Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 1 Repeating Dialog Tree
02-14-2012, 04:15 PM
Is there anyway to have a dialog tree that is tied to an invisible object and have that tree be able to be interacted with several times? Let's say the dialog tree gives information a player may need to solve a puzzle and it is tied to an invisible object that is set within a computer console. I would like the player to be able to interact with this dialog tree multiple times and not just once, in case they need to revisit the tree for more information.

Is there a way to do this?
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 2
02-14-2012, 04:34 PM
Below the Dialog box (if it's not connected to one below) there is an arrow, move that arrow to the dialog box you want, and it goes back to that dialog box.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 3
02-14-2012, 04:46 PM
No, I know you can do that. But say they walk away from the invisible object or close the dialog tree. I still want that invisible object to be "active" so they can bring up that dialog tree a second, third, fourth, umpteenth time if they want.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 4
02-14-2012, 04:58 PM
Oh... OK, you're asking the wrong person, you might want to try asking top foundry authors. I'm trying to figure that out myself.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 5
02-14-2012, 07:54 PM
The only real way to do it is to have multiple invisible objects and multiple copies of the dialogue that is to be displayed. Just use the copy function to make 5 or so copies of the dialogue and then make it so the following sequence occurs.

Invisible Object 1 shown -> Interact results in Dialogue 1 & Invisible Object 2 being shown -> Interact results in Dialogue 2 & Invisible Object 3 being shown, and so on.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 6
02-15-2012, 05:06 AM
Thanks for your reply. I thought about this method after I posted my original post and then I thought, nah, there has to be an easier way to do it. I'll just have to be sure to inform the player that the console can only be activated a handful of times.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 7
02-15-2012, 07:45 AM
here is an option to consider.
if you do not make the interact/converse portion part of the mission tree, you can repeat the interaction pretty much forever.

My suggest, have something say, consult this databank/source for information, but again dont make it a mission objective.

Set the npc/console dialog using the use default dialog checkmark(located at the very bottom of the contact information) write your dialog to your hearts content.

This should work as a constant interactable object from then on.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 8
02-15-2012, 08:19 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by castmodean View Post
here is an option to consider.
if you do not make the interact/converse portion part of the mission tree, you can repeat the interaction pretty much forever.

My suggest, have something say, consult this databank/source for information, but again dont make it a mission objective.

Set the npc/console dialog using the use default dialog checkmark(located at the very bottom of the contact information) write your dialog to your hearts content.

This should work as a constant interactable object from then on.
Yeah, I looked at this as well, but if I remember correctly, the objects don't have the Default Dialog option, only NPCs. I suppose I could change it so that an NPC gives out all these details of a file, but it would make more sense to have the player look at the files at a terminal.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 9
02-15-2012, 10:02 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by Maziken
Yeah, I looked at this as well, but if I remember correctly, the objects don't have the Default Dialog option, only NPCs. I suppose I could change it so that an NPC gives out all these details of a file, but it would make more sense to have the player look at the files at a terminal.
as long as it hasnt been taken out, there is a npc contact called <faction name> terminal
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 10
02-15-2012, 10:11 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by castmodean View Post
as long as it hasnt been taken out, there is a npc contact called <faction name> terminal
Errr... where do I find this NPC?
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:18 AM.