Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 1 Crashes when clicking on login
01-21-2012, 04:29 PM
I've downloaded ST:O installed it, and whenever I click on the login button the program instantly crashes. No pause, no thinking, nothing just instant crash.

Kinda pathetic really! What idiot writes a client that crashes just because a user clicks on the login button?

Virus security has been disabled.
Firewalls have been disabled.
I've booted with as little background software as possible.

AMD processor is core unlocked (sempron 2.8) to AMD 4400e
(I have relocked core as well, it makes no difference).

My DXDIAG file is attached.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 2
01-23-2012, 08:40 AM
No official support, no community support, and a client that doesn't even login without instantly crashing.

Gosh it's hard to see why this ***** had to go free to play. Clearly cryptic are totally incompetent.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 3
01-23-2012, 09:00 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by SlicedPeaches
No official support, no community support, and a client that doesn't even login without instantly crashing.

Gosh it's hard to see why this ***** had to go free to play. Clearly cryptic are totally incompetent.
try reinstalling Direct X and the latest vid drivers, thats how I solved my issue
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 4
01-23-2012, 11:09 AM
If you don't a reply on the forums, send in a ticket to customer or tech support. It is what we are here for and you are guaranteed to have your ticket read

Please send in a ticket to Tech Support with the following information so we can try to figure this out for you.

It'll be helpful to us if you tell us some of your computer's information, and include any screenshots of any bugs or errors that you get.

1) What is the make and model number of your computer?

2) Please also tell us whether you are running a 32bit or 64bit version of Windows. You can find out in Windows by going here: Start > Control Panel > System & Maintenance > System. Then look under System > System Type. It will then display 32bit Operating System or 64bit Operating System. Include that info with the info we ask for below.

3) To create a dxdiag log, go to Start, click on Run, then type in dxdiag and press Enter. Click on Save All Information as a text file (on your Desktop as an example.
If you are using Vista or 7, go to the Start Menu, click on the Search menu and type dxdiag.exe.

4) Attach the dxdiag.txt that you save to your reply to us.

If you have a 64bit system, please click on the 64bit Dxdiag/DirectX button to save the correct log file.

This is important so that we can do our best to help you.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 5
01-23-2012, 05:27 PM
I experienced the same issue but was able to fix it by just re-installing the game itself.
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:13 AM.