Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 1 Elite tact. Cube:invisi-torp?
03-25-2012, 07:56 PM
Just wondering,has anyone else experienced in elite space stfs where the tactical cube kills you without shooting? Makes winning the level very hard.

Anyone know anything? Just curious if it's me or actually true.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 2
03-25-2012, 11:50 PM
Yes, I had this happen to me. Its the famous "invisible torpedo". I suspect its a graphical issue.

I noticed, when there are many objects on the screen, like in the assimilated carrier fight, some objects don't get drawn. I noticed it with large objects like a graqvity well. These objects start to flicker or don't get drawn at all. But they seem to be there since I can see the damage and the gravitic pull.

Also, when you fire a salvo of quantum torpedos, these torpedos seem to consist of 2 graphical effects, a core blip and sort of a halo. There are times when I can only see tha halo, which looks kinda weird. MAybe playing with the graphics settings can help, I shoud try that.

Regards,
Dinkelsen
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 3
03-26-2012, 02:16 AM
Just to let you know i have never had any graphical issues where some items flash or don't appear at all. Yet i still fall prey to the "invisible torpedo".
Some people have suggested it's a weapon that's beamed aboard your ship when your shields are down but many people, myself included have been killed with full shields and also out of weapons range.
If this really is an invisible torpedo then not even torp spread or faw can hit it either.

Imo it's Cryptic screwing us over.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 4 Elite tact. cube:invisi-torp?
03-26-2012, 12:39 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by ashman7286 View Post
Just to let you know i have never had any graphical issues where some items flash or don't appear at all. Yet i still fall prey to the "invisible torpedo".
Some people have suggested it's a weapon that's beamed aboard your ship when your shields are down but many people, myself included have been killed with full shields and also out of weapons range.
If this really is an invisible torpedo then not even torp spread or faw can hit it either.

Imo it's Cryptic screwing us over.
thanks, i just wasnt sure if i was doing something wrong. glad to know im not alone
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 5
03-26-2012, 03:48 PM
STOked actually got an answer to this and yes its a priority issue with the graphics engine. The torpedo sadly doesn't have the sole highest priority when being rendered so it just doesn't get rendered. Thus the invis-Torp.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 6
03-27-2012, 08:06 PM
on tts they have taken off the crtis from the borg torps, redering fix will come later when they have got it showing properly.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 7
03-28-2012, 10:02 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jbomb99
STOked actually got an answer to this and yes its a priority issue with the graphics engine. The torpedo sadly doesn't have the sole highest priority when being rendered so it just doesn't get rendered. Thus the invis-Torp.
I am guessing that these invisible borg plasma torpedoes are conventional, non-high yield models since my automated point defense console lacks the ability to shoot them down. However, they can still 1-shot my escorts through 25% or lower MACO shields.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 8 Elite tact. cube:invisi-torp?
03-28-2012, 12:21 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by Shar487
I am guessing that these invisible borg plasma torpedoes are conventional, non-high yield models since my automated point defense console lacks the ability to shoot them down. However, they can still 1-shot my escorts through 25% or lower MACO shields.
my point-defense system also doesnt do anything (though its really helpful to shoot down the regular plasma torpedos), and i also have been killed by the same circumstances.

this whole invisible torpedo thing makes the final parts of the level almost impossible, except if your like 9.9 km away and can escape
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 9
03-28-2012, 12:29 PM
I also took one in a Normal STF(don't do pug elites) and I had full shields/hull on my Odyssey refit/Engineering tank captain. the only number I remember seeing in the mix was 68000 damage, which hurts LOL
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:13 AM.