V mobo, 16GB GSkill DDR3 1600 RAM, AMD FX 8150 x8 3.6GHz CPU, TWO HIS 6950 2GB GDDR5 each card Crossfired, WD Caviar Green 1TB 7200RPM SATA6 HDD, WD Caviar Black 500GB 7200RPM SATA6 HDD, HAF X Case.
Here is that quote from Page 2 of this forum link.. I am so bummed that I cant play STO to the fullest extent. Its completely random when this error occurs :'(
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 46
02-20-2012, 11:47 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by Risingmyst
If you look at my before mentioned posts you will see that I have checked for hard drive issues and confirmed that none exist. Done both a smartCTL scan, Chkdsk -f, and reviewed event logs. No disk or NTFS errors, no surface or disk failure detected, SMART report indicated healthy drive. Do not take this as being rude or anything, just repeating it for you. I have mentioned I have done this check in an earlier post though. I understand the reason for the question as I too have gotten faulty drives out of the box. But I did check for that. I cant seem to find a cause that could be my system that is causing this. I did have a bad RAM DIMM but I removed the offending DIMM and tried again after doing a follow up MEMTEST (took for ever on 12GB RAM) and I still got the same error.
And did you check to see if all the cards and connections are firmly seated??? (And its best to unplug the machine and wait at least 10 seconds for the power to dissipate before doing this...) I've seen cards work loose during shipment to the home...
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 47
02-21-2012, 03:55 PM
Since yesterday I can not launch the game. I get to the launcher and then press launch, and it gets stuck on the cryptic part and then crashes and says fatal error: unable to initialize on-demand patching and connect to patch server: the connection was idle for to long. any ideas??? Game has run fine since launch and I have not changed any thing on my pc.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 48
02-21-2012, 05:29 PM
I figured it out guys!!!!!

What you have to do is this. Open your STO folder location, open the live folder. For win7 is this

c:\users\public\games\Cryptic Studios\Star Trek Online\Live\piggs

Delete all the Texture.hogg files

Then make sure your AV is either disabled or you have set an exception for STO in it and set STO Launcher to force verify and then patch.

Fixed the issue right away for me!!!
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 49
02-21-2012, 05:31 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by STO123456789
Since yesterday I can not launch the game. I get to the launcher and then press launch, and it gets stuck on the cryptic part and then crashes and says fatal error: unable to initialize on-demand patching and connect to patch server: the connection was idle for to long. any ideas??? Game has run fine since launch and I have not changed any thing on my pc.
Sounds like you're having network issues, either the router has something set that is causing the problem, it could also be caused by Windows Firewall, your AV could have been updated and is now blocking STO, or you need to call your ISP.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 50
02-21-2012, 05:34 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by Risingmyst
I figured it out guys!!!!!

What you have to do is this. Open your STO folder location, open the live folder. For win7 is this

c:\users\public\games\Cryptic Studios\Star Trek Online\Live\piggs

Delete all the Texture.hogg files

Then make sure your AV is either disabled or you have set an exception for STO in it and set STO Launcher to force verify and then patch.

Fixed the issue right away for me!!!
I finally proved it was nothing to do with hardware or AV. Seems that at some point the files get corrupted or due to a patch the file doesnt unpack correctly. This seems to be re-occuring based on what I read in other stickys. Seems to have been an issue since STO launched the game. My guess is when the patch upgrades one of the texture.hogg files, the file is no longer stable as old data and new data are not combining correctly. In removing the file completely and forcing the patcher to force verfiy, you get the whole new file instead of a upgraded one.
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:53 PM.