Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 11
03-08-2012, 11:17 AM
I am running this Catalyst version with my Radeon HD 6950; which is currently Unlocked and running as a 6970...

I am NOT experiencing ANY graphical issues with STO as described in the OP.

STO is running with full graphic specs at max levels; system is running on an Intel Core i5-2500K overclocked on DEFAULT voltages at 4.5ghz, and stable under 65c with numerous hours of Prime95 test runs...

This tells me, that STO runs best on computers that are properly maintained and running at peak efficiency.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 12
03-08-2012, 11:24 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by ginge77
hmm im not very computer savey. how do you roll back?
Download the latest Catalyst from AMD, run it and select the option to UNINSTALL....

http://support.amd.com/us/gpudownload/Pages/index.aspx

This will completely remove all existing Catalyst drivers on your system...

Then from AMD, download the previous version Driver that you want to use... and run the install file that you download to install the Drivers from that version.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 13
03-08-2012, 01:01 PM
Same issue here. Radeon 6870, exact same graphical corruption when antialiasing is enabled. I have no problems rolling back, just adding my voice to let people know this is not an isolated issue.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 14
03-08-2012, 02:20 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by voicesinthedark View Post
revert back to 12.1 and disable the auto updater for your ATI/AMD graphics card and bam problem fixed

Yes, yes, That's fine and all. But the point of this thread is to report the issue and inform others.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 15
03-08-2012, 05:25 PM
after installing the 12.2 drivers i had the same issues with a pair of 5750's in crossfire.

i took the time to go to one card, removing it from the PC, then the other... and problem did not go away... later that night i found out one of my kids updated the drivers.... i put them back to 11.4 just to make sure and the problem is gone.

i dont think it is up to STO to fix this issue.... as it was introduced by a driver...

check your other newer games and see if they have the problem too... my guess is they broke something with texture modeling... or how they are stored in the cards memory... it is very evident that the issues are in areas of objects that are getting a AA filter applied to them... edges of ships and people, and so on...
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 16
03-08-2012, 09:54 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by idiameandada
I noticed there are 2 mentioned on AMD's site that this is also affecting Star Wars, The Old Republic.
This is not affecting Star Wars the Old Republic. Works perfectly fine for me. Yet Cryptic games are bust.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 17
03-08-2012, 11:52 PM
same problem here. i rolled back to an earlier one. wont be updating and until someone (who ever it is) fixes it.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 18
03-09-2012, 02:41 AM
I am not getting a graphics problem like that, but ever since the STO patch came out yesterday i am getting a blue screen of death. I suspect it is related to my graphics but i cant prove it.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 20
03-09-2012, 05:21 AM
http://i42.tinypic.com/mmg70g.png

this is from my end since the updated driver.
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:21 AM.