Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 1 Crash on video settings change
01-06-2012, 11:36 AM
Hi all, i'm having a weird problem.
I played until some months ago when money issues stopped me from being able to keep paying (around june iirc). I started again yesterday thanks to the early ftp access. I'm having a weird problem though: the game starts in windowed mode to a lower resolution that what i used to have, and every change i try causes the game to stop responding - forcing me to terminate it with the task manager. If i lower the graphic settings the game runs for a couple of seconds with weird artifacts and flashing, then dies. If i try tu put it into fullscreen or windows maximized it goes similar: a couple of seconds of working, then freeze.
I've been told the problem could have been caused by win7 desktop widgets, but removing them didn't fix it. I've also tried to run the game client in admin mode but again, the problem persists.
Any help would be welcome pretty please, i've been wanting to see the duty officer system and the new stuff for months now
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 2
01-06-2012, 02:16 PM
I am having a similar problem.

Reinstalled the game via the original DVD, let it go thru the patching process.

Everything is as I left it apart from screen resolution. But that is to be expected as Screen Res is stored in the user.ini files on the users PC.

I go into the Games' Options>Graphics to adjust
No matter where I click or what I click, the game Minimizes to Taskbar
Even trying to Apply, Cancel or click X kicks the game to the taskbar

The only way out is Ctrl-Alt-Del and close program via Task Manager

Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 3
01-07-2012, 10:40 AM
i got same problem as well ! it crash to desktop when change size and stuff !

no points playing 800x600

someone fix it !
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 4
01-08-2012, 03:41 PM
:\ anyone knows anything? Can it be fixed? is it a known issue?
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 5
01-08-2012, 05:25 PM
For some reason, mine seems to have sorted out.

I went back into options after changing Res to my settings. had to ctrl-alt-del out
But next login I was able to change more stuff

Set the View to Fullscreen.
The screen blinked a cpl of times then I was able to click all available options
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 6
01-08-2012, 10:48 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by Indy_UKCM
For some reason, mine seems to have sorted out.

I went back into options after changing Res to my settings. had to ctrl-alt-del out
But next login I was able to change more stuff

Set the View to Fullscreen.
The screen blinked a cpl of times then I was able to click all available options
lucky you i tried again now, same outcome. Small and windowed and unplayable -> works. I try to set it to fullscreen or windowed maximized -> dies
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 7
01-09-2012, 01:43 AM
Are your Video cards up too date.And are you sure your video card can handle the game.

http://www.startrekonline.com/node/494
System Requirements

* OS: Windows XP SP2 / Windows Vista / Windows 7 (32 or 64-bit)
* CPU: Intel Core 2 Duo 1.8 Ghz or AMD Athlon X2 3800+
* Memory: 1GB RAM
* Video: NVIDIA GeForce 7950 / ATI Radeon X1800 / Intel HD Graphics
* Sound: DirectX 9.0c Compatible Soundcard
* DirectX: Version 9.0c or Higher
* HDD: 8GB Free Disk Space
* Network: Internet Broadband Connection Required
* Disc: 6X DVD-ROM

Recommended System Configuration

* OS: Windows XP SP2 / Windows Vista / Windows 7 (32 or 64-bit)
* CPU: Intel E8400 Core 2 Duo or AMD Athlon X2 5600+
* Memory: 2GB RAM+
* Video: NVIDIA GeForce 8800 / ATI Radeon HD 3850+
* Sound: DirectX 9.0c Compatible Soundcard
* DirectX: Version 9.0c or Higher
* HDD: 8GB Free Disk Space
* Network: Internet Broadband Connection Required
* Disc: 6X DVD-ROM
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 8
01-09-2012, 01:46 AM
The Lowest Low end card i have works and plays the game just fine.So if you got any thing lower then that i would say your maxing out your video card.on the low settings.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 9
01-09-2012, 05:10 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by Xcom46 View Post
The Lowest Low end card i have works and plays the game just fine.So if you got any thing lower then that i would say your maxing out your video card.on the low settings.
Hi, thanks for the reply. As i said i played until some months ago and i can launch the game with no problems, my drivers are up to date and my video card is well over minimum spec (and recommanded too i think). While windowed the game can run smoothly at the fixed almost-maximum quality settings. The problem is when i try to change them (as that resolution is too small for me to actually be able to play the game) : in that situation, the game hangs every time.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 10
01-09-2012, 06:03 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by Xcom46 View Post
Are your Video cards up too date.And are you sure your video card can handle the game.

http://www.startrekonline.com/node/494
System Requirements

* OS: Windows XP SP2 / Windows Vista / Windows 7 (32 or 64-bit)
* CPU: Intel Core 2 Duo 1.8 Ghz or AMD Athlon X2 3800+
* Memory: 1GB RAM
* Video: NVIDIA GeForce 7950 / ATI Radeon X1800 / Intel HD Graphics
* Sound: DirectX 9.0c Compatible Soundcard
* DirectX: Version 9.0c or Higher
* HDD: 8GB Free Disk Space
* Network: Internet Broadband Connection Required
* Disc: 6X DVD-ROM

Recommended System Configuration

* OS: Windows XP SP2 / Windows Vista / Windows 7 (32 or 64-bit)
* CPU: Intel E8400 Core 2 Duo or AMD Athlon X2 5600+
* Memory: 2GB RAM+
* Video: NVIDIA GeForce 8800 / ATI Radeon HD 3850+
* Sound: DirectX 9.0c Compatible Soundcard
* DirectX: Version 9.0c or Higher
* HDD: 8GB Free Disk Space
* Network: Internet Broadband Connection Required
* Disc: 6X DVD-ROM

My Specs ===
Haf-X Case
Gigabyte 890FX-A UD7 Mobo
Phenom X-II 1100T 3.3Ghz 6-Core Black Edition
Corsair HD70 Liquid Cooling System
16g DDR3 1600 RAM
Radeon HD6970 2gb DDR5 Ram
Win 7 Ult 64bit
2x 60g OCZ SSD (in Raid0)
2x 500gb IDE
2x 2TB SATA 6GB/s
WEI = 7.8

My system will run majoruty of all modern games
Pity it wont run most of older games due to conflucts with Win 7
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:46 PM.