Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 1 SLI & Physx?
03-21-2012, 03:23 PM
Hello everyone.

I've built a relativly new P.C but there's a couple more parts I need to get over the next couple of months. Seen as I've nearly got everything, i'll paste the finished system spec:

Case: Antec v3 1200
PSU Antec Trupower 1200V
CPU AMD FX8150 8 Cores @ 3.6ghz
Cooler Antec Kuhler 920 H20
Mobo: Asus Crosshair V Formula
RAM: G-Skill 16GB (4x4GB) DDR3 2133MHz
Sound: Sounbdblaster Fatal1ty Pro Champion Series with I/O Drive
HDD OS: Patriot TORQX 2 64GB SSD x2 (RAID0)
HDD Storage: Seagate BARRACUDA SATA-III - 7200RPM 2TB
HDD Backup for OS: Seagate 320GB MomentusXT Hybrid SATA3
Main screen: ViewSonic 24 inch LED 1920 x 1080, 16:9, 5m/s, 1,000:1/30,000,000:1
2nd screen (For STO) Panasonic TX-P42ST30B 42-inch Full HD 1080p 3D 600Hz Plasma

Graphics: I currently have a Zotac 560GTX TI OC Nvidia card but will be getting a second for an SLI config so my question is this....

Should I buy a 3rd graphics card such as a GeForce GTS 450 Graphics Card 2GB for Physx??? I want both my 560GTX's to run the 3D TV at the very best that they can. Is it worth me spending another 80 or is that just a pointless waste of money?? I would like a 3rd 560GTX but my case hasnt got the depth for a 3rd one unfortunately

Any help is greatly appreciated. Especially if anyones done that and regretted it! Also, can STO fully utilise Physx as its not in the NVIDIA list for approved games...?
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 2
03-21-2012, 04:21 PM
I'm currently running a single GTX 580 with my build on a 32" panasonic vierra lcd tv @ 1920x1080 with up to 100 fps atm. but I'm not sure if SLI is fully supported in STO atm, when I'll upgrade my motherboard and cpu I'll beef up the psu aswell and do some testing with my GTX460 as a dedicated PhysX card (since it's sitting in my cabinet atm).

I know there are players that run a multi-display setup with 2 cards. I'll see if i can ask them to check if they are in SLI mode when on sto or just switch it to single gpu mode when I get the op.

Edit: also just noticed you mentioned your looking into a 3rd gpu, tbh unless you gonna be doin hardcore overclocking and goin to the comps, as a gen gamer there is no need for more then 1, 2 at the most esp of the GTX5xx series gpus, just way too much overkill for sto and mmos in gen.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 3
03-21-2012, 05:18 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by xth3xr34p3rx View Post
I'm currently running a single GTX 580 with my build on a 32" panasonic vierra lcd tv @ 1920x1080 with up to 100 fps atm. but I'm not sure if SLI is fully supported in STO atm, when I'll upgrade my motherboard and cpu I'll beef up the psu aswell and do some testing with my GTX460 as a dedicated PhysX card (since it's sitting in my cabinet atm).

I know there are players that run a multi-display setup with 2 cards. I'll see if i can ask them to check if they are in SLI mode when on sto or just switch it to single gpu mode when I get the op.

Edit: also just noticed you mentioned your looking into a 3rd gpu, tbh unless you gonna be doin hardcore overclocking and goin to the comps, as a gen gamer there is no need for more then 1, 2 at the most esp of the GTX5xx series gpus, just way too much overkill for sto and mmos in gen.
Hey xTH3xR34P3Rx

I would've gone for a 580 but I wouldnt of had enough cash because of all of the rest I've had to get. Yeah I was thinking that i could get 3 card in total = 2x 560GTX in SLI, then one gt450 physx card. If you could check with some of your friends that'd be great. Happy hunitng
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 4 Conclusion
03-23-2012, 04:28 PM
I've thought long and hard about the graphics situation and I've come to the conclusion that using an SLI and Physx config, might not be worth the money. Instead I will save on the total cost overall and get a new NVIDIA 680 GTX. It will be mid way through next month so watch this space
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 5
03-24-2012, 12:38 AM
with the 680, i'll be getting one myself since im saving up a nice $1500-$2000 for some new parts for my tower for an upgrade and will SLI my current 580 with that card in the coming months once I get one just for the boost in FPS

edit: found out he runs a single dual gpu graphics card and not 2 in SLI.
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:44 AM.