Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
Please help
This happens after I press engage..
Was working fine till todays patch.

"unable to start game client: %1 is not a valid win32 application"
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 2
02-07-2010, 06:08 PM
Fixed it!

had to...
delete.. .patch folder // cache folder // exes.hogg // gameclient.exe // all the .dlls in the folder gameclient was in and repatched.. it was about 45mb total.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 3
02-07-2010, 06:17 PM
For other people finding this thread, you should just have to wipe the exes.hogg and gameclient (the DLLs don't hurt). I wouldn't delete the cache folder, since that will trigger a shader recompile that can take a while.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 4
08-21-2010, 06:16 PM
Well I have renamed exes.hogg and gameclient.exe by adding the suffix .old to each, I then restart the launcher with a force verify and I am still getting the unable to start game client: %1 is not a valid win32 application. I have also made sure that gameclient .exe is checked to run as administrator as well as the launcher.

This is a Win7 64bit OS. It was running fine until the patch this week. Then I started getting corrupted hogg crashes. I renamed the bins.hogg file and then forced verify, and it let me get in the game for all of about 2 minutes, then I started crashed out again with the corrupted hogg error. Since then I have not been able to get back in the game with this error at the launcher, or crashes during the force verify.

VEry frustrating.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 5
01-22-2011, 06:46 PM
those solutions didnt work
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 6 This Fix Worked!!
07-13-2011, 03:55 PM
PROBLEM:
----------
After clicking Engage I received this error:
"Unable to start game client: %1 is not a valid Win32 application."

SOLUTION:
----------
I did as Code Ranger said to do:

1. I renamed the following files by adding ".old" to the end of each.

-C:\Users\Public\Games\Cryptic Studios\Star Trek Online\Live\GameClient.exe
-C:\Users\Public\Games\Cryptic Studios\Star Trek Online\Live\piggs\exes.hogg

2. Restarted the "Star Trek Online.exe" (C:\Users\Public\Games\Cryptic Studios\Star Trek Online.exe)

3. The patch automatically downloaded.

4. I clicked on Engage and it worked fine.

Thanks CodeRanger.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 7
02-07-2012, 04:43 PM
They ever actually going to fix this? Personally, I'm tired of renaming files and patching every day.
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:10 AM.