Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 1 Some Confusion to Clear
02-17-2012, 11:21 AM
Looking over the Federation Ship Chart (seen here: http://www.spidermitch.com/STO/Spide...DShipChart.jpg) I'm confused a little about the bridge officer slots. I'm only a commander at the moment, so it hasn't so much affected me at the moment.

Lets pick the Akira (the ship of which I am a commander on). Note here, I went with the Engineering option when I started the game. According to the ship specifications, I get one engineer slot, one science slot, and three tactical slots. Main characters I'm assuming aren't taken in to account here? ~ I only state that because I have one engineer slot on the Akira, and that's being taken up by a bridge officer. I'm not sure whether main characters are actually included where slots are concerned.

My current characters are an Engineer (main character), another Engineer (lieutenant commander), one Science (lieutenant), and two Tactical (one ensign, the other lieutenant commander). Now apparently, I should be able to have a third Tactical Officer, but I don't. I have a few candidates, but I can't use them because there 'isn't enough room for them to join my crew'.

I have a total of five character slots (this is including my main character) yet when you get to vice admiral and such, it shows you to have at least nine bridge officers. Obviously I'm not entitled to nine bridge officers yet, and am only allowed five (though I can only have four). That being said, I'm pretty sure I could still have five slots when I was flying around in my Centaur-type.

Anyone care to clear my confusion up for me?
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 2
02-17-2012, 11:31 AM
Let me see If I can clear that up for you:

1: Ship BO slots: This is the total amount of bridge officers that ship supports, split into the 3 professions you mention. Theese are also known as "Stations". They are Ship-Only, and are independent of your captain (your char).

2: Assignment slots (Stations): Theese are the current BO's assigned to you. Based on rank and Subscription type you have a limited possible default stations you can fill (I belive the max number for a silver player is 5).
The number of stations you can have, as I said, is based on your rank. That number is tied to your Char, independend of ship and can be filled by any combination you wish.

Now, sometimes you will fill your Stations up, and you will need to either advance through ranks, or buy more slots from the C-Store. Not sure what the upper limit is though.

Now you have to fill your stations with officers that either match your ship type, or accept that you can not use all your BO's on the ship you've selected, unless you aquire new slots to allow for switching between ship types.

Hope this helps.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 3
02-17-2012, 11:32 AM
Are you playing as a silver? They get fewer slots.

I'm a little confused as to what you are asking.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 4
02-17-2012, 11:32 AM
If you are a Silver member each character is allowed to have a maximum of 6 BOFFs (Bridge Officers) - the number increases from 4 to 6 as the character advances in Rank.

All ships require 3 to 5 BOFFs to utilize them fully. Depending on the ship type the BOFFs can each use between 1 and 4 abilities each. A Tactical ship, like an Escort, has more slots for Tactical BOFF abilities to be used. An Engineering ship, like a Cruiser, has more slots for Engineering BOFFs to use, and the same for Science ships and Science BOFFs.

The Captain's abilities have nothing to do with the abilities of the ship or the BOFFs. They are separate from the ship-type entirely. As a Tactical Captain increases in Rank he gets more Tactical abilities he can use on whatever type of ship he Captains - and it is the same for Engineering and Science Captains. The BOFFs have nothing to do with the abilities the Captain Class has.

If you have too many of one type of BOFF you might need to dismiss some of them to gain another type of BOFF. So, for example, if you have 4 Engineering BOFFs but your ship requires 2 Tactical, 1 Engineering, and 1 Science, then you need to delete some of the Engineering and gain a Tactical and Science.

Does that help?
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 5
02-17-2012, 11:47 AM
to clear things up.... your character is the Captain of the ship, thus cannot take over a bridge officers post. meaning those ship slots you see for the three professions, those are for your NPC Bridge officers.

you can buy a bridge officer slot pack for two extra bridge officers that then would let you have the proper amount of officers to fully staff your consoles.

also, the commander tier'ed akira only has 2 tactical slots... are you confusing it with the console slots?

the Bridge officer slots are the guys on the left hand of the picture showing human shapes, the Console item slots are the circular ones with the icons on the right hand of the picture.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 6
02-17-2012, 11:57 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by ariestrekker
Looking over the Federation Ship Chart (seen here: http://www.spidermitch.com/STO/Spide...DShipChart.jpg) I'm confused a little about the bridge officer slots. I'm only a commander at the moment, so it hasn't so much affected me at the moment.

Lets pick the Akira (the ship of which I am a commander on). Note here, I went with the Engineering option when I started the game. According to the ship specifications, I get one engineer slot, one science slot, and three tactical slots. Main characters I'm assuming aren't taken in to account here? ~ I only state that because I have one engineer slot on the Akira, and that's being taken up by a bridge officer. I'm not sure whether main characters are actually included where slots are concerned.

My current characters are an Engineer (main character), another Engineer (lieutenant commander), one Science (lieutenant), and two Tactical (one ensign, the other lieutenant commander). Now apparently, I should be able to have a third Tactical Officer, but I don't. I have a few candidates, but I can't use them because there 'isn't enough room for them to join my crew'.

I have a total of five character slots (this is including my main character) yet when you get to vice admiral and such, it shows you to have at least nine bridge officers. Obviously I'm not entitled to nine bridge officers yet, and am only allowed five (though I can only have four). That being said, I'm pretty sure I could still have five slots when I was flying around in my Centaur-type.

Anyone care to clear my confusion up for me?
The T3 sscort (Akira and related) has 4 BOff stations: Lt Eng, Lt Sci, LCdr Tac, Ens Tac. Each station takes a single bridge officer, allowing space abilities up to the rank listed. Spidermitch's chart shows these as silhouettes with rank pins.

The T3 escort also has 5 equipment console slots (1xEng, 1xSci, 3xTac) which accept various ability-boosting consoles. Spidermitch's chart shows these separately with just department logos. They are independent of your bridge officers.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 7
02-19-2012, 08:48 AM
^^^^ That all helps and explains what I was after. Thank You all for your input.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 8
02-19-2012, 09:03 AM
Your main Character (the Captain) will ALWAYS have access to his Special Skills. They do not require a Bridge Station to use, only his/her Character Level.

The Skills WILL some times be hidden. Press the P Button to call up the Powers window. You can find all of your Captain's and your Bridge Officers' (that are slotted to a Station) Powers here. Drag them to your quick-use Skill Tray grid to make them easier to find and use in-game.

Keep in mind: when you switch ships or station-slotted Bridge Officers, your Skills may become hidden again and you may have to use the Powers window to find them once more.

Also, if you get a complete Special Ship Set (MACO, OMEGA, Borg, Breen) and equip them, you can get a Special Set Skill that will also be added to the Powers window.

In short: Powers window is your friend.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 9
03-01-2012, 02:53 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jeslyn
.....

In short: Powers window is your friend.
Thanks for that.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 10
03-01-2012, 03:10 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by ariestrekker
According to the ship specifications, I get one engineer slot, one science slot, and three tactical slots.
those are console slots not bridge officer ones
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:02 AM.