Go Back   Star Trek Online > Feedback > PvP Gameplay
Login

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
I've been browsing the forums and seen two different stories. One says due to a global cool down more then three Dhc's will fire whilst a fourth sits idle. The other side says that that's old and that four Dhc's all fire at the same rate. Jt looking for some clarification on this. If a patch updated this and anyone knows which one could you provide a link to the patch release notes? I've searched through the release notes and haven't found anything in relation to this then again I may just be blind. Thoughts?
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 2
03-05-2012, 03:16 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by rashkenes View Post
I've been browsing the forums and seen two different stories. One says due to a global cool down more then three Dhc's will fire whilst a fourth sits idle. The other side says that that's old and that four Dhc's all fire at the same rate. Jt looking for some clarification on this. If a patch updated this and anyone knows which one could you provide a link to the patch release notes? I've searched through the release notes and haven't found anything in relation to this then again I may just be blind. Thoughts?
You probably saw some very old information on the forums. At one time, cannons shared a global cooldown, so 2-3 dual cannons were the maximum that you could have, cause any more would sit idle indefinitely.

Not the case now. Many of the top PvPers will run 4 DHC, or combinations of duals, DHCs and torps. Just keep in mind the more energy weapons you fire, the greater the drain on your power systems. Not too much of a problem if specced into EPS with consoles and weapon power efficiency.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 3
03-05-2012, 03:18 PM
Ok that's what I thought because I run 4 Dhc's plus butt turrets and I wanted to make sure I wasn't wasting a weapon space
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 4
03-05-2012, 05:06 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by Otheym81 View Post
You probably saw some very old information on the forums. At one time, cannons shared a global cooldown, so 2-3 dual cannons were the maximum that you could have, cause any more would sit idle indefinitely.

Not the case now. Many of the top PvPers will run 4 DHC, or combinations of duals, DHCs and torps. Just keep in mind the more energy weapons you fire, the greater the drain on your power systems. Not too much of a problem if specced into EPS with consoles and weapon power efficiency.
My Fed Fleet Escort setup:

Fore Weapons: (4) AP DHC
Aft Weapons: (3) AP Turret

Engineering Consoles: (3) EPS Flow Regulators
Science Consoles: Assimilated Universal, Shield Emitter Amplifiers
Tactical: (4) AP Mag Regulators

With three EPS my weapons power stays elevated above 100/100.

Use the following skills in order for MAXIMUM EFFECT!

1) Power to Weapons
2) Tactical Team
3) Rapid Fire

Yes, Brute force is that simple.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 5
03-05-2012, 10:05 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by czechknuckles
Engineering Consoles: (3) EPS Flow Regulators
That's a waste. Unless you're swapping your power settings all over the place all the time, stacking EPS consoles isn't going to make your weapon fire better.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 6
03-05-2012, 11:00 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by synkr0nized
That's a waste. Unless you're swapping your power settings all over the place all the time, stacking EPS consoles isn't going to make your weapon fire better.
There was a time when they did, back when weapons actually drained power instead of applying a temporary power level debuff and every ship mounted one or more EPS conduits to keep their weapon power up. This is fortunately no longer the case, yes.

Mh, there's some argument for using one with beam overload, though.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 7
03-06-2012, 12:45 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by NovaFury View Post
There was a time when they did, back when weapons actually drained power instead of applying a temporary power level debuff and every ship mounted one or more EPS conduits to keep their weapon power up. This is fortunately no longer the case, yes.

Mh, there's some argument for using one with beam overload, though.

True that.

And DHCs are best regarding the energy drain.
DHCs will suck power with the last volley fired and not with each shot, making them more viable.

BeamOverload is a good way of adding burst dmg. On the other hand, a quantum torp launcher on AFT could do the job instead.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 8
03-06-2012, 05:43 AM
4 DHCs is incredibly powerful for CSV fire as the fourth cannon makes up for the loss of damage difference of not using Rapid Fire.

3 DHC and a DBB is also very strong. Right now there's a problem with torp flight speed in combat so I can't really recommend the old 3 DHC and Torp option, also torps have had a pretty significant stealth nerf to their accuracy.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 9
03-06-2012, 11:27 AM
I run 3 DHC 1 DBB front and 3 turrets in the back.

I use autofire. And I use space bar to fire all cannons... However, my Dual Beam fires as well when I press the space bar, but I don't have it selected as autofire. So what's the point of Auto-fire then?

Is there a way to only have my Cannons fire on spacebar, and not the dual beam as well? And only fire the dual beam when I click the icon?

I hope this isn't a keybind thing!
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 10
03-06-2012, 11:33 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by ajguida1987 View Post
I run 3 DHC 1 DBB front and 3 turrets in the back.

I use autofire. And I use space bar to fire all cannons... However, my Dual Beam fires as well when I press the space bar, but I don't have it selected as autofire. So what's the point of Auto-fire then?

Is there a way to only have my Cannons fire on spacebar, and not the dual beam as well? And only fire the dual beam when I click the icon?

I hope this isn't a keybind thing!
I would consider first dumping auto fire... but ya simple answer you can't use a fire_all command at all in anyway.

Long answer...
What you are going to have to do is put your weapons on a tray and bind them... here is a simple way too do it.

1) Pick a trey (I will use tray 4)
2) Line your weapon up on trey 4... Dual beam first then 3 cannons then 3 turrets
3) Input the bind commands into your chat box and hit enter

The first one will fire the weapon you have in the first slot on tray 4
/bind e "+trayexec 3 0"
/bind space "+trayexec 3 1 $$ +trayexec 3 2 $$ +trayexec 3 3 $$ +trayexec 3 4 $$ +trayexec 3 5 $$ +trayexec 3 6"

4) Go and fire at things with your cannons... and hold your beam overloads which you activate with e... you can sub what ever keys you want... you can also bind weapons too different keys what ever works for you.
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:54 AM.