Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
(This is a thread spinning off from "Launcher not Launching" in the Gameplay Bugs section. I'm F2P so I can't post there.)

Situation/Problem:
  1. run STO;
  2. small window appears stating "Trying to update the launcher. Please be patient.";
  3. after roughly a minute, I get an alert: "The patchclient got a message while it was in a state with no response function."; then
  4. when you hit "OK", it quits.

Analysis:
I've had this issue since I was playing Cryptic Studios' Champions Online last year. Apparently, the launcher update system times out if you don't complete the download in a set amount of time (based on my studies, around a minute). Instead of 'trying again', you get the patchclient error (perhaps the Launcher updater can't do resumes?).

I checked my net streams with Comodo and saw that I've only been getting 2.9M to 3.4M of the launcher application (which is around 8.3M) before it fails.

Possible solution(s):
  • provide the launcher EXE (StarTrekOnline.exe) as a download from the STO website (like they did for Champions Online a while back);
  • increase the timeout duration to allow players w/ slower connections the chance to complete the download; or
  • fix the patchclient so that players can 'resume' the download on subsequent tries.


In closing:
Anyway, I'm guessing this is what's happening to most people so I'm just putting it out there so that the powers that be can identify the problem and perhaps rectify it.

Best regards to the Cryptic STO team and all the players out there. Live long and prosper!


For the original/ongoing thread at the Gameplay Bugs section:
http://forums.startrekonline.com/sho...d.php?t=270665
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
Oh, I forgot to mention... there's another solution (which is often the go-to solution back in Champions Online):
  • someone who has a working/updated "StarTrekOnline.exe" launcher post it online (free sites like RapidShare, etc) for the rest of us to download.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 3
05-16-2012, 02:00 AM
Thanks for posting this information. It will certainly help many.

I think it's best Cryptic provides their "Star Trek Online.exe" as a public download. This might help a lot of current and future players.

re-download and re-install is not a permanent solution. The additional dynamic patches required for the game is another 3+GB download.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 4 -
05-16-2012, 02:05 AM
same thing happen to me. I cant launch my launcher today..its say patch error. nvr happen before..So sad..
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
Quote:
Originally Posted by g542528
Thanks for posting this information. It will certainly help many.
Yeah, I was hoping other folks could learn from what I found out and share their own findings (or at the very least the launcher EXE).

Quote:
Originally Posted by g542528
I think it's best Cryptic provides their "Star Trek Online.exe" as a public download. This might help a lot of current and future players.
Yup. This would be the easiest solution by far (though it would mean Cryptic stores the file on their server and provide a link to use in the forums). Hopefully they can be bothered to do this for us bandwidth-challenged folks.

Quote:
Originally Posted by g542528
re-download and re-install is not a permanent solution. The additional dynamic patches required for the game is another 3+GB download.
True. Not to mention it doesn't always work (since the game will still try to update if you use an old version of the launcher).

Incidentally, you don't really need to re-download 3+GB if you reinstall (or put it on another machine). It's actually pretty easy:
  1. copy these STO folders (under ..\Star Trek Online\Live\): ".patch", "piggs", and "prepatch";
  2. uninstall/reinstall the game from the setup application;
  3. when you first run the game, log in and let it begin patching;
  4. the moment it starts, cancel the patch then quit the launcher;
  5. copy the STO folders you saved into the newly installed ..\Live\ directory; and finally
  6. run the game again and log in; this time it should go straight into the game.
Hope it helps.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 6
05-16-2012, 03:14 PM
I don't understand how we could all have the same file go corrupt at the same time. I can't go in and start manually mucking around with files that aren't even downloaded from cryptic!!

I want cryptic to address this issue. They changed something that is causing people to be unable to play their game. They need to either:

1. Change it back

or

2. Provide a fix.

I am *not* downloading the entire thing all over again.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 7
05-18-2012, 07:41 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by TophX
Oh, I forgot to mention... there's another solution (which is often the go-to solution back in Champions Online):
  • someone who has a working/updated "StarTrekOnline.exe" launcher post it online (free sites like RapidShare, etc) for the rest of us to download.
Do you have a link to the page with the other launcher. I have not been able to log into the game for 3 days now.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 9
05-18-2012, 11:04 AM
Thanks you're a pal
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 10
05-18-2012, 03:10 PM
its for anther game not star trek
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:38 AM.