Lt. Commander
# 1 Is crafting worth it?
02-12-2012, 05:54 PM
Hello,

I am new to STO. This game is huge and so complicated. Ive been researching builds, items, skills and abilities for the last week and still learn new things everyday. I am level 30 Science right now. I eventually want to get the end game gear like Aegis, borg, and MK X++ stuff.

Thats going to cost a lot of money. I know i can craft it too. But which is the better deal. I have a lot of data samples and particle traces already and Im bound to get more by the time Ill be the rank to use the high Mark gear. For the crafters out there. Did you buy up all the red data samples you could to make schematics? Or was it just a "as-you-play" thing where you craft what you had in the bank? Thanks
Lt. Commander
# 2
02-12-2012, 06:41 PM
For my own Sci crafter I simply acquired all the various data samples as I played and saved them in my Bank for things I might eventually want to Craft. STO is a fairly simple game and there's really not a lot of need to craft gear prior to Admiral unless you're really into PvP. If you're just a PvEer you can get by quite nicely just using white gear and whatever drops you get doing Mission. I only play on Elite mode now and I've never had to have a purple anything while doing PvE. So you really don't need to spend a lot of time or Dilithium crafting lower level gear, IMO.
Lt. Commander
Keep in mind the following general rules and you can make crafting....even dilithium bound crafting, worthwhile and profitable: