Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
OK, this is crazy. I keep crashing when playing. It happens mostly when zoning but can also happen randomly during gameplay. The strange thing is when it happens it somehow affects my modem too. To the point where it reboots. I am running windows 7 64 bit on an ATI 5770. I have the latest drievers,ect. I really want to try this game out but if this is the stability I can expect while playing I'm going to have to uninstall.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 2
01-27-2012, 12:08 PM
I'm having a similar problem, every time i try to zone into a mission or new sector, game disconnects and resets my internet, thought it might be an issue here or there but nothing seems to work. It's getting completely frustrating that I can't even PLAY the game now. The Support page tells me nothing that could help.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 3
01-27-2012, 12:53 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by cyberpkseven
OK, this is crazy. I keep crashing when playing. It happens mostly when zoning but can also happen randomly during gameplay. The strange thing is when it happens it somehow affects my modem too. To the point where it reboots. I am running windows 7 64 bit on an ATI 5770. I have the latest drievers,ect. I really want to try this game out but if this is the stability I can expect while playing I'm going to have to uninstall.
Make sure your network adapter drivers are updated.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 4
01-27-2012, 07:46 PM
I am also having this problem. Which is sad because another game debilitating problem just went away a few hours ago. Now STO greets me with a NEW MFCKIN problem that stops me from playing the game!

Here's my NETTEST:

contacting nettest server..
Local IP: 76.105.80.146
Ping: 54.6 msec
Port: 80: 942 KB/sec 31 KB/sec 994 KB/sec 500
Port: 80: 440 KB/sec 15 KB/sec 463 KB/sec 500
Port: 443: 738 KB/sec 25 KB/sec 779 KB/sec 500
Port: 443: 868 KB/sec 29 KB/sec 915 KB/sec 500
Port: 7255: 609 KB/sec 21 KB/sec 642 KB/sec 500
Port: 7255: 691 KB/sec 23 KB/sec 728 KB/sec 500
Port: 7003: 919 KB/sec 31 KB/sec 970 KB/sec 500
Port: 7003: 624 KB/sec 21 KB/sec 659 KB/sec 500
Port: 7202: 789 KB/sec 28 KB/sec 839 KB/sec 500
Port: 7202: 651 KB/sec 22 KB/sec 686 KB/sec 500
Port: 7499: 683 KB/sec 23 KB/sec 721 KB/sec 500
Port: 7499: 809 KB/sec 26 KB/sec 853 KB/sec 500
Port: 80: 779 KB/sec 26 KB/sec 822 KB/sec 500
Idle NIC bandwidth Send: 0 KB/sec Recv: 0 KB/sec
hit return to exit

I am having high latecy issues also but in-game, for the few minutes that it doesn't disconnect and crash my network, the game seems to work without rubberbanding.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 5
01-28-2012, 09:36 AM
Scan for rootkits or spyware with your antivirus software. Try to install the original internet driver from your motherboard's CD even if it is an older version. Always worked for me.
Also if you are using XP SP 3 and Zone Alarm Pro Firewall be warned that there is a KB update from Microsoft which conflict that firewall with that KB security update (i forgot which one ,anyway its a kb 9xxxxx old update) causing to crash the internet connection even the connection to be removed due to broken/crash driven .

Or, Microsoft has updates to the older internet driver but sometimes leads to crash even deleting any connection established due to a bug or crash. In this case i suggest do not update the driver and use the original one.

If you cant see anymore the internet driver on the CD listed on auto run splash, go to explore the dvd unit and try to remove and reinstall the driver. (I had few times that "GHOSTLY" dissapearing bug and couldnt see it anymore on spalsh cd install and i had to explore the DVD unit.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 6
01-28-2012, 07:51 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by ZeroniusRex
Make sure your network adapter drivers are updated.
What next? He said his drivers were updated, as are mine. Perhaps you can give a few different things to try.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 7
01-28-2012, 09:07 PM
Oddly everything seems to be fine now. All lights are green. I can't put my finger on anything one thing I did that might have fixed all my STO related problems but try playing the game in safe-mode, also try reseting your router and modem and by reset I mean unplug and plug it back in again. Even though Tracert and NetTest says I have latency issues still the game runs fine now for some odd reason.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 8
01-29-2012, 11:49 AM
I have the same problem. My internet is 100% fine. Every other game and website I visit gives me no problems however whenever I log into STO after about 5 minutes my whole internet crashes.

I lose complete internet access for about 3 minutes and then everything comes back as if nothing happened. This happens every time without fail. What is going on?

As a player who started at the original release and left the game months ago because of numerous issues this doesn't impress me very much...
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 9
03-13-2012, 04:10 PM
Im having the same issue still, in fact I ahve been having the same issue since january. i sent a ticket in and never heard back. i have road runner for Time Warner, ther going to come out this Friday with a new modem, as i reproduced the modem reset while on the phone with them. It happens every time I zone or Beam up and down no matter which PC im using, and I know beyond a doubt that my netcards are up t date; the desktops two weeks old. my netttest looks about the same as the one posted above, so there should be no issue, and if I stay in one place, everything else works fine. The modem is:

Netgear, model CDG24G
Standard Specification Compliant DOCSIS 2.0
Hardware Version c104
Software Version V4.4.2.2R06.2-RG

im going to see if they can swap it, of course they refuse to tell me anything over the phone about what codes the ISP is seeing on their end other than they saw it reset, but they were quick to dispatch when they saw it happen. Anyone have any further suggestions? I'd really like to actually play this game now that the Pc's been upgraded.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 10
03-13-2012, 06:08 PM
This is the 'too many connections' problem certain routers have. Mostly cheap ISP given routers/modems of a certain age can't handle as many connections as STO uses.
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:09 PM.