Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 1 Easy Question on Power Levels.
02-16-2012, 08:08 AM
I notice the power levels can be souped up to 125. Is that the maximum?

If you use a power that increases say shield, or weapon power level above 125 is the excess power over 125 just wasted?
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 2
02-16-2012, 08:10 AM
There used to be an invisible cap of 135. this is no longer in effect and anything above 125 will not benefit you.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 3
02-16-2012, 08:11 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by You_Died_Lol
There used to be an invisible cap of 135. this is no longer in effect and anything above 125 will not benefit you.
Thank you. I assumed that was the case, but was not sure.

It did occure to me that it might be benificial to have your weapon power souped up to an invisible 130 to possibly mitigate energy drain from firing.


May I assume that would do no good?
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 4
02-16-2012, 08:12 AM
You can reclaim that power, though, by changing the power display to the sliders (setting 3 I think), and tweaking the system that's over 125 down a bit. In my escort, I run my weapons at 90, which with all the bonuses I have brings it up to 125. That's an extra 10 points I can put in other systems.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 5
02-16-2012, 08:15 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by hevach View Post
You can reclaim that power, though, by changing the power display to the sliders (setting 3 I think), and tweaking the system that's over 125 down a bit. In my escort, I run my weapons at 90, which with all the bonuses I have brings it up to 125. That's an extra 10 points I can put in other systems.
I do that and your right it makes a big difference.

Engineers especially can tweak their shields as they usually have emergency power to shields twice which runs constantly which means they have no need to power up shields to more than 70 to 80 to get it maxed to near 125.




It did occure to me that it might be beneficial to have your weapon power souped up to an invisible 130 to possibly mitigate energy drain from firing.


May I assume that would do no good? I understand it would not increase damage output based on 130 power, but would it work to keep it closer to 125 as your weapons fire causes a drain?
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 6
02-16-2012, 08:36 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by trismigistus View Post
I do that and your right it makes a big difference.

Engineers especially can tweak their shields as they usually have emergency power to shields twice which runs constantly which means they have no need to power up shields to more than 70 to 80 to get it maxed to near 125.




It did occure to me that it might be beneficial to have your weapon power souped up to an invisible 130 to possibly mitigate energy drain from firing.


May I assume that would do no good? I understand it would not increase damage output based on 130 power, but would it work to keep it closer to 125 as your weapons fire causes a drain?
There is currently no advantage to have more than 125.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 7
02-16-2012, 08:45 AM
There's a lot of people who will say that having power past 125 helps and will even make some impressive mental gymnastics to explain why tests to the contrary are flawed, but it's been tested pretty extensively and conclusively, and it's bunk. At least as far back as the start of FE3, everything past 125 power is completely lost.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 8
02-16-2012, 10:45 AM
Power 125 is max. There is no invisible upper limit. I think a lot of the confusion stems from the beginner of the same. In terms of energy weapons firing, you get one energy weapon that can fire for "free". That is one energy Weapon firing, regardless of the type, will not drain any weapons power. Hence, the verbiage for weapon power drain about if multiple weapons are firing. It's still doesn' make things clear.

Still confused? Well it works like this. If I fire one Beam Array (-10 power), there is no weapon power drain. If I fire only one Dual Heavy Cannon (-12 power), there no weapon power drain. If I fire only one Turret (-8 power), there is no weapon power drain.

If I fire 1 Beam Array and 1 Dual Heavy Cannon, there is -12 Weapon Power Drain. (Remember first weapon firing is free). If I fire 1 Beam Array, 1 Dual Heavy Cannon and 1 Turret, there is -12 + -8 == -20 Weapon Power drain. If I add two Beam Arrays into the mix, there is -12 + -8 + -10 + -10 == -40 Weapon Power drain.

Now the above is very simplified. The reality of Weapon Drain, is more complex. First the game client will slight stagger the firing of the weapons. And virtually all of the different weapon types have a different firing cycle which further complicates it. So your power level will vary between between your total power and the maximum weapon power drain.
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:53 AM.