Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 1 Flickering Bloom Lighting
03-24-2012, 09:08 AM
Anyone else having any bloom lighting issues on Nvidia 570 GTX?

Since the last update I'm seeing flickering bloom lighting. The effect seems to be far worse in space. The Nacels on my ship and everyone elses flickers constantly. All I ran yesterday was CGE and for the most part it was fine but I did notice the occasional flicker here and there on various objects and textures effected by bloom. I didn't notice anything out of the ordinary on the Earth Starbase however.

I've reset the client settings to various different presets with no solution. The only real solution at this point is to turn bloom off. The problem instantly goes away. I've also done a complete check of the STO files via the launcher and also checked over Windows and Direct X to make sure everything is where it should be and nothing more. STO client is set to default High setting with Ambient Occlusion turned OFF and VSYNC ON. What I haven't done is update to the latest Nvidia drivers.

For reference I'm running Nvidia 285.62 Drivers. If anyone else is seeing this problem on these drivers please let me know.

DxDiag.txt
Nvidia System Information

NOTE: Same problem with both DX9 and DX11

UPDATE: Problem is caused by MACO Shield Visuals on my Sovereign. Upon further inspection some of the set item visuals have been updated. Right click item and select disable visual effect if your having problems.

Looks like some of the bridges have also had their lighting updated. My Prometheus bridge lighting looks better. The bloom intensity has been reduced at least. Looks much better now even with it reduced to 70% already.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 2
03-24-2012, 12:58 PM
Updated the thread with proper debug information pertaining to the issue. Some feedback would be nice.

Is there any way to get a link to the core Direct X assets STO uses like VB package etc? Would like to do some manual installs of the core assets to ensure they have not been altered or corrupted.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 3
03-24-2012, 03:11 PM
Problem is caused by MACO Shield Visuals on my Sovereign. Upon further inspection some of the set item visuals have been updated. Right click item and select disable visual effect if your having problems.
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:05 PM.