Lt. Commander
# 1 Lvl 47 noob endgame questions
03-02-2012, 11:52 AM
Somehow I managed to get to level 47, but probably 20 levels is from Duty Officers so I still feel like a total newb and I know almost nothing about endgame PvE. I am not interested in PvP.

So, I have read about STFs and they sound like fun. I dont want to be a complete gimped noob idiot that dooms my team to failure. Can someone give me basic idea what level of gear I should have on my ship to be able to meaningfully contribute to one of these harder group space missions?

Currently I run a cruiser with 3 forward phaser beam arrays (MK 9ish) and a forward transphaisic torpedo.
Rear has 2 (MK 10 or 11) phaser beam arrays, plasma torpedo and trasnphasic mines. I spend alot of time zig zagging with enemies close behind me dragging them through mines and rear torperdoes while getting the front beam arrays involved also. My consoles are mostly white (MK10s). Do I need to change beam types or play style? Any gear upgrades I should be crafting or grinding?

What level should I consider joining STFs for the first time?

Is there any other content I should make sure not to miss?

My crafting is over 1500, but I dont seem to be getting vary many matierials for crafting the Mark 11 stuff. I have tons for crafting Mark 4-8. Is there a way to farm higher level materials effectively?

Thanks
Lt. Commander
# 2
03-02-2012, 01:19 PM
you should be fine, a tip is to join the normal space once first, (ground can suck so much so i recomand avoiding them at first)

Also, say when you join the STF that it's your first time and people should be willing to help, or just follow the rest of the group.

Also your damage type don't mather really, however be sure to stick to 1 damage type. and use the one your prefer the most.