Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 1 DOFFs passives stack or not?
01-29-2012, 11:40 AM
Are DOFF chances stacking? For example: I want to assign 3 DOFFs with the chance of decreasing recharge time for maneuvers. Does this incease the likelihood for this to happen from 10% chance to 30% chance?

I googled for this question and also used the forum search...to ask here directly was more convenient to me.

Thanks alot for your help,
amb
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 2
01-29-2012, 11:55 AM
As far as I know, they are not suppose to stack.
Just like the torpedo recharge time doff isn't suppose to stack.
but i am not positive.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 3
01-29-2012, 01:41 PM
Duty officer active roster abilities of the same type do not combine, but they do stack.

For example, if I have three Projectile Weapons Officers, each with a 15% chance to reduce the cooldown on my torpedoes by 2 seconds, then the system will make three separate 15% rolls. One may go off, or all three, or none. If more than one goes off, then the effect - in this case, the time reduction - will stack. In the above example, if all three 15% chances proc'd, then the torpedo cooldown would be reduced by 6 seconds - still subject, of course, to the global cooldown minimum.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 4
01-29-2012, 01:57 PM
That s good information to know for an All-Torpedo Retrofit Intrepid Build.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 5
01-29-2012, 02:37 PM
Hello,

Just popping in to let you know I moved this thread to the Duty Officer System section of the forums.

Cheers,

Alecto
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 6
01-29-2012, 03:12 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by Heretic
Duty officer active roster abilities of the same type do not combine, but they do stack.

For example, if I have three Projectile Weapons Officers, each with a 15% chance to reduce the cooldown on my torpedoes by 2 seconds, then the system will make three separate 15% rolls. One may go off, or all three, or none. If more than one goes off, then the effect - in this case, the time reduction - will stack. In the above example, if all three 15% chances proc'd, then the torpedo cooldown would be reduced by 6 seconds - still subject, of course, to the global cooldown minimum.
facinating. thx
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 7
01-30-2012, 08:14 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by Heretic
Duty officer active roster abilities of the same type do not combine, but they do stack.

For example, if I have three Projectile Weapons Officers, each with a 15% chance to reduce the cooldown on my torpedoes by 2 seconds, then the system will make three separate 15% rolls. One may go off, or all three, or none. If more than one goes off, then the effect - in this case, the time reduction - will stack. In the above example, if all three 15% chances proc'd, then the torpedo cooldown would be reduced by 6 seconds - still subject, of course, to the global cooldown minimum.

Oh. That is valuable information, thanks. The overall ability of a DOFF does only count when he/she is assigned to a ship station slot. So a DOFF that is just on the roster wont trigger this effect, I suppose?

Did you ever discuss to make the chances for triggering stacking? I'd find it more logical to increase the chances from 15% to e.g. 20% (when...say, using 2 DOFFS with same passive) instead of stacking the effects. Of course, this stacked trigger chance should have the same degressive algorythm you use for the skill system. So with each DOFF that has the same passive the returns diminish.

On the other side... in a way I have an increased chance if it Is like you say. The passives are triggered more often and then even combined if I'm lucky. I need to try this out in game and report back. Very often I don't feel a distinct change of play when I made such kind of "pimps to my ride". Better to have a greater chance for a single effect than a small chance to have an effect at all. But to have them even combine is new... intriguing. Anyways, thanks for this information and thanks also to Alecto to move this thread.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 8
01-30-2012, 10:11 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by Heretic
Duty officer active roster abilities of the same type do not combine, but they do stack.

For example, if I have three Projectile Weapons Officers, each with a 15% chance to reduce the cooldown on my torpedoes by 2 seconds, then the system will make three separate 15% rolls. One may go off, or all three, or none. If more than one goes off, then the effect - in this case, the time reduction - will stack. In the above example, if all three 15% chances proc'd, then the torpedo cooldown would be reduced by 6 seconds - still subject, of course, to the global cooldown minimum.
Last weekend, since I finally had enough DOFF to spare, I tried assigning some to 'Active' duty...

I've found that you can have duplicate Specialist Doffs assigned to 'Space' duty, but specialists must be unique when assigned to 'Ground' duty... So, do I take it that stacking for 'Ground' is not allowed by design?
(which makes it tough to assign the Armory Doff Tribble Reward, who has special abilities different from the standard Armory Officer)
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 9
01-30-2012, 10:54 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by Heretic
Duty officer active roster abilities of the same type do not combine, but they do stack.

For example, if I have three Projectile Weapons Officers, each with a 15% chance to reduce the cooldown on my torpedoes by 2 seconds, then the system will make three separate 15% rolls. One may go off, or all three, or none. If more than one goes off, then the effect - in this case, the time reduction - will stack. In the above example, if all three 15% chances proc'd, then the torpedo cooldown would be reduced by 6 seconds - still subject, of course, to the global cooldown minimum.
Forgive me but i'm confused. Where else can you stack these abilities besides space or ground duty slots??
For example, I like the "Chance to create an extra Gravity well" ability by the Gravimetric scientist. But when i try to stack them in the Space Duty slots it says "You cannot equip more than 1 item of that category"
Please help cure my confusion
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 10
01-30-2012, 01:48 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by Grouchy.Otaku
Last weekend, since I finally had enough DOFF to spare, I tried assigning some to 'Active' duty...

I've found that you can have duplicate Specialist Doffs assigned to 'Space' duty, but specialists must be unique when assigned to 'Ground' duty... So, do I take it that stacking for 'Ground' is not allowed by design?
(which makes it tough to assign the Armory Doff Tribble Reward, who has special abilities different from the standard Armory Officer)
Whether you can assign only one or assign three isn't a Ground vs. Space division, but on a specialization by specialization basis dependent on the nature of the power. Basically, for each active roster power I went through and said, "Can I make this cool and feel effective both with one slotted and three, but not overpowered?" If the answer was "Yes" then that specialization allows you to slot three. Otherwise, only one.


Quote:
Originally Posted by Docroadie View Post
Forgive me but i'm confused. Where else can you stack these abilities besides space or ground duty slots??
For example, I like the "Chance to create an extra Gravity well" ability by the Gravimetric scientist. But when i try to stack them in the Space Duty slots it says "You cannot equip more than 1 item of that category"
Please help cure my confusion
See above.

Some specializations allow you to stack up to three, some only one.
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:38 AM.