Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
NOTE: I tried to create this as a ticket, but when I Submit, I get an error saying I need to select a language, but there is no Language field or place to select one. So since creating tickets doesn't work, I'm posting here.

I'm getting many disconnects since returning to STO. Mostly after selecting my character or loading maps, but occasionally in a map. I get disconnected and booted back to login. Usually the message is just "Disconnected", but once I got a message of "Timeout while waiting for GameServer address". It happens at all times of day (morning, afternoon, night). Sometimes I can play for up to an hour, but usually I get multiple disconnects in a row and can't play.

I have a new router, and I have updated the firmware.

I ran the following tests:
Tracert:
Tracing route to patchserver.crypticstudios.com [208.95.185.41]
over a maximum of 30 hops:

1 <1 ms <1 ms 5 ms ****** [*.*.*.*]
2 60 ms 28 ms 29 ms *.*.*.*
3 9 ms 13 ms 9 ms te-7-1-ur02.sfgeary.ca.sfba.comcast.net [68.87.1
97.13]
4 14 ms 12 ms 13 ms te-1-3-0-5-ar01.oakland.ca.sfba.comcast.net [68.
85.154.42]
5 19 ms 19 ms 14 ms pos-2-0-0-0-cr01.sacramento.ca.ibone.comcast.net
[68.86.90.129]
6 20 ms 33 ms 35 ms pos-0-9-0-0-cr01.sanjose.ca.ibone.comcast.net [6
8.86.85.181]
7 17 ms 16 ms 18 ms pos-0-3-0-0-pe01.529bryant.ca.ibone.comcast.net
[68.86.87.142]
8 197 ms 205 ms 212 ms te4-7.mpd01.sjc04.atlas.cogentco.com [154.54.11.
185]
9 15 ms 16 ms 20 ms te0-0-0-6.mpd22.sfo01.atlas.cogentco.com [154.54
.28.81]
10 59 ms 60 ms 59 ms te0-4-0-3.mpd22.mci01.atlas.cogentco.com [154.54
.45.85]
11 73 ms 74 ms 73 ms te0-1-0-2.mpd22.ord01.atlas.cogentco.com [154.54
.3.201]
12 96 ms 95 ms 95 ms te0-5-0-6.ccr21.bos01.atlas.cogentco.com [154.54
.45.250]
13 190 ms 221 ms 212 ms te4-4.ccr01.bos06.atlas.cogentco.com [66.28.4.42
]
14 96 ms 107 ms 93 ms 38.111.40.114
15 97 ms 94 ms 97 ms 208.95.185.41

Trace complete.

====================
Nettest:
contacting nettest server..
Local IP: *.*.*.*
Ping: 93.8 msec
Port: 80: 303 KB/sec 15 KB/sec 322 KB/sec 500
Port: 80: 445 KB/sec 15 KB/sec 469 KB/sec 500
Port: 443: 474 KB/sec 16 KB/sec 499 KB/sec 500
Port: 443: 301 KB/sec 14 KB/sec 319 KB/sec 500
Port: 7255: 529 KB/sec 19 KB/sec 557 KB/sec 500
Port: 7255: 536 KB/sec 18 KB/sec 564 KB/sec 500
Port: 7003: 520 KB/sec 17 KB/sec 548 KB/sec 500
Port: 7003: 486 KB/sec 18 KB/sec 511 KB/sec 500
Port: 7202: 431 KB/sec 17 KB/sec 454 KB/sec 500
Port: 7202: 311 KB/sec 14 KB/sec 329 KB/sec 500
Port: 7499: 490 KB/sec 16 KB/sec 516 KB/sec 500
Port: 7499: 468 KB/sec 17 KB/sec 493 KB/sec 500
Port: 80: 533 KB/sec 21 KB/sec 572 KB/sec 500
Idle NIC bandwidth Send: 2 KB/sec Recv: 4 KB/sec
hit return to exit

And my ISP is Comcast cable in San Francisco.

That said, on other occasions when I've run nettest, I get poor results:

contacting nettest server..
Local IP: *.*.*.*
Ping: 93.8 msec
Port: 80: 468 KB/sec 17 KB/sec 493 KB/sec 500
Port: 80: 447 KB/sec 20 KB/sec 473 KB/sec 500
Port: 443: 474 KB/sec 18 KB/sec 498 KB/sec 500
Port: 443: 542 KB/sec 22 KB/sec 572 KB/sec 500
Port: 7255: 448 KB/sec 15 KB/sec 472 KB/sec 500
Port: 7255: 280 KB/sec 13 KB/sec 299 KB/sec 500
Port: 7003: 162 KB/sec 12 KB/sec 172 KB/sec 500
Port: 7003: 501 KB/sec 21 KB/sec 542 KB/sec 500
Port: 7202: 487 KB/sec 30 KB/sec 539 KB/sec 500
Port: 7202: 82 KB/sec 8 KB/sec 94 KB/sec 500
Port: 7499: 464 KB/sec 17 KB/sec 489 KB/sec 500
Port: 7499: 492 KB/sec 16 KB/sec 518 KB/sec 500
Port: 80: 492 KB/sec 18 KB/sec 519 KB/sec 500
Idle NIC bandwidth Send: 0 KB/sec Recv: 0 KB/sec
hit return to exit


Is this problem on my end, your end, or somewhere in between? The game used to run fine, before the F2P change. I recently came back for the new FE series, but I've been having these problems since coming back.

I appreciate any help you can give me, because I enjoy the game, but it is pretty much unplayable right now.

Thanks.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 2
02-17-2012, 03:58 PM
your tracert looks like a little trouble at hop 8 should not normal be that big of a jump in value

your netttest inticates an intermittent connection (one different vaules on the same port in the same scan and different vaules from one scan and trhe next.)
are you using a wireless connection in your setup? or could be the problem at that hop 8 causing the problem.
try using one of the proxies options in the launcher options to see if there is any difference. would help isolate if it is a routng problem.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 3
02-18-2012, 10:49 AM
Thanks for taking a look at it. I do use wireless, so what I did was dig up a huge cable and wired up to the router for a test. I managed to make 2 circuits of the galaxy for the race without any trouble. Many hours of good play without hitching or disconnecting.

So there we have it. Time to order a new wireless card for my system.

Thanks!
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:24 AM.