Lieutenant
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 58
# 1 Bridge Officer Dictation
06-26-2012, 11:57 AM
why am i being dictated to about my bridge officers if i go to the upgrade box up click stations it says bridge stations then tells me i can have a tactical lieutennant can only use 2 space powers, tactical ensign can only use 1 space power, engineering commander can use all his space powers, engineering Lt. commander 3 space powers & science lieutennant can only use 2 space power. i cant change it or choose which powers they use its annoying coz i dont want my bridge crew set up like that and whats the point of training em up to commander because they only count as commander on ground missions not space unless their an engineer.
Career Officer
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 1,228
# 2
06-26-2012, 12:30 PM
If you don't like this, you need to switch to the Klingon side and fly Birds of Prey.
__________________________________
STO Forum member since before February 2010.
STO Academy's excellent skill planner here: Link
I actually avoid success entirely. It doesn't get me what I want, and the consequences for failure are slim. -- markhawman
Lieutenant
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 58
# 3
06-26-2012, 12:38 PM
na i'd rather control my own star fleet bridge officers thanks. Can someone tell me why ive got no control over my own bridge officers stations and what space skills they can use?
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 180
# 4
06-26-2012, 12:41 PM
It's how the ships are balanced.

If that sentence doesn't convey what's going on, I am not sure what to type to better explain.
_______
equal parts cynical and helpful
Lieutenant
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 58
# 5
06-26-2012, 12:55 PM
so my first officer is only classed as leuitennant when she on board my ship just to balance the ship yep that makes loads of sense i thought vice admirals would have a little more say in what goes on on their ship. If u get a gold account can you have more say or is it tuff luck. There 4 commanders on the enterprise-e

Last edited by ajay80; 06-26-2012 at 01:22 PM.
Lieutenant
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 60
# 6
06-26-2012, 06:30 PM
Your First officer is commander, just the station he is using doesn't have the memory space (:biggrin for high tier abilities.

Something like:
You can be good in programming 3D-graphics, but it doesn't help you on a Commodore 1280


"What are his rights in this century? Will there be a trial or shall I execute him?" - Worf

Last edited by attizz; 06-26-2012 at 06:33 PM.
Career Officer
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 1,247
# 7
06-26-2012, 06:54 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by ajay80 View Post
...i cant change it or choose which powers they use....
You can choose which powers you bridge officers have (and train them for different ones if you like).
Lieutenant
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 58
# 8
06-27-2012, 09:53 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by johnny111971 View Post
You can choose which powers you bridge officers have (and train them for different ones if you like).
what about the fact ive already trained her in 4 space skills and she can only use 2 of the skills out of the four but i dont get a choice which and ive just checked every ship at vice admiral none of the cruiser ships can have a tatical officer past lieutenant commander even the tactical odyssey you can't and thats a tactical ship. the science odyssey highest ranking space duty officer is an engineer?
Commander
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 399
# 9
06-27-2012, 10:07 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by synkr0nized View Post
It's how the ships are balanced.
I just recite him ...

It's how the game works. It's not to annoy people, it's not RP-compatible. It's just there to make shipchoice a choice to care about.
Career Officer
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 1,856
# 10
06-27-2012, 12:19 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by ajay80 View Post
what about the fact ive already trained her in 4 space skills and she can only use 2 of the skills out of the four but i dont get a choice which and ive just checked every ship at vice admiral none of the cruiser ships can have a tatical officer past lieutenant commander even the tactical odyssey you can't and thats a tactical ship. the science odyssey highest ranking space duty officer is an engineer?
You really don't understand how it works.

First we have the bridge officers.
Every BOff has access to one Ensign rank ability, one Lt rank ability, one Lt Comm rank ability, and one Comm rank ability.
Every ability is a different rank. Attack Pattern Omega 3 is a Comm ability. It will only be available in the Comm ability slot, not in an Ensign ability slot.
This system is clearly designed so that we have meaningful decisions and trade offs. Any one Tactical BOff can only have either Attack Pattern Omega 3 or Cannon Rapid Fire 3, not both - because both are Comm rank abilities.

Then we have the ships.
Every ship has a certain number of stations of a certain rank and career. This is clearly designed to match the BOff restrictions. We can't have one Tactical BOff with Attack Pattern Omega 3 and another Tactical BOff with Cannon Rapid Fire 3 on the same ship. There aren't any ships with two Commander rank stations.

Escorts are Tactical vessels. The Tier 5 escorts all have Commander rank Tactical stations.
Cruisers are Engineering vessels. The Tier 5 cruisers all have Commander rank Engineering stations.
Science Ships are Science vessels. The Tier 5 science ships all have Commander rank Science stations.
The number and composition of the stations differ by ship (again to have variety and offer choices) but the highest ranked station on an Escort is always Tactical, the highest ranked station on a Cruiser is always Engineering, and the highest ranked station on a Science Ship is always Science.

The point is to offer meaningful choices, in which BOffs we choose, what abilities we give them, which ship class we choose, and which stations to assign which BOffs.
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:14 AM.