Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 1 Vertex Shader
01-24-2012, 10:23 AM
Hi guys,

First time poster, short time reader. *My main issue seems to be the Vertex Shader. *The game will not even load past the login screen because of this. *I get an error and it all goes away save for that little ticket window. *

I started playing the day of or after the game went free to play. *Space battles were pretty ok, but the ground battles were lagged a great deal, so I decided to finally buy a video card. *That's when things got weird. *

Computer:
Type: E-machines T3422
Processor: 3 gig Celeron
Ram: 2 gigs DDR2
ATI Express 200 (built in to motherboard)

This ran the game as stated earlier and got me to Lieutenant 2, I believe. *Then I found a video card compatible with my machine.

New Video Card: ATI Radeon Stealth, 256 RAM, PCI card.

Man did I have a hell of a time getting that installed, only not to have the game work. *I believe I started to install it this past Thursday or Friday. *Probably Thursday. *After a long mess of things that happened, I finally got the card to work. *I logged in, it started patching, and then the vertex prompt appeared and I got nuthin. *On Sunday, I reinstalled my entire Operating System (Win XP Home) and did all the patches from windows (running SP3). *Re-installed the game and got the same display message. *I've been googling Vertex shaders and pixel shaders and not really coming up with anything that can help or give me a DL of it. *Thus far, nothing I've tried has worked. *Even some of the suggestions given on these forums have not worked, though I haven't tried the hogs thing yet. *I even obtained an install disk of STO that I tried out yesterday. *It installed without a hitch, then did the 4000+ megabyte upgrade and then the 15-20 patch. *And I still ended up with the same error. *Oh and I'm also running Direct X 9.0.c(?) or whatever the most recent is for that version. *

So. *I now humbly ask for help so I can get back to my ship and crew.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 2
01-24-2012, 07:03 PM
my info from dxdiag. I also tried the .hog thing to no avail.


------------------
System Information
------------------
Time of this report: 1/24/2012, 21:44:59
Machine name: MJOLNIR1701
Operating System: Windows XP Home Edition (5.1, Build 2600) Service Pack 3 (2600.xpsp_sp3_gdr.111025-1629)
Language: English (Regional Setting: English)
System Manufacturer: Gateway
System Model: T3422
BIOS: Phoenix - Award BIOS v6.00PG
Processor: Intel(R) Celeron(R) CPU 3.06GHz
Memory: 1918MB RAM
Page File: 798MB used, 3012MB available
Windows Dir: C:\WINDOWS
DirectX Version: DirectX 9.0c (4.09.0000.0904)
DX Setup Parameters: Not found
DxDiag Version: 5.03.2600.5512 32bit Unicode

Card name: RADEON 9250
Manufacturer: ATI Technologies Inc.
Chip type: RADEON 9250 (0x5960)
DAC type: Internal DAC(400MHz)
Device Key: Enum\PCI\VEN_1002&DEV_5960&SUBSYS_01601092&REV_01
Display Memory: 256.0 MB
Current Mode: 1024 x 768 (32 bit) (60Hz)
Monitor: Plug and Play Monitor
Monitor Max Res: 1600,1200
Driver Name: ati2dvag.dll
Driver Version: 6.14.0010.6614 (English)
DDI Version: 9 (or higher)
Driver Attributes: Final Retail
Driver Date/Size: 5/3/2006 11:51:00, 258048 bytes
WHQL Logo'd: Yes
WHQL Date Stamp: n/a
VDD: n/a
Mini VDD: ati2mtag.sys
Mini VDD Date: 5/3/2006 11:50:42, 1540608 bytes
Device Identifier: {D7B71EE2-1A20-11CF-F46A-6A21A0C2CB35}
Vendor ID: 0x1002
Device ID: 0x5960
SubSys ID: 0x01601092
Revision ID: 0x0001
Revision ID: 0x0001
Video Accel:
Deinterlace Caps: n/a
Registry: OK
DDraw Status: Enabled
D3D Status: Enabled
AGP Status: Not Available
DDraw Test Result: Not run
D3D7 Test Result: Not run
D3D8 Test Result: Not run
D3D9 Test Result: Not run
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 3
01-24-2012, 07:15 PM
Ticket #11475241. that is the most recent as of a few minutes ago and includes the new code(?) of

Gathering system specs...done. (0.17)
CPU: 3066 Mhz (1/1 cores) / RAM: 1918 MBs (1158 free) / Video Card: RADEON 9250
/ Driver Ver: 6.14.10.399 / UserVA: 2.0GB / OS Ver: 5.1.2600 / VidMem: 128 MBs /
D3D11: Unknown
Acceptable video card driver

UtilitiesLib startup... done. (0.01)
Creating primary rendering device (Direct3D9)...Vertex shader creation FAILED -
D3DERR_INVALIDCALLVertex shader creation FAILED - D3DERR_INVALIDCALLVertex shade
r creation FAILED - D3DERR_INVALIDCALL
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 4
01-24-2012, 07:27 PM
The error message I see for the crash you cited is "Unable to create DirectX render device! One of the following may help you resolve this issue: restart your computer, ensure your video drivers are up to date, contact technical support."

It really sounds like there's a problem with your system. As far as I can tell, your graphics card falls well below the minimum supported specs.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 5
01-24-2012, 08:38 PM
Dude, your replacement card is SIGNIFICANTLY older than the one built in to your motherboard. You're better off going back to the old one.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 6
01-24-2012, 11:26 PM
Itīs a small miracle you even ran the game. This 5+ year old rig looks like itīs barely fit to run a browser.
Hint: Never buy Gateway and their propriatery crap ever again.
Theyīre like Apple only uglier and (hard to believe) even more crap.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 7
01-25-2012, 06:24 AM
It's an E-Machines, not a Gateway...and the problem isn't that it's proprietary; it's that it's ancient.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 8
01-25-2012, 07:49 PM
You have a video card that was made I don't know when, but its last driver update was in 2006. That's well before STO was released. It should be no surprise that you can't run STO with it.

If you need help building a new computer, send me a PM with your budget requirements and zip code, and I'll see what I can find as far as pricing goes.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 9
01-25-2012, 08:28 PM
oh wow, I had no idea that the 9250 was inferior to the hardwired onboard xpress 200. *facepalm* I've had the computer for about 7 years and it still runs perfectly. the video card (according to the box) came out around the time of the tower (if i remember correctly) or after so i thought i had a good deal on the vid card when I picked it up at Staples last week. Clearly I PHAYLE. I've gone through -hell- over the last week trying to get everything to work including reinstalling the OS. damn, I'm not even sure i can return the card at this point. Upgrading my tower or buying a new one is definitely not an option. a new video card...maybe. as long as it's inexpensive. the STO ATI sys req card is like fifty on ebay. I might be able to swing that next week.

Thank you everyone for your feedback, i really appreciate it.

EDIT: yeah, just looked at the auctions and that minimum requisite card is PCI-E, which my mother board does not have. oh well. Thank you again everyone!
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:41 AM.