Lt. Commander
I'm a bit new to this game but it seems that the universe is more than a bit lifeless.

I'm at a dilapidated Ferengi starbase. These guys should make modern-day businesses look Amish. Yet when I get fresh air and go outside *gasp* I'm bombarded by advertisements. Yet in a Ferengi station? Nothing.

In DS9 they don't even play the jingle "Come to Quark's, Quark's is fun, come to Quark's, don't walk RUN!" which Quark hacked into the DS9 systems during an episode. Little things like that made the show seem that much more lively and less sterile. They would do the same for this game.

Regarding the ads, it could be a mix of e.g. daily offers for ships (e.g. random C-store ship nobody buys = 40% off today only) and *gasp* real-world ads.

Surely there's a way to integrate real ads into the world without ruining the flavor of the universe?

Something like "Starbucks - voted 50% more delicious than a Raktajino by humons"

If I'm in a central hub of commerce like DS9 I should surely hear lots of chatter and background ads instead of just Leeta screaming in my ear from the other side of the station.

Of course, you wouldn't want such ads at a place like Spacedock. Cryptic shouldn't go overboard and sell out the whole universe for a few extra bucks.

The benefits:

- greater income stream for Cryptic - might lead to more content?
- more interactive / lively game world
- reasons to visit various stations and make them less dead/lifeless

While you're at it Cryptic, remove the bet limit on Dabo tables. Bet limits on a game run by Ferengi both serve absolutely no purpose canonically (Ferengi "Sir I believe you have a gambling addiction, please limit your bets and take this safe gambling leaflet" lol?), and annoy players who for whatever reason want Latinum in a short period (e.g. Ferengi me who wants to do all the trade missions).
Lt. Commander
# 2
02-05-2012, 07:14 PM