Lt. Commander
# 1 Beam Arrays
05-19-2012, 05:30 PM
Hi,

I was wondering how come the anti proton beams stf version XI has a high damage output and dps compared to other beam arrays? I thought all beam arrays have the same dpv and dps. Normally I use mark 12s phaser beams and i noticed when i switched to may anti protons mark XI has higher dpv and dps? Could someone confirm this please and also tell me which single beam array not dual has the highest dps?
Lt. Commander
# 2
05-19-2012, 05:49 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by RAJ_2011
Hi,

I was wondering how come the anti proton beams stf version XI has a high damage output and dps compared to other beam arrays? I thought all beam arrays have the same dpv and dps. Normally I use mark 12s phaser beams and i noticed when i switched to may anti protons mark XI has higher dpv and dps? Could someone confirm this please and also tell me which single beam array not dual has the highest dps?
Well, I'm not an expert on the game, but I have looked at various beam arrays as well. The thing to keep in mind is that different damage types have different effects. Some have straight damage while others have additional damage procs or critical hit mods. The damage stats may be different in order to equilize the total damage output of similar beam arrays that work differently, splitting the total DPS between straight up damage and the secondary effect damage (if any). In addition, the enemies you fight may take damage differently as they might have their own resistances against certain damage types, but not others.

I'll let others who have more experience chime in, but my own reading of beam arrays is that they all do about the same -total- damage, even though they might do that damage in different ways / portions.
Lt. Commander
# 3
05-19-2012, 05:57 PM
post a screenshot so we can see
Lt. Commander
# 4
05-19-2012, 07:13 PM